It is easy to say to upgrade the skills in growing industries but is difficult to do. Especially when you are over 40 and 50.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Stop your grouses and upgrade your skills in gorwing industries. We have well-paying jobs for fund managers and researchers in the biomedical industries but we cannot find enough people to fill them. That's why we have to import PhDs from overseas..
We have no jobs for diagnostic radiologists...they have been outsourced. So doctors just have to undergo training all over again and move to a different speciality or accept lower pay as a GP.
Everyone faces global competition. What makes us so special? If you cannot compete you lose your job or accept lower salary...
Speaking of football, whatever happened to Goal 2010? All I know is we have some half-baked S-League primed with plenty of FTs, but World Cup is no where in sight.Originally posted by look_see:didn't the english and spanish FA argue that they have to allow more foreigner players to boost up the competitiveness of their soccer league. in the end, we saw an influx of foreign players from countries such as the south america and france into their games. their league does get more interesting but they had also shut out the growth of local talents. the results is that we always see english and spanish clubs achieving great glorys during champions league... but when was the last time England and Spain won anything on a National level? so in the long run, who ends up the greatest losers? isn't it clear enough for all to see....
Everthing is just WRONG here....Originally posted by NDU:thats why i have to go monash![]()
but.... if im singaporean! and i dont even have a chance to be educate here.... dont you think thats something wrong some where?
i c a lot of niggas 2... WASUP MY NIGGAZ....Originally posted by dragg:i see lots of thais, malaysians, mainland chinese, angmohs, pakistanis, indian nationals, blangadeshi.
soon we will become the minority.
mainly malaysians.Originally posted by Mariner:wad to do...there's even ministers and MP who are foreign born in the parliement

HAHAHAHA......i learnt all these when i did pure chem 2 years ago....Originally posted by joajas:Let me tell your a very interesting thing, this Phd don't even know how to use a pipette. She is suppose to use those rubber sucker and attach it to the end of the pipette to suck up the chemicals.
Guess what she did!!! She use her mouth.
One fine day that kuku manager almost did and almost cause a major explosion. Luckily my wife stopped her just before she pour water into a huge container of concentrated acid.
Originally posted by Kariage:hdb should not even be charging us such an anal amount of money in the first place
These are the facts that you must see before condemning PAP:
1. there are huge needs for construction worker. Does singaporean willing to take this job with only $700 - $1000 per month? The bangladeshi and Pakistani are okay with this job.
1. Construction company will be gone... meeting higher salary demand to hire a Singaporean will increase the overhead of the company. HDB flats will be more expensive since the cost of building it will be higher.
Originally posted by Kariage:if locals are hired at a higher pay proportionated to the cost of living here i doubt hospital bills would be a problem
2. There are huge needs for nurses in our healthcare system. Does singaporean willing to do this job? No, most Singaporean thinks this job is no good and low paid... But the Filipino are okay with this job.
2. Hospital bill will be higher, since singaporean health worker expect higher salary.
Originally posted by Kariage:if you're paying $15 an hour for a maid tell me, i would like to apply for the job
3. No maids for you... except if you are willing to pay $15 per hour for a singaporean maid.
Originally posted by Kariage:with higher wages , manufacturers should at least expect higher skilled workers, something we could try to provide though education to attract companies who need to manufacture goods of higher quality
4. Manufacturing cost will be higher. Soon all manufacturer will move to Vietnam/China/Indonesia
Originally posted by Kariage:big it companies would move out and create more business room for small local it companies, in IT what matters is whether you are worth the price, if you are , the salary should not be a problem, if you suck then you shouldn't even be there in the first place, you should be here playing CS with me
5. Big IT companies will move out from Singapore. Small IT companies will be closed down since the overhead cost will be too high.
Originally posted by Kariage:not if we provide better services, would you rather pay more at a port with your goods intact and sent safely on their way , or less at a port thats slow and loses track of your goods the moment they're unloaded?
6. The shipyards and container ports will move to a cheaper place.
firstly i feel that i wouldn't mind those "dirty jobs" if they pay higher, and even if they don't pay higher, they should allow one to have chances to advance in their careers. currently the way workers are treated is appalling. and if you haven't noticed more and more of these "dirty jobs" are being taken by locals. locals who are often cheated out of their pay of only hundreds by the same peole who hire them for these "dirty jobs", not to mention verbal abuse.
The correct thing to do:
1. Let the foreigner do the dirty jobs, they are willing to do it with low salary. Singaporean should aim themself to do a higher status jobs. Someone who are not capable of doing higher status job can either stay jobless or downgrade their expectation. It is THEIR choice.
