Totally agree but you try to marry a girl and tell her to live in a rented 3-room flat...Originally posted by LazerLordz:Don't be caught in the trap of a loan for a HDB if you can.Renting it will free up your CPF for future retirement use.
and please do not try to live beyond your means.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Totally agree but you try to marry a girl and tell her to live in a rented 3-room flat...![]()
Originally posted by king108:Maybe that's why all these Singaporean men go to Vietnam for brides. We all have it good in Singapore for too long already. If you have been brought up in a 5-room flat, you will not accept less. You will find out when you are about to marry..
[b]![]()
I will ask marry me or marry the flat.
Please lar....it depends a lot whether the girl really love you or not only...Do you want a woman telling you to loan $500000 buy a exec, and found yourself work like cow to pay for the loan...(that only mean she cannot use)
By then, you don't know how to love leh....![]()
I am not sure how confidence when you mentioned "you will not accept less"Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Maybe that's why all these Singaporean men go to Vietnam for brides. We all have it good in Singapore for too long already. If you have been brought up in a 5-room flat, you will not accept less. You will find out when you are about to marry..
"Love is a western fantasy..." LKY
i believe all the HDB flats, whether in opposition or PAP wards, have depreciated in value since mid 1990's.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:It is still a political issue cos' it does work...Your property is your most valuable asset and money always counts in Singapore. Would anyone wish to buy a resale flat from from Potong Pasir unless the selling price is way below the market value? Without upgrading, your investment will only depreciate in value..
Whoever said I must rent a 3-room flat?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Maybe that's why all these Singaporean men go to Vietnam for brides. We all have it good in Singapore for too long already. If you have been brought up in a 5-room flat, you will not accept less. You will find out when you are about to marry..
"Love is a western fantasy..." LKY
i believe it is quite difficult to expect a comfortable retirement by downsizing nowadays. Some people even suffer losses when they downsize! It depends on when they buy their flats.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:You are probably too young to understand the concerns of your parents...most Singaporeans have little or no savings apart from their HDB flats. Their only hope of a comfortable retirement is to downsize and live off the profits from selling their flats. If the value of their flats drop, relative to those in PAP-controlled wards, how are they going to retire?
when the rent culture sets in this shouldn't be a problem. and don't be too sure that day wouldn't come.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Totally agree but you try to marry a girl and tell her to live in a rented 3-room flat...![]()
It depend if the couple planned to stay in Spore for the rest of their live, if the couple planned to migrate to other countries, is it neceesary to bother to buy the flat in the first place.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Totally agree but you try to marry a girl and tell her to live in a rented 3-room flat...![]()
Precisely. The loan limits your global mobility.Originally posted by will4:It depend if the couple planned to stay in Spore for the rest of their live, if the couple planned to migrate to other countries, is it neceesary to bother to buy the flat in the first place.
Imagine one day the couple bought the flat n they decided to migrate, what happned to the loan? Still need to clear.
I happned to meet a taxi driver n he mentioned one of his brothers decided to get a condominium, one of the C upon the advice of his wife.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Precisely. The loan limits your global mobility.
Originally posted by pearlie27:when the rent culture sets in this shouldn't be a problem. and don't be too sure that day wouldn't come.
Originally posted by will4:It depend if the couple planned to stay in Spore for the rest of their live, if the couple planned to migrate to other countries, is it neceesary to bother to buy the flat in the first place.
Imagine one day the couple bought the flat n they decided to migrate, what happned to the loan? Still need to clear.
"Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong has expressed concern that Hougang and Potong Pasir residents will lose out on upgrading if they do not vote for the People's Action Party....."Originally posted by LinYu:Can someone tell me what the fu*k is he trying to say? Has the man gone senile?
Originally posted by mancha:"Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong has expressed concern that Hougang and Potong Pasir residents will lose out on upgrading if they do not vote for the People's Action Party....."
This will make the residents of the two contituencies swallow hard. (gulp!)
It will instill fear in them.
For many Singaporeans that is not an option...you would leave your aging parents behind???Originally posted by will4:It depend if the couple planned to stay in Spore for the rest of their live, if the couple planned to migrate to other countries, is it neceesary to bother to buy the flat in the first place.
The ancient chinese name for singapore is "shi le po" = "rock happy hill".Friend, the 'le' here is not the Chinese word for 'happy' la
Forty Years of modern history, PLUS 150 years since the founding of Singapore - it seems we are back to the days when Stamford Raffles created Singapore from the swamp land - (although the Ruling Political Party claim this as their achievement).Originally posted by BillyBong:Let's face it. For the S$ value of the cheapest 4 room HDB flat, we could buy a landed property in Australia or NZ (also touted as 1st world country) and still have enough to spare for a vehicle.
If people think that the cost of living is simply too high and wish to emigrate, good for them. Ultimately, SG started off as a immigrant island. At the rate our locals want out, the only way to fill the void is to bring in foreigners, skilled and unskilled.
In the end, our demographics may read something like this:
Singaporeans - 20%
Malaysians - 20%
Chinese Nationals - 30%
Indian Nationals - 20%
Expats / other ethnic races - 10%
And that's optimistic too...
i can't remember whether it was the last or the last, last election. there was a PAP team that won a GRC after a tough fight and whilst delivering its victory speech on stage was booed by opposition supporters. to silence the crowd, one indian MP came up and asked the audience 'Are we not Singaporeans'?Originally posted by gill_hfc:there are many grounds to sue the government over Potong Pasir and Hougang. First of all PP and Hougang are not independent states or another world altogether. These are suburbs right here in singapore. Its residents are entitled to all the rights and benefits enshrined in the contituition and laws of singapore just like any other singaporean. For the government to deny their estates upgrades clearly goes against the constituition. Just because the MP is an opposition member does not mean they are not entitled to the benefits of being a singapore citizen. residents of PP and hougang pay taxes to the same government at the end of the day. where does it state in the constituition that it is illegal to have an opposition member as an MP?
i'm no lawyer but if there is a collective lawsuit by the residents of PP and Hougang in the high court, i am confident the residents would win against the government. if the case is thrown out take it to the international court of justice. It will make the government sit up and listen!![]()