You got that right; all puppets.Originally posted by miongisback:Will ministers listen to feedbacks?
Yes and No.
Yes, only if the old Emperor says so - otherwise
NO is always the way they treat most if not all feedbacks.
Above observation are based on personal experiences and people I know.
They don't have to in the first place. When they make a certain policy they have already considered the "opposite' viewpoint already. They know what you will be unhappy about.Originally posted by KittynMeow:Basically no. A fren of mine turned up for one of those dialogue sessions at the CC and questioned the govt rep (can't remember who) about bus fare hikes one year. When the govt rep tried to give the PR reply, my fren asked point blank: "Have you ever taken a bus? Do your wife and children take buses everyday?" The rep was stunned into silence for a moment before spinning a yarn that did not answer the question. In the end, the fares were still hiked and my fren was never welcomed at another dialogue session again.
And if they do listen to feedback, there won't have been a need for those nice white elephants along the road center median outside Buangkok station. I thought those were really creative and nice actually...
The peoples who is in the grass roots and RC's are all the joints of the spider web, feeding information's back to the other joints and leading all the way to the center where the spider is.Originally posted by KittynMeow:Basically no. A fren of mine turned up for one of those dialogue sessions at the CC and questioned the govt rep (can't remember who) about bus fare hikes one year. When the govt rep tried to give the PR reply, my fren asked point blank: "Have you ever taken a bus? Do your wife and children take buses everyday?" The rep was stunned into silence for a moment before spinning a yarn that did not answer the question. In the end, the fares were still hiked and my fren was never welcomed at another dialogue session again.
And if they do listen to feedback, there won't have been a need for those nice white elephants along the road center median outside Buangkok station. I thought those were really creative and nice actually...
Originally posted by ObviousMan:Are there subsidies which is subsequently taken back from the RESALE PRICE when the flat is sold - (with interest payable?) ?
No leh, we must listen to our ministers lah, becoz we are not as smart as them mah.
HDB got discount or subsidy?
Got difference or not?
Don't ask me, i also don't know leh.
Minister sure know one mah, that's why can become minister!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Secondly, 1st-timer citizen households will continue to enjoy generous housing subsidies. Singaporeans may not appreciate how much they enjoy in housing subsidies, which are in various forms. Let me elaborate. Those who purchase a resale flat can obtain a CPF housing grant of $30,000/$40,000. Those who buy a new flat will enjoy an even higher subsidy. As announced by PM in the Budget Statement, we will also provide an additional CPF housing grant of between $5,000 and $20,000 to 1st-timer households earning below $3,000 per month. These are explicit and substantial subsidies. They can amount to $60,000, which is as high as 40% of the price of a 3R flat in a non-mature estate. In addition to the upfront subsidy, 1st-timer households also enjoy an additional subsidy by way of the HDB concessionary loan which they can apply for to finance their flat purchase. For a $100,000 30-year loan, a 1% interest subsidy would mean a subsidy of more than $10,000."
---- Mini Star Horse Treasure Mountain
From the ST Dec 20, 2005:It is very obvious that NKF has taken a leaf out of the Ruling Political Party methods - in non-transparent, clever juggling of numbers to ascertain costs so as to justify the atrocious prices charged to the Public.
NKF said it saved patients more than $3.5 million by offering them lower drug prices and subsidies. This was not true. It made close to $1 million each year, in 2003 and 2004, in gross profit from the sale of such drugs.
The gross profit margin worked out to almost 40 per cent each year. And that was because NKF did not pass on the rebates it got on its bulk purchase of medicine.
For example, it said one drug cost $25. It gave patients a $13 discount and charged them $12. But NKF paid only $8.20 for the drug. It pocketed a 46 per cent profit.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From the ST 21 Dec 2005:
Instead, Mr Subramaniam, the accountant, said the way the NKF treated the definition of subsidy and the way KPMG did were from"different perspectives".
