Originally posted by googoomuck:Not concerned with the economy and business issues.. Just very angry at why the Singapore coffers belonging to fellow singaporeans are being denied just becos they voted the opposition.
I think besides being paid the highest wages, Singapore is also the only country with 3 prime ministers in the garment, Harry Lee and Son and The Holy Goh.
When the Holy GOH was PM, he shut the gate to many students who wanted to study medicine. Degrees from some overseas medical schools were not recognised. Now The flood gate is opened wide to let doctors with overseas qualifications to come work in Singapore.
NOL once hired a Dane to help turn the company profitable. The Dane brought his friends to take the high posts. The local staff joked that NOL means No Orientals Left. Holy Goh then said that if he did not allow foreign talents in, NOL would mean No One Left.
After a few years, the Dane's contract was terminated early because he could not make NOL profitable. He left with some $4m in severence pay.
The ruling party can find candidates who can talk the talk. Can they walk the walk?
Dear voters, pls vote wisely in the coming GE.[b][/b]
We should all write in to HDB to question their upgrading policy.Originally posted by LazerLordz:HDB as a corporation should have the last say in any upgrading plans.Not the ruling party.
national programmes must not be tainted with party politics.
This abuse is only possible when the POWER OF ONE dominate all spheres of powers - that were supposed to be separated into the Executive, Legislature and the Judiciary.Originally posted by BillyBong:Singaporeans should learn to read behind the lines and see through the puff of smoke created.
Unfair to discredit Chiam's good work
March 28, 2006
The Straits Times
I READ the article, 'The gathering storm' (ST, March 25), with interest.
Besides the challenge from Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong who is 'storming into Potong Pasir and Hougang to win them back for the People's Action Party', opposition MPs probably face another obstacle: dismissive press reports.
Even though the article tried to highlight some of the good that Mr Chiam See Tong has done for Potong Pasir, it did more to cast a disparaging shade on the work done by him.
For example, because of its tranquillity and rustic charm, Potong Pasir was referred to as a 'dead town' that even the dead forsake, after they were 'exhumed from their century-old home'. For all that Mr Chiam has done in the past 22 years, Potong Pasir was described as a 'laid back' ward and the writer found it 'logic-defying' that the residents refused to be enticed by the PAP carrots.
Despite 97 per cent of the residents polled expressing that they were 'happy living in the ward', the writer expressed his reservations and summed up the work done in Potong Pasir as stop-gap measures: 'life in Potong Pasir during non-election season is hardly the stuff of fireworks'.
The use of rhetoric was most sarcastic: 'Sports facilities? Not even a park to jog in, unless you count Bidadari Cemetery's pavements' as fitting.
The fate of Potong Pasir was then decisively sealed: 'Mr Chiam is so old' and 'Toa Payoh Lorong 8 looks the worse for wear and suffers the curse of being compared' to a newer-looking ward across the road. And there is also the younger MP of the ruling party who is wielding the 'PAP's lightning bolt' and the keys to unlock funds to deliver upgrading.
I am not sure why most of the upgrading works in the 'PAP-held Lorong 6' were completed recently or what impact an article like this, with its uncanny timeliness and telling diction, has on the election outcome, but I think it is rather unfair, and even misleading, to dismiss Mr Chiam's hard labour in his ward.
I would like to point out the following with regard to the article:
Bus service No. 142 is not the sole service in the ward; others include service nos. 8, 13, 26, 31 and 151.
The Lorong 8 market was upgraded within the last five to six years and the playgrounds had also been upgraded.
No parks, but sporting facilities such as basketball courts had been constructed.
Residents can give feedback and suggestions for improvements to their MP via an online channel named 'Your Voice' in the Potong Pasir Town Council website, besides the Meet-the-People sessions.
Community events, including festive celebrations, have been organised, albeit without the sea life-unfriendly $1 shark's-fin soup.
Some towns, especially those in the western parts of Singapore, look equally, if not more, 'sleepy'. On the other hand, Potong Pasir contains an old-world charm, away from the maddening crowds.
In Melbourne, my friends and I sometimes travelled two hours to get to malls and cinemas from the suburbs. The 'plight' of Potong Pasir residents is nowhere compared to this.
In conclusion, one should note the absence of a level playing field for Mr Chiam as the Ministry of National Development channels Community Improvement Projects Committee funds for town improvements only to grassroots advisers who are all PAP leaders. Opposition MPs also do not have access to the community development council funds for community assistance.
I think it is ironic that the Potong Pasir residents pay taxes but are excluded from the good these funds bring. Supporting an opposition MP is no excuse for this.
The revolver might be old but the shots can still hit the right spots. Perhaps Potong Pasir residents should stick to their guns.
Lena Soh Kwee Kim (Ms)
Asia1.com
One thing cropped up, why are opposition wards denied access to national development funds even though they won their elections fair and square?
