My AS1 is also a first generation PR from Malaysia. He converted to his citizenship already.Originally posted by hisoka:
he chose to do it? oh well it takes all kind i guess. though if i were him if i were willing to spend that time, might as well sign on for like 3 years.......
He pitiful as the superior liked to mock him for speaking US accented English.Originally posted by qpicanto:Local guys pitiful indeed.
I see you're getting agitated. You can call me anything you like, I can understand why. The truth hurts sometimes.Originally posted by sgdiehard:If you read my postings earlier you would know where I came from. there is nothing to be ashamed of. I did not forsake my country of birth, I made my choice, just like those local born singaporean who chose to migrate to better places DURING PEACE TIME.
Me milking the system? the system certainly does not include nuts like you, have you started paying income tax???
Its all a matter of mindset. to me anything new is something to learn. In the army I've been to many parts of singapore I would never have gone to, same in Thailand and Taiwan where we went for traning and exercises. If you ask me what is the use, I will say nothing, and I won't go back there, but I have seen something new, different. As an officer, every recce trip is a sightseeing.Originally posted by hisoka:hmm i thought policy was 1st generation no need to get conscripted one.
not sure about the others, but i am against my doing it cos its a waste of time. didn't learn anything, nothing interesting and not in a useful role. therefore a waste of time.
would have prefered to carry on and be working now instead. + of course the financial loss.
2nd gen. PR get enlisted without automatic citizenship but also no reservist, no annual IPPT/RT, no open- mob, no implied threat of charges/imprisonment/fine for non-compliance etc Look like it is a good bargain.Originally posted by will4:He pitiful as the superior liked to mock him for speaking US accented English.
He only finished BMT n posted to our unit n shortly AWOL to US for good.
Another one never AWOL but kena screamed at everyday by the same superior.
He cannot tahan n had to see the psychiatarist.
indeed a matter of mindset. but also a matter of what position you were in. you got to do stuff and its useful stuff too. mine?/ stuck in singapore the whole time and being a clerk at the base. no chance to lead pple management or leadership skills. no chance to go for r&r overseas and also no chance to explore singapore terrain....Originally posted by sgdiehard:Its all a matter of mindset. to me anything new is something to learn. In the army I've been to many parts of singapore I would never have gone to, same in Thailand and Taiwan where we went for traning and exercises. If you ask me what is the use, I will say nothing, and I won't go back there, but I have seen something new, different. As an officer, every recce trip is a sightseeing.
Leading a section, a platoon or simply a group of people to do something together, is the same as leading a team or a department in a company. Its people management, just that the motivation is different, the authorities you have are different, and the tasks are different. These are just two examples, there are many more.
Why rush? we are still young. Unless we need to come out and work to support our younger bros and sis, why can't we learn from the angmoh, backpack and travel to India or africa or Thailand with shoestring budget? Take life one step at a time, learn to appreciate the beauty of the little flower by the side of the road, feel the breeze of the open air, your life journey will be very interesting. If you are only interested in the results, then your life will be just many different stops, the rest of the time you are on the road. I also can't understand why people are complaining that singapore is boring.
Have a good day. cheers.
You are indeed a pathetic old man, at your age you shouldn't have to fight with FT anymore.Originally posted by casefan:I have been paying income taxes even before your father met your mother wherever thay may be. I believe I am old enough to be your father. A quitter like you came here to milk the system, so who is the nut? You of course. Did you build this nation? You came because it's better here than where you came from..... so are you not a quitter and a turncoat (as well as a nut)? It is clear that you came because you want to milk the system. Can you give me a good reason for coming here other than that?
what's wrong with migrating for better money and a better life? At least I appreciate it, do you? Do you appreciate what the country is providing for you??Originally posted by casefan:You finally admitted you came here for the "peanuts". Finally showed your true colour. Shameless I should say.
hoho, teach me english then, tell me what I need to learn? at least show me you have something you think you can be proud of.Originally posted by casefan:You finally admitted you came here for the "peanuts". Finally showed your true colour. You "din quit on anything" because there was nothing there? By the way, your command of the English Language is atrocious. Shameless I should say again.
can't disagree with you on that. I do know of many people chobo in the army. Its up to us to make the best of the circumstance until we have a better choice.Originally posted by hisoka:indeed a matter of mindset. but also a matter of what position you were in. you got to do stuff and its useful stuff too. mine?/ stuck in singapore the whole time and being a clerk at the base. no chance to lead pple management or leadership skills. no chance to go for r&r overseas and also no chance to explore singapore terrain....
one would like to be financially independent to be less of a burden to one's parent earlier. travelling around might be a good idea. but then, thats just one way of life nothing wrong with wanting to rush into work either
I kena offered citizenship but never took up. I also got called up for IPPT, RTOriginally posted by qpicanto:2nd gen. PR get enlisted without automatic citizenship but also no reservist, no annual IPPT/RT, no open- mob, no implied threat of charges/imprisonment/fine for non-compliance etc Look like it is a good bargain.
I must have misunderstood when u said 'no reservist to go'.Originally posted by will4:I also a second generation PR from Indonesia. I served my full time NS already.
No reservist to go. I have met local guys so pitiful AWOL to US cause of one
superior aiming at him.
In the USA, their law says you cannot run for President if you are not born there.Originally posted by vince69:Personally feel that all singapore citizens, be it locally born or naturalised, should be treated equally without prejudice.![]()
err... we are talking about Singapore here, right?Originally posted by qpicanto:In the USA, their law says you cannot run for President if you are not born there.
The offer of condition to get Spore citizenship is never got charges until the person enter DB.Originally posted by qpicanto:I must have misunderstood when u said 'no reservist to go'.
Anyway, was the offer of citizenship conditional?
Spore still don't entertertain dual citizenship like the West, might restrict your global employability somehow. May be that is one of the many consideration?
Prejudice exists everywhere. Govts have to tackle the backlash on immigrants' policy everywhere. It takes time for people to shift from their comfort zone and accept ,cannot rush one.Originally posted by vince69:err... we are talking about Singapore here, right?if we are talking about Singapore, why b
other about US law? must we follow them?
On matter such as FT, if an FT can contribute to the nation's economy, it should not matter whether he planned to stay here permanently.Originally posted by casefan:You must be living in a nutshell. Time for you to look beyond the confines of the shell you're in.
I see. That means got NS confirmed PR, no NS still got work permit. Citizenship up to u.Originally posted by will4:The offer of condition to get Spore citizenship is never got charges until the person enter DB.
Work permit or employment pass depend on the person's qualification.Originally posted by qpicanto:I see. That means got NS confirmed PR, no NS still got work permit. Citizenship up to u.
Depend how u define localOriginally posted by will4:Work permit or employment pass depend on the person's qualification.
U local?
If you had chose PR, I though its quite "permanent" in a sense at least in S'pore context. Ultimately you got to settle down somewhere, be it S'pore, Sydney, Vancouver, Shanghai, New York or Bangkok . You can't be running around forever.Originally posted by will4:On matter such as FT, if an FT can contribute to the nation's economy, it should not matter whether he planned to stay here permanently.