The NKF defined subsidy as the difference between the amount a patient would pay for treatement and drugs elsewhere in Singapore and the amount they paid the NKF. "In my understanding of NKF's view, subsidy must be tested against the market rate and not the net amount incurred."
From the ST Aug 6, 2004:In a country that is dominated by the POWER OF ONE, we would expect that trends will be set by the POWER OF ONE.
HDB pricing keeps new flats affordable to most Singaporeans
I REFER to the letters, 'What goes into pricing of HDB flats' (ST, July 23) by Mr Hiong Kum Meng and 'Subsidy should be based on flat's building cost' (ST, July 27) by Mr Mohamed Rafiq Hamjah.
Mr Hiong concluded that the increase in HDB resale prices has outstripped wage growth, based on a comparison of changes in the Resale Price Index with changes in average nominal wages between 1993 and 2003.
We would like to explain that resale flats are transacted in the open market on a willing buyer-willing seller basis. The prices are not set by HDB. Prices can fluctuate, depending on factors such as the economic outlook, employment situation and sentiments in the property market.
What is important is that HDB prices its new flats so that the majority of Singaporeans can afford one. From 1993 to 2003, the prices of new four-room flats increased by 2.6 per cent per annum, below the annual increase of 5.3 per cent in average wages cited by Mr Hiong. New-flat prices did not rise as steeply as resale-flat prices, because HDB prices new flats below their equivalent market price, that is, at a subsidy.
Mr Mohamed asked why HDB's subsidy for new flats is related to the market price and not the building cost of a flat. Today, first-time HDB flat buyers can buy either resale or new flats. Those who opt to buy resale flats from the open market can take up a housing grant of $30,000 or $40,000, which allows them to enjoy a discount off the market price of the flat.
Those who opt to buy new flats from HDB also enjoy a discount off the equivalent market price of the flat.
The difference between what the buyer pays HDB for his flat and what it is actually worth in the market is a direct and real subsidy provided by HDB to the buyer.
Like the housing grant for resale flats, the provision of such a market-related subsidy in the case of new flats has enabled HDB to keep its flats affordable for the majority of Singaporeans.
DESMOND WONG
Deputy Director (Marketing & Planning)
for Director (Estate Administration & Property)
Housing & Development Board
Originally posted by ObviousMan:
Did anyone read about that new opposition candidate Edmund Ng's comments on last friday's papers?Originally posted by ceciltan:Actually, we only need one person the govt to know EQ and the rest of the pack will follow. So what if the new Candidate know EQ, i dun think they will dare to voice it out for fear of the WHIPS as mentioned previously.
in this case they are not listening, but merely hearingOriginally posted by ShutterBug:Listen? Who says they don't listen?? Of course they will listen!
They always listen!
Just LISTEN only mah!!!
Only listen - nothing else.
If you really want to hear PAP followers speak against their party bad policy, bad tactic and bad image.Originally posted by KittynMeow:Did anyone read about that new opposition candidate Edmund Ng's comments on last friday's papers?
"'When I was with the Young PAP in Jalan Besar, every time I expressed an alternative view to government policies, I was told to shut up or tone down. There was fear from within. In the end, I decided to join the opposition."
- quoted from ST.
So much for anyone with EQ as soon as thney join the party / govt.
Ther're just there to ANNOUNCE and make known to residents/singaporeans that this particular decision will be made....Just like Assembly Day during your primary school/secondary school...Originally posted by KittynMeow:Basically no. A fren of mine turned up for one of those dialogue sessions at the CC and questioned the govt rep (can't remember who) about bus fare hikes one year. When the govt rep tried to give the PR reply, my fren asked point blank: "Have you ever taken a bus? Do your wife and children take buses everyday?" The rep was stunned into silence for a moment before spinning a yarn that did not answer the question. In the end, the fares were still hiked and my fren was never welcomed at another dialogue session again.
Obviousman,Originally posted by ObviousMan:Actually, the one who should be answering this question is RorbertTeh.
Go over to the Feedback Unit Website forum and see his postings.
http://app.feedback.gov.sg/asp/index.asp