2. Don't worry about the numbers of PRs here. For example, in Bahrain, one of the developed country in the middle east, the amount of PRs are 3 times of their citizen. A problem? NO. Bahrain is one of the most prosperous country in the middle east.[/b]
Originally posted by hampden11:
I just feel that if we, local citizens are being treated as 2nd class citizens in our home birth land, I might as well apply for PR in another country where the community treats you although second class, but u will be fairly treated in due time as one of them.
Are you sure of this statement? Please think twice before making such baseless statement. Tolerance level of PRs in other countries is not high at all. In fact, many of them despise PRs.
Singapore? Hah!
Even Gahman treat us like cattle.
Everywhere tax tax, so we have to work like cows to make ends meet, say cannot do this, then everybody dun do it, say go invest in that field, everybody then go there (classic example: from manufacturing to engineering, to IT now life sciences)
Have you heard of a world class country with no taxes? How is the country going to progress if there are no taxes? Expenses and cost of living will be high in Singapore because we are living in an advanced country. If you wish to have cheap cost of living and forgo all the luxuries in a world class country, please migrate to a third world country. Regarding the constant shifts in the fields of investment, it is not determined by the government at all. It is the impact of globalisation. It is determined by the world. If you dont want singapore to progress, then stick to manufacturing forever lor. Imagine if the government told us to focus on manufacturing and ever since then did not tell us to shift our investments. Will singapore progress till today?
Then say we are citizens should proudly serve our army first... then fine NS dodger who pursue a career in music (black sheep in their view)
I feel like we are like sheep make us run here to eat grass then run there... black sheeps then kenna spank spank send to chop shop.
Hahahaha... you're just trying to find some topic to defame the government lah. In singapore NS is compulsory for all men and if you allow for certain people to skip NS, then others wouldnt be happy at all right? And how do you determine who are elligible to skip NS? Only the music ppl?
If you do not have a sheepdog to keep your sheeps from straying away, you'll soon find tht u have lost all your sheeps.
to my dear joajasOriginally posted by joajas:In the company that my wife works in, majority of the non admin jobs are held by FWs.
Let's take her manager for example, her manager from myanma, holding local masters degree.
Everyday at work, make personal phone call more than work, ask her anything, she say she don't know.
Few months back, she hired another person from her homeland, that person also cannot work. They are in the lab (chemical) department. The new person was given a dunno what scientist position cause she got Phd.
So during the her training, the diploma holders still have to teach her how to do certain chemical test. That nevermind, when she do those chemical test, still have to cheat. Her own result wrong, copy other's correct result, suay suay get caught. If not eveyone would think she very good.
Let me tell your a very interesting thing, this Phd don't even know how to use a pipette. She is suppose to use those rubber sucker and attach it to the end of the pipette to suck up the chemicals.
Guess what she did!!! She use her mouth.
We all know that if a container is used to hold a chemical, we are supposed to thouroughly clean the container before putting in another chemical right?, cause we don't want any reaction mah. This simple thing she also dunno.
Now let's get back to the manager. Those who studied chemistry before should know that we cannot add water to a big volume of concentrated acid.
One fine day that kuku manager almost did and almost cause a major explosion. Luckily my wife stopped her just before she pour water into a huge container of concentrated acid.
Now are these Phd and Master degree holder foriegn talents??
YES!!! in the 'EYES OF THE GAHMEN'.
NO!!!!!!!!! In the eyes of those who worked with them.![]()
I believe majority of them Malaysian.Originally posted by binkaboink:i'm not here to talk bad abt FT or anything, but i happened to follow my GRC MP ard during a block visit. on 2 diff occasions, of all the flats in the block the MP visited, about half of them were PRs!
not exagerating. this is somewhere in jurong. other area, i would not be sure.
i was shocked initially to see this high number of PRs jus ard my area. wat more, the MP even kept telling the PRs that one of the spouses should apply for citizenship to get the best of both worlds.
he's from PAP, jus for the record. so now u know how so many of them ended up in S'pore...
I am a PR n served my NS already. U experience also the same.Originally posted by thinker:As a Singaporean, I really feel that here is not Singapore. I do not know where is the National Identity.
Everytime before election, they will ask us to vote them. After election, things turns worst and they make it more worst by foreigners controlling the CITIZENs. Feel really SAD for the place I am born in and the place I called HOME.
Sometimes even mocked by foreigners indicating "Whats the BIG DEAL being a Singaporean!". Hear also cannot tahan.