Hi thanks. I know someone will reply to me in such way, but the realism is both husband and wife have to work to substain the loan nowadays compared to the olden days. Btw, my observation is drawn from the same-size housing (I am not so illogical to draw observation from different basic factorsOriginally posted by dakkon_blackblade:You have to account for inflation, the current state of the property market, the larger size of the flats, and the higher quality of construction and workmanship. Otherwise it is not fair to compare between HDB prices then and now.
You see, the "inflation" answer is false. What happens normally is that "inflation" will never be that bad unless engineered by the gahman.Originally posted by thinker:I have a very big ? on housing (part of livelihood) here:
I hear from 1st generation sgporean that in the initial nation building stage where HDB is implemented, it usually take less than 10 years for a household (single working person) to repay fully the loan taken.
In this current time, I observed that nowadays a HDB loan requires a household (2 person, both wife and husband) & usually 20~25 years or more of working life to complete the repayment.
Base on this observation:
1) Aren't we turning worst? Most households (husband & wife) need to continue to work and worry till the completion of the Housing loan? This indirectly also cause other social problems on the next generation.
2) It seems that we are indulging in larger and larger housing debt and using more of future $ to fuel our current needs and expenditure?
Someone pls advise me. I got a sense that part of our progression is using future $ to fuel our current needs. I have no economic education background, but anyone with common sense will find this weird, right?![]()
To be fair to the pap, many first worlds also have very expensive housing - Hong Kong, Japan and many cities in US.Originally posted by casino_king:You see, the "inflation" answer is false. What happens normally is that "inflation" will never be that bad unless engineered by the gahman.
The people who benefits from such exorbitant housing price increases are the people who have extra houses to sell... the very rich.
In Thailand, a professional computer programmer I know can pay off her house in about 7 years.
So you are right, Singaporeans are suckers but as long as we have a single party dictatorship, we will always be suckers.
Become worse is an understatement. It is very bad... the gahman can do something about it but they never will... not this gahman anyway. Got us into this siht then try to pull wool over our eyes and say stupid things like 1st world and so on.Originally posted by diamond008:Yes, I agree. The situation is actually not improved, but become worse. People have to work more years for the same size of house. as long as you have debt, you are not free
Originally posted by thinker:Migrate lor... why you think so many people migrate. You want your children to suffer like that? Exploited by the dictators? The problem is that the poor cannot migrate and the very rich no point migrating.
I am rising this issue because:
1) I hope to be enlightened in this issue
2) Since nowadays there are no more permanent or life-long jobs/careers, how can a household (both wife & husband) not worry constantly on this huge debt? This [b]huge debt is permanently and real, while jobs/careers are dynamically changing. Suppose a newly wed couple is approximately 25 years old and by the time the loan is repaid, both are probably more than 50 years old each?Seems to be one is borned to study till 20+ and worry & work till old. Life is fixed in this way???
I don't encourage migration.Originally posted by casino_king:Migrate lor... why you think so many people migrate. You want your children to suffer like that? Exploited by the dictators? The problem is that the poor cannot migrate and the very rich no point migrating.
Originally posted by thinker:I have a very big ? on housing (part of livelihood) here:
I hear from 1st generation sgporean that in the initial nation building stage where HDB is implemented, it usually take less than 10 years for a household (single working person) to repay fully the loan taken.
In this current time, I observed that nowadays a HDB loan requires a household (2 person, both wife and husband) & usually 20~25 years or more of working life to complete the repayment.
1) Aren't we turning worst? Most households (husband & wife) need to continue to work and worry till the completion of the Housing loan? This indirectly also cause other social problems on the next generation.
2) It seems that we are indulging in larger and larger housing debt and using more of future $ to fuel our current needs and expenditure?
Someone pls advise me. I got a sense that part of our progression is using future $ to fuel our current needs. I have no economic education background, but anyone with common sense will find this weird, right?![]()
If you look at the trend... in the last few quarters, prices have been going up again since 2004... you think the dictators will stop it? They are the ones engineering the increase. If you have more than 1 property to sell, rejoice. If not, weep.Originally posted by thinker:I don't encourage migration.. I am borned here & am accustomed to the life here.
. This is not the worst place afterall.
Anyway back to the topic, is the loan going to be increased over the decades? Next time a newly couple will need more than 25 years (i.e. probably 2 generation of working life?) to repay a housing loan?? No solution at all?![]()
You mean in another sense, we are employee a.k.a slaves to their gain?Originally posted by NuLife:
Moreover, when general property cost to rise,
who do you think made the most???
It is the rich who could afford to invest in other properties than
their own housing. Propably MPs/Ministers like GCT himself??
You are just made a sucker... everytime you get nearer after saving up all that money... wham you are hit with a gigantic bill like for inflated housing.Originally posted by thinker:You mean in another sense, we are employee a.k.a slaves to their gain?
Does it also mean all the fund absorbed by the increasing loan is irregularly distributed indirectly/directly to the person/group through proper/'legal' means?
Hi,Originally posted by thinker:You mean in another sense, we are employee a.k.a slaves to their gain?
Does it also mean all the fund absorbed by the increasing loan is irregularly distributed indirectly/directly to the person/group through proper/'legal' means?
When the govt launched the asset enhancement scheme during the mid 90's, just imagine the liquidity flooding the pty mkt from the CPF coffer. All pty prices sky-rocketed like no 2morrow.Originally posted by thinker:I have a very big ? on housing (part of livelihood) here:
Blindly persuing Swiss standard without staring into the MirrorOriginally posted by quickstart:..just for the sake of Swiss or "Switch" standard of living.