What a load of bull!Originally posted by LazerLordz:that's the biggest problem. Citizens should have the power to request for information to make an informed choice rather than have to get elected. This culture has to change, politics for the elite is not politics for the people.
If we had a FOIA legislation that empowers any ordinary citizen with legal assistance to issue a binding request for records and any information not covered under the OSA or ISA, many problems like lack of transparency would have been solved.
Hi BillyBong, refresh me on what important points and arguments that CSJ has brought up? Sensational and "how I wish those were true" points are hardly things a responsible political party leader clamour to spout, in domestic or international arena. I half suspect CSJ say all these things to make himself famous and shown as a defender of free speech and freedom.Originally posted by BillyBong:We should not whitewash freedom of speech simply because of the extreme manner in which Chee chooses to exercise it.
As many have already pointed out, Chee has indeed raised some very important points and arguments which the ruling party has chosen to sidestep.
But due to his ruined credibility, the Ruling party is able to convincingly claim that Chee is making wild and baseless accusations, thereby opening himself to a barrage of legal action.
Like so many others, you prefer to see Chee for how he expresses himself, not for the points he makes. Incidently, you have 'hit the tree, but missed the entire forest".Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Hi BillyBong, refresh me on what important points and arguments that CSJ has brought up? Sensational and "how I wish those were true" points are hardly things a responsible political party leader clamour to spout, in domestic or international arena. I half suspect CSJ say all these things to make himself famous and shown as a defender of free speech and freedom.
BillyBong, NOT EVERYONE has speculated on what you mention. I fail to see any connection. In fact, I felt the NKF issues were well handled by Health Minister. He earned my respect as a Health Minister and as a politician.Originally posted by BillyBong:Like so many others, you prefer to see Chee for how he expresses himself, not for the points he makes. Incidently, you have 'hit the tree, but missed the entire forest".
1) Everyone has speculated on the close ties and links between the manner NKF is run and how the Ruling party runs Singapore. Yet ONLY Chee brought the issue from kopitiam talk out into the open.
2) The issue of ministerial salaries has been brought up many times before, but Chee actually tried to show that while the people were taking CPF and wage cuts during the financial crisis, the minister's pay was effectively restored within a fixed time period. Were the people made aware of this fact had he not brought the issue to light?
I doubt so.
Would you like to know more? Get a copy of the New Democrat and perhaps you will witness first hand how 'dirty' politics can be. Chee is correct to say that the Police seems to take a particular interest in SDP affairs when they sell their newsletter. A uniformed officer is usually within visual distance. Deepseated insecurity perhaps? Or genuine work?
You decide. They frequent Yishun MRT often.
I wonder how Durai n his accomplices can pay for the damages?Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:BillyBong, NOT EVERYONE has speculated on what you mention. I fail to see any connection. In fact, I felt the NKF issues were well handled by Health Minister. He earned my respect as a Health Minister and as a politician.
Do you know that during the financial crisis, some wealthy individuals made more money than before the crisis? Perhaps you and I suffered a pay-cut. I know I did but not sure if you did. But does that mean we have the right to wish it upon all other people? Including Minister? I believed their pay is pegged to (using a formula that I really do not know) the pay of top few professionals. Much as I like to be one of those professionals, I am not. Thing is, they made more money, unless you say IRAS is collecting more tax from them than allowed and they coughed it up without making a fuss....
Sorry to quote and paraphrase you but "like so few of you, you failed to see Chee for who he is and what he stands for........ Darth Vader!!"
I think the moderator better lock this threat.... someone hijacked it for broadcasting DARTH VADER message.... think not allowed hor
I'm not sure whether to laugh or show genuine surprise at your shallow grasp of national issues.Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:BillyBong, NOT EVERYONE has speculated on what you mention. I fail to see any connection. In fact, I felt the NKF issues were well handled by Health Minister. He earned my respect as a Health Minister and as a politician.
Do you know that during the financial crisis, some wealthy individuals made more money than before the crisis? Perhaps you and I suffered a pay-cut. I know I did but not sure if you did. But does that mean we have the right to wish it upon all other people? Including Minister? I believed their pay is pegged to (using a formula that I really do not know) the pay of top few professionals. Much as I like to be one of those professionals, I am not. Thing is, they made more money, unless you say IRAS is collecting more tax from them than allowed and they coughed it up without making a fuss....
