No transparency, no accountability of cos no proof.Originally posted by gr2012:However, most people who "defame" the government do not have substantial proof at all. No accounts, no paperwork, no evidence. They just present suspicions of such activities in their magazine.
We'll see how corrupted the government is when the court case continues.
Guys, it is not as if the opposition parties are any better.
Friend. What the WP said to the PAP are quite mild. How long have you lived in a truly 1st world democratic country like US, UK and AU.Originally posted by TooFree:If in the event of executing a full blown democracy, law and order turns hay wire and investors get turn off by political instabilty and millions citizens lost jobs as a results. Would u still say that democracy is really an ideal system? Ironically, I am not an authoritarian but a democrat however I respect the law. The democratic process must live on but care have to be ensure that citizens do not vote for the wrong person who cannot perform in parliament it seem however that partial democracy works better in a small country like ours.
The control of media and is not without merits in this aspect to prevent full weightage of the cons of democracy in a small island like ours.
The ideal of transparency and democracy lies in revamping the political system itself without having to vote for ' riffraff ' into the parliament.
Examine it deeply. Japan and US have got a large market and technology driven economy. You can find differences in the nature of polices that determined the investors confidence in us since we are a small country with a small market.Originally posted by 798:look at usa or japan. they have many opposition members as well, why investors from oversea still have confidence in them. i find if pap is first class, they shouldnt be worry the pressure the growth of opposition.
somemore our pm still has to be spoon-feed by his dad n relatives n m&m... first class?![]()
I clearly dont see why we must follow suit. Arent you excited in creating and forging our own unique identity as Singaporeans with a new political system, world class citizens, vibrant economy, jobs aplenty, peace and stability throughout the nation? This is our very own country!Originally posted by caramon.:Friend. What the WP said to the PAP are quite mild. How long have you lived in a truly 1st world democratic country like US, UK and AU.
I bet you wont say the same thing after you have seen it for yourself. I experience it and it change my mind of a true democratic society. I dont need to be 100% compliance to it but we are not even 50% close to it.
Have you seen a peaceful demostration before. I did experience it with my own eyes. I not advocating it but I think it is not as bad as everyone think.
Only a 3rd world country do not have opposition party and independent press.
world class? not for me YETOriginally posted by TooFree:I clearly dont see why we must follow suit. Arent you excited in creating and forging our own unique identity as Singaporeans with a new political system, world class citizens, vibrant economy, jobs aplenty, peace and stability throughout the nation? This is our very own country!![]()
New political system? What's so new about it? If you're talking benign dictatorships, there's already Peronism in Argentina.Originally posted by TooFree:I clearly dont see why we must follow suit. Arent you excited in creating and forging our own unique identity as Singaporeans with a new political system, world class citizens, vibrant economy, jobs aplenty, peace and stability throughout the nation? This is our very own country!![]()
trust me... dat's becos u have doubt n feel insecure if WP took over. last time when pap was opposition party n when we gain independence, most of us also said dat we cant survive... but we did!Originally posted by TooFree:Examine it deeply. Japan and US have got a large market and technology driven economy. You can find differences in the nature of polices that determined the investors confidence in us since we are a small country with a small market.
However, we can still do with a never say die attitude by ensuring political stability in our country so that any misbehaving, crimes or strikes are quicky surpressed so that the companies investing here do not risk losing a day of earnings. By upgrading our citizens with higher-order skills to be first class are important criterion to fad off the competition from China labour market.
Are you saying we will lose law and order once we have more oppositions, say 5-15? This is not the communism era.Originally posted by TooFree:If in the event of executing a full blown democracy, law and order turns hay wire and investors get turn off by political instabilty and millions citizens lost jobs as a results. Would u still say that democracy is really an ideal system? Ironically, I am not an authoritarian but a democrat however I respect the law. The democratic process must live on but care have to be ensure that citizens do not vote for the wrong person who cannot perform in parliament it seem however that partial democracy works better in a small country like ours.
The control of media and is not without merits in this aspect to prevent full weightage of the cons of democracy in a small island like ours.
The ideal of transparency and democracy lies in revamping the political system itself without having to vote for ' riffraff ' into the parliament.
How about creating a completely new one off the shelf.Originally posted by lftwgr:New political system? What's so new about it? If you're talking benign dictatorships, there's already Peronism in Argentina.
