Originally posted by sbst275:
They harp the rising cost of living, we are a free market, so any attempts to control to keep cost low, ppl may start again accusing of controlling the market
we are a 'free' market? they control coffee prices don't they? they say up, means up. they control transport price isn't it? they say up, means up. they control GST isn't it? they say up, means up? where got 'free' my friend?
PAP increase the price of coffee? Coffee price increased because sugar, needed to make coffee mixture went up by 50%. Though I have no idea till now why tea prices also go up
be it sugar or coffee, price of coffee went up no doubt just a couple of months back. they can't keep coffee prices down don't 'wayang' and say opposition cannot.
Wayang... If you can see now, James Gomez dun even need to 'submit' a minority form if fielded at Aljunied. It has been stated during the boundary report of the minority canidate requirement, at least must have 1 EITHER a Malay or an Indian canidate
you see today's news, how a whole bunch of white shirts gathered together to wash one square metre of HDB void deck? this must be the mother of all wayangs. the bangrah worker spread washing powder on the floor and the white shirts flock together to wash that one square metre ... much like chicken flocking together for chicken feed ...
not fear my friend, feeling of bewilderment and ludicrity ...Originally posted by sbst275:I dun feel any fear when seeing them
Maybe cos many are NSmen
YAH! Once i out-argued myself out of a sticky situation (won't elaborate haha) with a group of 6 policemen and women. After the person who made the police report agreed to my suggestion and dropped charges, one of the sergeants grabbed my collar, pointed his finger in my face and said "nevermind, very smug right? you good. You WATCH OUT. I know your name and everything, i will make life hard for you."Originally posted by snow leopard:many years ago i was running home late at night when i was stopped by the police. i asked a simple, innocent question: "have i violated any laws?". that innocent question angered the police and five or six of them surrounded me and started interrogating me. one of them even said in typical gangster fashion "you die also you won't know what happened to you". from this statement, can i infer that the police has connections with gangsters or they themselves are gangsters, or they can manipulate the law to incriminate me in any way they deem fit, or the chief commisioner, the minister of home affairs ... are all a part of this? come on, this is becoming so childishly ridiculous ...
Originally posted by Atobe:Wah. Eh this is a very VERY GOOD arguement leh. Never thought of it in this perspective before! +1 to you bro!
What was James Gomez referring to, and what was his intention when he mentioned his now highly controversial statement - "[b]This is all wayang " ?
Was his 'WAYANG' remark referring to the entire nomination process that require all candidates to go through different and numerous administrative papers - including a form that certify James Gomez as from a minority race, as if though his name and physical appearance is not obvious at all ?
U liao liaoOriginally posted by anhydrouscoppersulphate:apparently some 82 year old senior citizen who refuses to retire keeps harping about gomez n stole the limelight in today's straits times cover page. n this bloody ah cek also says that chiam is running out of steam n time, pot calling the kettle black. time to get a casket, boy..![]()
that piece of rat's ass probably will never see the kind of danger you put yourself through.Originally posted by Hellraiza:YAH! Once i out-argued myself out of a sticky situation (won't elaborate haha) with a group of 6 policemen and women. After the person who made the police report agreed to my suggestion and dropped charges, one of the sergeants grabbed my collar, pointed his finger in my face and said "nevermind, very smug right? you good. You WATCH OUT. I know your name and everything, i will make life hard for you."
I mean, WTF?
*shrugs* maybe that's why the chinese have a saying "hao nan bu chong bing" lol. Police better, can guai lan. Some police whom i've encountered on my...."travels" lol are really very nice people, they just want to do their job without too much of a fuss. But SOME....wah lan eh i won't even waste my time elaborating. And yes, Timor Leste needs all the policemen it can handle!Originally posted by LazerLordz:that piece of rat's ass probably will never see the kind of danger you put yourself through.
Throw them to Timor Leste la..I despise people who abuse their uniform and rank, it places them in the same league as criminals.
OT as usual.Originally posted by Hellraiza:*shrugs* maybe that's why the chinese have a saying "hao nan bu chong bing" lol. Police better, can guai lan. Some police whom i've encountered on my...."travels" lol are really very nice people, they just want to do their job without too much of a fuss. But SOME....wah lan eh i won't even waste my time elaborating. And yes, Timor Leste needs all the policemen it can handle!Heard from my seniors, an area the size of ang mo kio + bishan, only got one policeman, during our peacekeeper's time there...
Anyway, what's all this got to do with Gomez?![]()
Even they mentioned cap minister pay at the low income's 20%, which I rougly believe it's abt $200Mr LTK is not so unreasonable, he is suggesting using the average of the low 20% say S$800 multiply by 100 as their monthly pay. In that case, they will try to increase the income pf low income household for their own benefits.