Sorry to quote and paraphrase you but "like so few of you, you failed to see Chee for who he is and what he stands for........ Darth Vader!!"
I think the moderator better lock this threat.... someone hijacked it for broadcasting DARTH VADER message.... think not allowed hor
Go and read up on the history of what an FOIA is, then think about the speciousness of your words.Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:What a load of bull!
Can I, as citizen, request your name, NRIC number and address to make an informed choice about the validity of what you said? Are you not hiding behind information fog?
Given what I have seen of CSJ capability to have selective reading of facts and ability to contort, conjure and what was the last thing about % over % crap accounting. I am not sure I want to even tell him where I go for kpoi.
The connection of NKF to government on the contrary is very clear. The patron has supported him all the way by dismissing Durai's $600 K salary package as peanut. The minister and regulatory authority did not seem to have taken any steps to address public concern over a number of years and have failed to regulate the way public donation was put to use : asking simple question like whether Kidney Patients were benefitting from public donation. To which extent or per dollar donation were the patients benefitting ? Were there accountability and transparency in awards of contracts to directors' connected contractors and suppliers and payments and incremets of salaries and bonuses out of public donations against the background of the government steadfastly refusing to give help to kidney patients deeming it as a risk to welfarism. So if the only way for kidney patients to survive is out of public donations, then a responsible MOH, regulatory authority and patron will have taken active and sufficient actions to address fundamental oversight in NKF admnistration.Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:BillyBong, NOT EVERYONE has speculated on what you mention. I fail to see any connection. In fact, I felt the NKF issues were well handled by Health Minister. He earned my respect as a Health Minister and as a politician.
Do you know that during the financial crisis, some wealthy individuals made more money than before the crisis? Perhaps you and I suffered a pay-cut. I know I did but not sure if you did. But does that mean we have the right to wish it upon all other people? Including Minister? I believed their pay is pegged to (using a formula that I really do not know) the pay of top few professionals. Much as I like to be one of those professionals, I am not. Thing is, they made more money, unless you say IRAS is collecting more tax from them than allowed and they coughed it up without making a fuss....I hope that Singapore ministers being paid million-dollar above-first-world standard salaries will not compare with third-world practices or conditions to give themselves any excuses for any failures in solving problems including the "20 major policy errors of the government" as posted or the NKF blunder people are now discussing as the microcosm reflecting government's own lack of accountability and transparency.
it takes ah peh to be the sensible one here.Originally posted by ahpeh:i think he shouted at goh cause goh shouted at him first?
and when he asked wheres the money,goh pointed to his pocket.
Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Which sea have the 'Blue Dolphin' been swimming in ?
BillyBong, NOT EVERYONE has speculated on what you mention. I fail to see any connection. In fact, I felt the NKF issues were well handled by Health Minister. He earned my respect as a Health Minister and as a politician.
extracted from SDP site:And you were impressed by the Minister of Health's performance in salvaging the situation for his reputation and that of his Party ?
Media Release: Ministers still have explaining to do over NKF scandal
19 Apr 06
The arrest and arraignment of Mr T T Durai and other former employees of the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) takes care of only one aspect of the NKF scandal. The other concerns the GovernmentÂ’s handling of the entire saga.
Despite alarm bells ringing over the matter the Government continued to endorse the NKF and its operations. Minister for Health Mr Khaw Boon Wan, in particular, had said that he “took [his] hat off to the NKF.”
He was supported by Mr Lim Hng Kiang, the Second Finance Minister, who assured everyone that the NKF was on “quite a sound record” and that the charity was “in full compliance of the regulations.”
These Ministerial assurances were given in response to misgivings that were raised by NKF volunteers as well as the general public. The warnings over NKFÂ’s operations were also brought up in Parliament in 2004.
What is particularly worrying about the episode is that the National Council of Social Services (NCSS) had tightened the leash on NKF and revoked its Institute of Public Character (IPC) status which the charity needed to exempt itself from paying taxes on the donations collected.
The Ministry of Health, however, reinstated the IPC status for the NKF. Why did it do this? The Minister for Health needs to give a full account to the Singaporean public why his Ministry did this.
When the details were exposed the Government claimed that it had been “misled” and that it was an “oversight” on its part. Given all the warning signals and the fact that the matter was brought to its direct attention, it is hardly credible for the Government to simply say that its actions, or non-action, was an oversight.
