how can u forget the PERSONAL INCOME TAX!!!!Originally posted by Gazelle:A old worker might be worth $700 per month now, but have you forgetten to take into account his contribution when he was young, the number of children he has that is contributing to this country?
Have you forgotten about tobacco tax, GST, COE, Petrol Tax, Road Tax, ERP, Stamp fee, Levy, Property tax, alcohol tax?
The need for election is important so that Singapore can call itself a democratic society.

To put salt into wound, PM Lee actually visited Taiwan weeks before he becomes PM and that has actually pissed China off. Until today, we have not actually seen any development in bilateral relationship or any form of economic cooperation.Originally posted by NDU:80 billion of investment lost in china was kinda shit! dont under estimate our china friends!!!! a lesson learn for our government! but... this lesson was far too much costly!!!!!![]()
we have freedom of speech, don't we?Originally posted by Rod1984:Be watchful for ur words.. "Others" might see it... to me.. comments keep to myself
in singapore.... theres no such thing call FREEDOM OF SPEECH!Originally posted by Infantile:we have freedom of speech, don't we?
Yup! That was really really really terrible. His excuse? I think he said it was a personal visit!Originally posted by Gazelle:To put salt into wound, PM Lee actually visited Taiwan weeks before he becomes PM and that has actually pissed China off. Until today, we have not actually seen any development in bilateral relationship or any form of economic cooperation.
This visit by PM is definitely a blunder
If you have noticed until now Singapore ministers has not been talking much about China.Originally posted by lwflee:Yup! That was really really really terrible. His excuse? I think he said it was a personal visit!
That episode forced him to have to publicly announce that he did not support taiwan independence, pissing of Taiwan. So now, there are 2 countries pissed off with Singapore.
What a blunder!
Originally posted by Infantile:we have freedom of speech, don't we?
I'm not sure if you can call it a blunder since he's actually nothing but a sycopant(is the deliberate act of bootlicking by a sycopant actually a blunder?Originally posted by Gazelle:To put salt into wound, PM Lee actually visited Taiwan weeks before he becomes PM and that has actually pissed China off. Until today, we have not actually seen any development in bilateral relationship or any form of economic cooperation.
This visit by PM is definitely a blunder
I feel a bit shameful now. Can only be one person who sings praises about a toilet, cynthia phua.Originally posted by Gazelle:Aljunied MP singing praise about the 5 stars toilet at hawker centre.hehe..
yeah you have my vote!!![]()
Someone should question him about buangkok mrt.Originally posted by Gazelle:Rally Highlights: PAP's Charles Chong questions SDA's sincerity in wanting to help voters
I think he should question PAP ministers sincerely to serve the country because it seems to us that they will only do their job if they being paid million of dollars.
She even says that certain king or sultan from Malaysia even come over and see the toilet......my question is, is that going to make the residence in aljunied feel like they are TT Durai or what? Is that going to make their life any better.Originally posted by ditzy:I feel a bit shameful now. Can only be one person who sings praises about a toilet, cynthia phua.![]()
Originally posted by ditzy:
SDA proposed that the govt give out the progress package...............every year.[quote]
dun think tts gonna happen...![]()
Their intention is to highlight that PAP is doing this only for the GE and to win vote.Originally posted by kaka_22:
If you are on the same side doing questions and anwers, that is called Wayang. Some one has already called such a party Wayang Party referring may be to his own.Originally posted by ditzy:Someone should question him about buangkok mrt.![]()
Do you ppl realise that the Election rules don't allow any PARTY to spend more than 3 dollars person per voter in everyOriginally posted by Gazelle:The government I prefer to rule this country is to have a ruling party that is capable of facing challenge regardless if it is Chee, Jeya or Chiam.
As for PAP, despite their domination in this country, they still need to use "dirty" and suppressive tactic to gain vote. That to me is SAD!!
Rememeber this, progress fund doesnt come out of PAP pocket, it is part of the contribution you and your forefather have willingly gave to this country.
Originally posted by alien2:I hope the result of this GE will give PAP a wake up call that by using carrot during election will not get you any vote. what singapreans want is fair compaigning, and not using SG millions to buy vote.
Do you ppl realise that the [b]Election rules don't allow any PARTY to spend more than 3 dollars person per voter in every
constitutency and by the total numbers in the constitutency?
* Does that allow them to pay each citizen voter 400 to 1000 dollars, isn't it called breaking their own rules they created?
It's blatant violation of of their electorate rules!
Labelling it progress package is no difference! It's blatant violation
Anway they want to call it!
Yah...and now PM LEE accuses Steve Chia of rallying for sympathy votes cuz if he losses, he will quit politics.Originally posted by Gazelle:I think the PAP ministers are the pathetic. Here are a few example,
a) Progress Package
What progress are they taking about? Are they going to continue giving out ang pao every year from now on, or is this just an expensive PR event by PAP?
b) Is this black mailing or what?
(Business times)
Two mega oil projects hinge on polls: PM He urges voters to send the right signal as political risks will count in Shell, ExxonMobil's decisions
What political risk are we talking about? Is he implying that by having a few more seats for the opposition party, Shell and Exxon will change billion dollar investment? So what if they do? is the OIL money so important that we should all shut up and not have a voice?
c) Mah Pow Tan challange on HDB Price
If singapore wants to provide low cost housing for Singaporean, then why is our government charging so much for the land which belongs to Singaporean?
Hi NDU, there is a country not too far from here with beautiful islands for diving and everyone champion freedom of speech. Not too sure if I am correct to say that their main GDP contribution is the export of maids. Just wondering if you have dive there before? One can mutter almost anything there without fear of being held accountable for their words, i.e. I can call you, say, a cheat and liar and a womaniser and even a changi village shell station back lane worker. Nice place to dive, huh?Originally posted by NDU:in singapore.... theres no such thing call FREEDOM OF SPEECH!![]()
if we say something wrong or something that dont turn our Mr lee on...![]()
then HE WILL TAKE AWAY OUR FREEDOM
tome... its ok.... anyway im SUFFERING RIGHT NOW! dont mind they point their barrel at me
old school of thought, withholding information is withholding power.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:SINGAPORE : The impact of the Internet at this General Election is likely to be looked at by the relevant ministry after the polls.
Information Communications and the Arts Minister Dr Lee Boon Yang said this is to assess the scale at which the new media, like blogs and podcasts, were used to influence views and shape opinions.
He must still be using a pager for his comms with his residents.
No wonder he is not getting any page nowadays.
Or he work so hard like the Ex- Head of Navy that they dun surf the internet.
PAP seems to have paid SPH millions to be features on the cover page everyday.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:How desperate can the New Paper be in the last minute pitching for the last foreign minister !
Too late liao.
The people have decided who to vote liao.
Can be quite pathetic when I read how biased the media can be.