Isn't that a crooked scheme bent on funnelling more financial power to losing candidates of the the lightning party? How is that considered legitimate?
This should be brought up in parliament if it has not been raised already.
Can any one Opposition challenge the POWER OF ONE from WITHIN THE SYSTEM ?The attitude of Singapore's rulers to the election and political process is perhaps best summed up by Lee Kuan Yew himself who stated:"If I were in authority in Singapore indefinitely without having to ask those who are governed whether they like what is being done,
then I have not the slightest doubt that I could govern much more effectively in their own interests."
I support this proposal - Hougang and Potong Pasir residents be exempted from paying income tax and GST.Originally posted by spencer99:HG and PP residents should be exempted from income tax and GST.
Well, what ever said, I really believe in the party. Because they are always full of action. No I'm not refering to legal action. Like the members, I believe that they will win, even if:... and they earn peanut only...
1) Electoral Boundries were drawn according to estates areas and Bradell did not belong to Marine Parade or Tanjong Pagar to Pulau Ubin GRC
2) There are no GRC with 4 to 6 members to ensure minority representation
3) All were single wards, (with only chinese candidates like it was before GRC)
4) Candidates deposit was only $5,000 (thousands will stand for elections)
5) Election campaigning was not used for defamation suits (clear you speech with the police, like Speakers Corner)
6) No upgrading (why pay more SC)
7) No cash bonus ( anyway most donate the proceeds to NKF)
Take all this away and they will still still be in power and will make a clean sweep. They have the best candidates, they have honest people, they work tirelessly for the good of the family...no make that country and people , they make great sacrifices by giving up million dollar jobs to serve us. I am convinced, am willing to put money where my mouth is............if only they would too and prove that they do not need all the measures said above..and still can win..
I believe........I can fly.....I believe.....go pappy pappy go
You must be delirious to think the Ruling Party will make a clean sweep should SMCs be re-introduced in place of GRCs. 1991 showed why the Ruling party fears having SMCs since it encourages everyone from unknown candidates of opposition parties to independents to stand for elections. That was the reason why SDP could wrest 4 seats out of nothing. The residents were simply fed up of INACTION by the ruling party and with SMCs came more election opportunities.Originally posted by Lessformore:Well, what ever said, I really believe in the party. Because they are always full of action. No I'm not refering to legal action. Like the members, I believe that they will win, even if:
1) Electoral Boundries were drawn according to estates areas and Bradell did not belong to Marine Parade or Tanjong Pagar to Pulau Ubin GRC
2) There are no GRC with 4 to 6 members to ensure minority representation
3) All were single wards, (with only chinese candidates like it was before GRC)
4) Candidates deposit was only $5,000 (thousands will stand for elections)
5) Election campaigning was not used for defamation suits (clear you speech with the police, like Speakers Corner)
6) No upgrading (why pay more SC)
7) No cash bonus ( anyway most donate the proceeds to NKF)
Take all this away and they will still still be in power and will make a clean sweep. They have the best candidates, they have honest people, they work tirelessly for the good of the family...no make that country and people , they make great sacrifices by giving up million dollar jobs to serve us. I am convinced, am willing to put money where my mouth is............if only they would too and prove that they do not need all the measures said above..and still can win..
I believe........I can fly.....I believe.....go pappy pappy go
Yes.Originally posted by LinYu:Even the gahmen knows that they need oppositions to be democratic, so what do that do? Introduce "new opposition canididates within the PAP" where the new blood will have the GUTS(if they really have one) to speak up against them if they cannot agree to the policies. What a joke. we are borned yesterday?![]()
so bo pian la.Originally posted by charlize:Yes.
They think you and the rest of Singaporeans were born yesterday.
So how?
Originally posted by Anti-RuleSS:Too bad singaporeans does not dare to fight for what they want else life won't be that easy for our goverment.
Originally posted by king108:Har? it is terrible that a resident actually have to dig out money from his own pocket to pay for lift upgrading? This should be the job of our goverment isn't it? I believe that person live in hougang, potong pasir or a condominium?
[b]Can anyone experienced upgrading provide advise?
Upgrading is free or payable by the residents? I just read an small column from the chinese newspaper, one of the resident is using his progressive package to pay for the lift upgrading?
Confuse, confuse![]()
I think Bureaucracy is too strong to ever stop.Originally posted by charlize:Wah die lah.
Next time opposition become the next government, all the stat boards all stop working.
Originally posted by charlize:Wah die lah.
Next time opposition become the next government, all the stat boards all stop working.
No, I actually wanted to know whether we needed to pay or no?Originally posted by Anti-RuleSS:Har? it is terrible that a resident actually have to dig out money from his own pocket to pay for lift upgrading? This should be the job of our goverment isn't it? I believe that person live in hougang, potong pasir or a condominium?