Can, you can see ministers walking to parliment in slippers and shorts. But I'm not saying the pay they are given, is reasonable
So if they are the next govt, they should not take back what they mentioned on this
Here comes the new Changi Airport LRT train
He grabbed ur collar n u should say "Have u seen Internal Affairs trilogy byOriginally posted by Hellraiza:YAH! Once i out-argued myself out of a sticky situation (won't elaborate haha) with a group of 6 policemen and women. After the person who made the police report agreed to my suggestion and dropped charges, one of the sergeants grabbed my collar, pointed his finger in my face and said "nevermind, very smug right? you good. You WATCH OUT. I know your name and everything, i will make life hard for you."
I mean, WTF?
Really, who benefits most from a GST % drop? It's the high spenders. You spend the most, you pay more. I have stated many times at other threads, there are cheaper alternative yet ppl are not using them
but can't we have GST waiver for small, basic items like basic medicine, essential food stuff, groceries, text books ... ?
If you want to doubt abt them that made the sugar prices to go up by 50%, you can go ask any dealer... They are even making a loss for selling at $44 a bag of 50kg in weight... Last year it cost $28. Partly, Thailand has been exporting lesser sugar this year
whatever it is, it is a simple fact that coffee prices went up two months ago. if Ng Eng Heng couldn't prevent coffee prices from going up, what right has he to say the opposition can't?
As for the wayang... If you dun believe, you can check the boundary report. It stated clearly for Aljunied GRC, the requirement is for at least 1 Malay canidate. Clearly, they know it might be good for WP as there might be a backfire if it's exposed. That's why politics is never clean
this Aljunied issue is basically a blown up wayang by the PAP. if Gomez does get charged after the elections, like all his predecessors have, over this ridiculous issue, it only goes to show how the monopoly of politics by one party can bend laws to harm common folks ... a very dangerous situation for the people ...
well, the GST should already have been reflected on the price tags ... even as some items are taxed GST and some are not ...Originally posted by sbst275:GST, if they go impose on certain items, expect a longer processing time at even chap huey tiam cashier... Cos need to prog that this is not GST taxed, that item is
Everything that comes into SG is GST taxed, incl bus faresOriginally posted by snow leopard:well, the GST should already have been reflected on the price tags ... even as some items are taxed GST and some are not ...
i never knew bus fares were GST taxed ... as an essential item it should be GST exempt ...Originally posted by sbst275:Everything that comes into SG is GST taxed, incl bus fares
The only prob is whether the dealer is GST reg or not, that's where the GST loopholes are really are for these past 12 years
If you are registered you can "claim back" the GST you paid by offseting it with the GST you collect... if you do not register, you cannot.Originally posted by snow leopard:i never knew bus fares were GST taxed ... as an essential item it should be GST exempt ...
you mean it's up to the dealer to choose whether or not he wishes to be GST registered? if that's the case why would any dealer choose to be GST regeistered in the first place? ... unless not registering is a criminal offence which becomes the job of the police to enforce? in any case, for those GST registered companies selling basic necessities, GST can be waived or reduced ...
The running cost, diesel purchases is already GST taxedOriginally posted by snow leopard:i never knew bus fares were GST taxed ... as an essential item it should be GST exempt ...
you mean it's up to the dealer to choose whether or not he wishes to be GST registered? if that's the case why would any dealer choose to be GST regeistered in the first place? ... unless not registering is a criminal offence which becomes the job of the police to enforce? in any case, for those GST registered companies selling basic necessities, GST shouldn't be imposed or should be imposed at a lower rate ...
where's your source of information?Originally posted by minimalis:Just heard that he got arrested for criminal intimidation...
thanks for the info casino_king ...Originally posted by casino_king:If you are registered you can "claim back" the GST you paid by offseting it with the GST you collect... if you do not register, you cannot.
Say I'm a GST registered shop, I buy a $100 worth of goods...
So with the GST, it cost $105... The $5 I can claim from IRAS... If I sell the goods at $120 w/ GST, $5.71 will have to be returned to IRAS
thanks for the explanation. i don't see anything wrong. you actually paid $105 for your goods when it ought have been $100. so your pocket = -$5 (for nothing) so you deserve to claim back $5 from IRAS, nothing wrong. when you sell the good, the $5.71 you receive is not meant for you but GST for govt so you return this to govt, which is again correct.
net result (-$5 + $5 = $0), you didn't gain or lose. the $5.71 is not part of your profit but GST tax that your customer pays which you return to govt in turn.
So at the end, I just return $0.71 to IRAS for GST
as for IRAS, remember you started off paying $105 instead of $100? so the wholesaler you bought the goods from would have to pay $5 to IRAS. now you add to that $0.71 so it adds up to $5.71, exactly the GST that the eventual consumer paid for ...
But for a non reg GST shop, I buy purchase, instead of $100, if would be $105 as the supplier is the one paying the GST for you... You can't claim the $5
the non GST registered shop would be paying GST for nothing and the govt ends up double taxing, once from the retailer and a second time from the consumer. assuming the retailer knows his GST, he would register his shop. otherwise, the govt is actually double taxing.