Cheap 1-room flat..Originally posted by NDU:totally agree with you! the shell and exxomobile thingy hear liao also two lan! as for the HDB thingy! WORST! to them, they ASSUME they are offering CHEAP HDB FLAT TO THE PUBLIC! halo.... we are not making that much ok! a 4 rm flat already gonna kill me!
Originally posted by alien2:If you're interested in knowing more about the 'overwhelming results like 1988' and why this wonderful government has shifted from deploying the ISD to using defamation lawsuits to deal with the opposition, you should read Francis Seow's "To Catch a Tartar"...
And so if PAP wins the election with overwhelming results like [b]1988 then waht happen.. all sporean will get hun-tam. esp. bloggers who said PAP is so bad..so U think we will go to jail and fined?..I'm broke..but I saw ppl queue-ing up at old AMK POSB jsut to get their cash or topping up? why are we so stupid?U think they won't win?
And you can guarantee that the new PAP MP that get in without a fight thru the GRC umbella can do a better job than now?Originally posted by ejb:Seems like a lot of anti-pap here..
the votes seems to tell otherwise..
only a simple question, who can gurantee that the opp. can do a better job than now? pap might not have did the best, but i think if the opp. are given a chance, they may do it even worst..
i'm only a supportor for the best team, that's all
Originally posted by ejb:Your argument is the same as the case for NKF.Without NKF, their patients would not have being given their 2nd chance in life.But did it turn out that NKF is well ran?When power is concentrated in a few hands,can you promise that like NKF,it will not happen in the singapore Govt as well?
btw, if u r still able to log into pc here and type your complains, i think the pap have done a decent job...at least..
elsewise, maybe those ppl who are complaining might still be struck somewhere fishing, or farming..
do not bite the hand that feeds u, w/o the pap(LKY) in the 1st plc, we are still under our friendly neighbour msia and maybe are fishing/farming somewhere there, please do not forget that..[/b]
Dun worry, u will get to hear these concerns after the GE ... but the concerns will come from SBS n SMRT, not the politicans ...Originally posted by macjoe:I've yet to hear from both sides (the First-class and No-class candidates) how will rising oil prices impact business costs and prices on consumer goods, electricity, utilities, transport, etc.
When such concerns are not discussed by the candidates, it's telling about their real calibre.![]()
Originally posted by ejb:agree, but.... that does not mean that, PAP must run the country FOREVER! if in this case, i dont see the need for election! as... ALL SINGAPOREAN OWN WHAT WE HAVE TO PAP AND LETS GET THEM TO BE OUR GOVERNMENT FOREVER. [/b]
[b]Seems like a lot of anti-pap here..
[b]thats becoz lots of ppl DARE NOT VOTE THE OPP PARTY!
only a simple question, who can gurantee that the opp. can do a better job than now? pap might not have did the best, but i think if the opp. are given a chance, they may do it even worst..
yup, agree...no one can gurantee that the opp party can do a better job! but... how can you JUDGE THAT THE OPP PARTY WILL PERFORM EVEN WORST? did you let them TRY IT BEFORE? BASE ON WHAT YOU SAY THEY ARE EVEN WORST? Don't forget this! If all companyÂ’s want EXPERENCE ENGINNER, then how about those fresh graduate? Who gonna give them a chance to be EXPERENCE?
i'm only a supportor for the best team, that's all..
supporter for the best team? ..... for the past 50 yrs.... PAP was the ONLY PARTY THAT RUN THE COUNTRY ..... so you mean they are the best team?
btw, if u r still able to log into pc here and type your complains, i think the pap have done a decent job...at least..
elsewise, maybe those ppl who are complaining might still be struck somewhere fishing, or farming..
We never FORGET or overlook the contribution of Mr K Y Lee and those pioneers who have make what we are todayÂ’s. butÂ… these doesnÂ’t mean that, all PAP candidate are GOOD and opp party are LOUSY!
The way you put itÂ… it seen to me that, SINGAPORE MUST RUN BY PAP! MUST!!!! AS THEY HAVE GOOD RECORD AND OUR FUTURE MUST LAID WITH THEM
do not bite the hand that feeds u, w/o the pap(LKY) in the 1st plc, we are still under our friendly neighbour msia and maybe are fishing/farming somewhere there, please do not forget that..[/b]
NKF saga is a good reminder to us that we should not simply takes things for granted, and if there is an imbalance of power at the top, there will be inefficiency and waste.Originally posted by ejb:Seems like a lot of anti-pap here..
i'm only a supportor for the best team, that's all..
do not bite the hand that feeds u, w/o the pap(LKY) in the 1st plc, we are still under our friendly neighbour msia and maybe are fishing/farming somewhere there, please do not forget that..
