Nothing bias, but i noe 4 a fact that LKY flew SQ, first class. The security and assistant (scholars) flew economy. I was on the same flightOriginally posted by banzie:actually they do have private jets paid for when travelling.. and an army to protect them security...
Got free replacement? Then must be not good leh..must double the price then can be super best.Originally posted by Ito_^:expensive things got warranty one. this one break liao, end of singapore.
comparing your job scope with his?Originally posted by ^MaRcUs^:Eh....
You kept talking about minister's wages...
look at us...
I am an undergraduate with aa diploma and...
i was offer yesterday 1.3k basic!!!!!
not even 1% compared to PM Lee's salary!!
and many of us are getting that sorta pay...
so dun keep comparing with the best around the world, they are the minority!
compare with the majority!!!!
I agree with Low's multiplier concept
I think he must be the one welcoming people at the hotel entrance.. 1 day welcome 1000 times type.Originally posted by thousandisland:comparing your job scope with his?
Good. But how about the other way round through reverse multiplier.Originally posted by Aveme:Mr Low Thia Kiang made a point in his speech which i think is reasonable.The suggestion is that minister's pay be pegged to a multipler on what the lowest 20% income bracket people earn
Eg if the multipler is x100 if the lowest 20% income earner earn $800 per month,then using this multipler,minister should get x100 = $80,000.If these lowest income bracket earn more,the ministers will earn more to reward them for policies well ran.
This way,it is really staying together,moving ahead (PAP's slogan for AMK GRC campaign),and not some staying together,stay the same or even move back while others who are better off and the PAP moving ahead.This way there is the encouragement for minister to really think about the poor and to help them and to help themselves too,win-win situation,and it will make these ministers to be accountable to the people for their policies and not just get rediculous high salaries month after months even if their policies turn out to be failures.
Really? How is it, then that first-world democracies like American and Britain attract arguably talented politicians with an allowance of only 20% of what our minsters are paid in Singapore?Originally posted by TooFree:Good. But how about the other way round through reverse multiplier.
Assuming that the annual income is $100,000 then depending on one's performance level or policies the salary are deductable through the mulitipler process ranging from 1-5 scale. For example, bad performers will get a salary of $100,000 / 5 = $20,000.
I am afraid going by Mr Low Thia Kiang suggestion, the government might not be able to attacts the best capable & talanted people to join the rank of government although we may be able to attract men or women with passion but with a lesser capability. Either ways are arguable but the reverse multiplier has the benefits of the doubt that the best men are always seek out.![]()
So that's what it is all about, capable and talented people are only attracted by the $$$$.Originally posted by TooFree:I am afraid going by Mr Low Thia Kiang suggestion, the government might not be able to attacts the best capable & talanted people to join the rank of government although we may be able to attract men or women with passion but with a lesser capability. Either ways are arguable but the reverse multiplier has the benefits of the doubt that the best men are always seek out.![]()
Originally posted by loosefuse:Really? How is it, then that first-world democracies like American and Britain attract arguably talented politicians with an allowance of only 20% of what our minsters are paid in Singapore?
Being capable and talented doesn't give them a reason to be GREEDY.
Candidates who sincerely want to serve our country and people will have a million-dollar-a-year pay as the last thing on their minds.
Dont forget that the lure from private sector offering higher paid jobs are always there enticing talented people away from serving the nation. It is not about equating talented personnels with greediness, but a fact of life. It is of course the best case scenerio if we can get the equally capable and passionate people. Moreover, it is afterall about the performance on the job, even if the talented person is unable to deliver at marco-level, he or she may still risk getting a lower pay through the reverse mulitipler effect.Originally posted by ditzy:So that's what it is all about, capable and talented people are only attracted by the $$$$.![]()
Rubbish!!!!!Mr LTK's suggestion is the logical way in getting the ministers pay to peg against the lowest income people. With that way, I am sure people with good heart and best of best in talent and knowledges will join him.Originally posted by TooFree:Good. But how about the other way round through reverse multiplier.
Assuming that the annual income is $100,000 then depending on one's performance level or policies the salary are deductable through the mulitipler process ranging from 1-5 scale. For example, bad performers will get a salary of $100,000 / 5 = $20,000.
I am afraid going by Mr Low Thia Kiang suggestion, the government might not be able to attacts the best capable & talanted people to join the rank of government although we may be able to attract men or women with passion but with a lesser capability. Either ways are arguable but the reverse multiplier has the benefits of the doubt that the best men are always seek out.![]()
All ministers' salaries are not just over a million or two. I'm sure they are getting more than what we've thought. You will be surprised if they are willing to disclose their salaries to the public genuinely.Originally posted by Parka:If you want money, why be a minister? What they earn is little compared relatively to what CEOs are earning. And CEOs are doing countries a bigger favor by producing jobs and improving the economy.
You seriously think ALL of them can earn as much outside?Originally posted by Parka:If you want money, why be a minister? What they earn is little compared relatively to what CEOs are earning. And CEOs are doing countries a bigger favor by producing jobs and improving the economy.