While no one wish bad things to befall on someone else, Ministers included - are we asking that Ministers should have a pay cut simply for the reason that Singaporeans have not got their pay restored after a hefty pay and CPF cut ?
Did you see the final sequel of the Star Wars ?
Sorry to quote and paraphrase you but "like so few of you, you failed to see Chee for who he is and what he stands for........ Darth Vader!!"![]()
How does this 'THREAD' threaten anyone's interest or anyone's safety ?
He better start finding a way... I did not donate much but he took a chunk of it that I meant it for the patients. Dumb that I am, I still think the patients are worth helping.Originally posted by will4:I wonder how Durai n his accomplices can pay for the damages?
that's because we share some passion for this thread.Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:It strikes me as odd that BillyBong, LazerLordz and Robertteh seems to post one after another....
BillyBong posted on 27 Apr 07:01pm
LazerLordz posted on 27 Apr 07:05pm
Robertteh posted on 27 Apr 07:14pm
LazerLordz posted on 28 Apr 10:19pm
Robertteh posted on 27 Apr 10:49pm
Then on 29 Apr...
Atobe posted at 11:35pm
Robertteh posted at 11:36pm with a short message.
Is there a link?
Originally posted by BillyBong:Hey, not nice to call people shallow hor.... I only attack issues, never call people stupid hor. Even the Darth Vader comment is also done in jest. NOT NICE.
I'm not sure whether to laugh or show genuine surprise at your shallow grasp of national issues.
The NKF issue has been debated many times and it gets tiresome convincing 'brainwashed' people to see the truth.
1. The NKF uses defamation suits to bully their detractors into settling out of court.
2. The board of directors and CEO pay themselves 'obscene' salaries to govern a charity origanisation.
If by now you still do not see the perceived connection, then you are really a product of the ellaborate propaganda machine that has pulled the plug to your thinking cap.
And no, just because i suffer a pay cut doesn't mean i wish it on someone else.
Far from it. (And i did get a wage component absorbed)
But i assume one resets one's pay only after the storm is weathered, or if one has helped a company recover from a financial slump.
With so many people still suffering loss in wages, how did our million-dollar ministers justify their own pay adjustments? Did they prematurely give themselves a 'pat on the back' for a [b]JOB WELL DONE ?!?!
During the recent slump of 2000-2001, i suffered a 5% pay cut, managers in my company suffered a 15% pay cut and top executives absorbed a 20% pay cut.
None of these were restored till the company recovered fully from the slump. And none were backpaid.
So considering the ministers did not manage the economy well enough to get the people OUT OF THE DOLDRUMS which is contrary to what they claim, what justification did they comfort themselves with when they TOOK THE LEAD and reset their massive salaries first?
Perhaps 'firebrand Chee', like any aggressive sales person, is pitching his product in a manner that would be seen as 'pushing sales'. But it doesn't mean his product is entirely faulty.
After all, Darth Vader was Anakin Skywalker, HERO OF THE CLONE WARS, before he became DARK LORD OF THE SITH.[/b]
In my opinion, ALL charities in Singapore should work towards some form of self funding. I have no qualms with how NKF raise funds. In this perspective, I take my hat off to the fund raising team in NKF for being able to achieve self-reliance and build up an admirable reserve. If I was an NKF patient, I would have been quite glad that if need be, there is resources to take care of me.Originally posted by robertteh:I hope that Singapore ministers being paid million-dollar above-first-world standard salaries will not compare with third-world practices or conditions to give themselves any excuses for any failures in solving problems including the "20 major policy errors of the government" as posted or the NKF blunder people are now discussing as the microcosm reflecting government's own lack of accountability and transparency.
NKF clearly reflects deep and serious underlying problems affecting the whole government machinery. It would be irresponsible and third-world standard in trying to deny the larger NKF problem affecting the whole government. This NKF on the surface might look to be its own internal problem but as explained in the foregoing, it is too deeply connected to the government by the patron's support and ministries lack of solutions to its many problems until confronted by the public outcry over the court revelation in the NKF/SPH face-off.
NKF therefore should be examined more thoroughly and the minister, previous ministers, ministerial regulatory authorities and all ministers speaking in support of NKF denials in the past and presently be brought down to size and reality from their high horse or ivory towers to look into solving real problems.