Punggol and Sengkang are good examples, lots of unsold flats. The HDB flats are like so close to each other and feels kinda squeezy.Originally posted by macjoe:About cost of HDB flat, I remember before MBT, HDB flats were built bigger and sold cheaper than during MBT term in office. By that I mean, a 5-room then is bigger than a 5-room now.
So why are HDB flats built smaller and sold more expensively?![]()
before MBT, it is common that you buy car with cash. With him, you need you take 10 years loan for that piece of COE.Originally posted by macjoe:About cost of HDB flat, I remember before MBT, HDB flats were built bigger and sold cheaper than during MBT term in office. By that I mean, a 5-room then is bigger than a 5-room now.
So why are HDB flats built smaller and sold more expensively?![]()
and dont forget, he also has the tallest wife among the ministers.Originally posted by Gazelle:before MBT, it is common that you buy car with cash. With him, you need you take 10 years loan for that piece of COE.
If MBT's objective is to provide cheap public housing for the PEOPLE, he failed badly. If his role is to prove that the shortest politician can generate biggest profit, I think he win hands down.
I dun like his face.Originally posted by Gazelle:before MBT, it is common that you buy car with cash. With him, you need you take 10 years loan for that piece of COE.
If MBT's objective is to provide cheap public housing for the PEOPLE, he failed badly. If his role is to prove that the shortest politician can generate biggest profit, I think he win hands down.
it depends on how you see it, if he won the war he would have been a great man wouldn't he?Originally posted by Gazelle:[b]Lee Yi Shyan, who was a former top civil servant in charge of promoting enterprises overseas, lashed out at the opposition for its narrow vision.
Mr Lee says: "Since Nomination Day, the opposition parties have made many statements, on essentially two themes - wealth redistribution and cost containment. They spoke at great lengths, but mostly with flawed logic, on how the Government ought to further subsidise consumption, and provide more freebies.
"The two themes themselves are important topics, but by not addressing the other major and critical issues Singapore as a country faces, the opposition shows their narrow vision and limited capacity to bring Singapore into the future.
I think PAP did the same, they only talk about 2 things, Upgrading and Gomez.
Isnt upgrading a form of freebies to buy vote? [/b][/quote]
i'm already 24 and i've never voted in my life and now when election comes its a walkover. i've never thought about being anti-pap, i just want to live my life as peacefully as possible, i do not wish to think about the "great and far sighted" plans the govt has for singapore.
but from young till now, the situation seems to get worse each year, blunders coming out more and more ofter. and i'm not particularly smart but i am capable of recognizing stupidity. with more "WHAT THE HELL" situations coming out , tell me, why would i vote for them?
and they always have that top down attittude that they're always correct, even when they're wrong
plus i never have a liking for people who think winning a debate is to attack the people instead of their views, it speaks for their integrety, something i noticed some forum members doing when arguing over political views. i'm surprised how parents and upbringing can come into that
[quote]Originally posted by look_see:
Quote: "do not bite the hand that feeds u, w/o the pap(LKY) in the 1st plc, we are still under our friendly neighbour msia and maybe are fishing/farming somewhere there, please do not forget that"
during the great depression, Germany was in the brink of bankruptcy due partly to the penalties imposed by the allies after the first world war...
in less than a decade, the Nazi Party transformed Germany to become the most powerful nation in Europe. does that make Hitler a great man??
I really wish opposition win as many seats as possible, but never forgetting that's with 37 already in their pocket, the pictures will continue to change.. I hope positively for the better.Originally posted by look_see:Quote: "do not bite the hand that feeds u, w/o the pap(LKY) in the 1st plc, we are still under our friendly neighbour msia and maybe are fishing/farming somewhere there, please do not forget that"
during the great depression, Germany was in the brink of bankruptcy due partly to the penalties imposed by the allies after the first world war...
in less than a decade, the Nazi Party transformed Germany to become the most powerful nation in Europe. does that make Hitler a great man??
they can only prove it if given a chance.Originally posted by ejb:yes, i definately think opp. are needed, cuz they will keep a "check" on the pap, to make sure that they are doing good.
however, though some of the issues the opp. said make sense, but, how do u gurantee that they will be a do-action then talk-action ppl?
talk is often more more more simple than action..
addressing an issue is also more more more simple than performing the solution..
providing the solution in words-form is also more more more simple than providing the solution in action-form..
and i do not say i support pap, i oni support the strongest, at the very least right now, besides a few "creditable" opp. in the WP, i basically feel most of them are/do not hold such a good creditial that i should vote for them...
maybe the (some of the) opp. may have passion (but ability wise?), but from what i see, besides (a few) "creditable" opp. most of the majority just looks to me like ppl who want to gain fame overnight by going to the opp. just my personal opinion though.
anyway, it's not up to me/you/anyone alone to decide who win..
i'm just trying to bring in the fact that why have so many ppl forgotton wad pap had done? they might have done it overbroad, but if the opp. is to lead, i dun think they cld have done it any better also, managing a country is not so easy as to say say on rally oni..