I will not say how good or what great things the opposition will do for us, but here I am going to say what you will get when you vote the PXP into power again...Originally posted by TooFree:I clearly dont see why we must follow suit. Arent you excited in creating and forging our own unique identity as Singaporeans with a new political system, world class citizens, vibrant economy, jobs aplenty, peace and stability throughout the nation? This is our very own country!![]()
Hi Movingahead, I have read the above and came to a conclusion that there are alot of wolves out there. May I suggest you read things with a questioning mind and not a keen eye for colourful language. Not everything on the internet or published is fact. I can, sort of, understand if foreigners get their data wrong or misunderstand some of our policies, but I cannot understand how our own people that experience things on first hand can get simple facts so wrong. Amazing...Originally posted by movingahead:No transparency, no accountability of cos no proof.
If they can control media, ge to their favor,
What do you think they can do under-table?
And you know who control the law here.
And have you heard of defamation political suits in other nations?
Do not look at things on superficial level.
Read more. Question more.
The Age : International look at the Singapore elections
http://www.theage.com.au/news/business/singapores-farcical-election-undermines-its-achievements/2006/05/02/1146335732352.htmlurl
Singapore Review: Legitimized Corruption understood in Singapore
http://www.aseannewsnetwork.com/2005/07/singapore-review-legitimized.html
The Incestous World Of Singapore's State Runned Enterprises
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Sg_Review/message/2360
Singapore ranks low in press freedom index
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=189017
Read more on Sgforum. Dun take things on superficial level.
No wonder our education is failing.![]()
Originally posted by caramon.:The way you gave your argument on government policies, meritocracy and law and order is radical. If you can think of nine ways to show your dislike for the government, I would gladly suggest you put your head to solve not whine problems instead.
I will not say how good or what great things the opposition will do for us, but here I am going to say what you will get when you vote the PXP into power again...
Vote for PXP means:
1) You accept their system of government, a system of trampling on the basic civil rights of the citizens. You have no right to free speech, and that means criticisms will be censored, or worse, interpreted as defamatory and be charged. Even when you criticize court cases or its sentencing, you will be treated as contmpt of court, and be fined or jailed. In other countries, when their govt deliver poor performance or overtax their citizens, they are allowed to demonstrate and protest. Not in this system we have - you talk and you will be in trouble.
Freedom of speech vs law and order
2) You accept a system of stiff fiscal penalties, from paying ERP and COE, to buying and maintaining a public flat - either for reasons of "limited resource" to "market pricing" excuses. You will be so broke and in debt that in later life, retirement is something no longer availble to you. You will work until you drop dead.
Social welfarism vs Economic prgression
3) You accept a system of totalitarian rule, with laws to tell you how many children you should have based on your academic attainment, to freezing your CPF money based on your inability to manage your own retirement.
Population growth is essential for the nation on two aspect, the labour supply market and the defence of the nation. Are they without merits? I dont think so. CPF served to management your savings for you so that you get to enjoy a safe retirement in the later years in life.
4) You accept a system of state controlled media propaganda where only one side of the story is promoted, and television that shows monologues between the leaders and their citizens. Anything else will be censored.
Freedom of press vs law and order
5) You accept a system of non-functioning parliament - Members of Parliament, which you are going to elect as your voice in government, are not allowed to speak nor vote on your interest or welfare. No matter what the their party candidates promises you of "adding value in parliament" or to "help the poor and sick", they are prevented from doing so in parliament, for if they try to speak and vote on the peoples' behalf (that's their job, really) they will face party disciplinary action for not supporting all policy or law put forward by their party leader. What is the big deal, you ask. Well, it means in plain language, your voices are gagged in parliament, the nation's highest decision making assembly. It means you had been silenced by the government.
Adminstrative efficiency vs welfarism
6) You accept a system of non accountability to the people - from absense of tansparency of the country's reserve, to details of how many citizens lost their jobs or were downgraded in salary or rank. Nor is there independent audited figures to tell us how many foreigners we let in took away mid- to senior positions from citizen workers. You may sacrifice your years doing National Service, but this govt system do not protect your jobs, do not really subsidize your healthcare or govt built homes, and leave you out in the cold with media silence and parliamentary gag. They can grab numbers from thin air and publish them for public consumption, and with transparency lacking, you never know if the govt took you for a ride.
Political system accounting for greater transparency can be modified to achieved the same result without having to vote for the 'wrong' person into office.
7) You accept a system of unmoderated and excessive elitism in this govt system, where you get top posts from paper certificates and no measurement of their proficiency nor performance. In fact, these "elites" (some called them scholars) can get into parilament without a contest, get top public office positions without any relevant background, and continue to hold their posts without delivering any improvement to the public. Not only uou will be burdened with their generous financial rewards, you will also have to put up with their frequent cost increases that you, the public has to pay for.
The integrity of PAP candidates and their calibre are put through the toughest test by its predecessors to ensure the continuity of the party survival to get the best of the best for the people or for the good of the nation.
8 ) You elect a govt who when it comes to writing laws, or finalizing policies, do not have the obligation to ask the people, even if such laws and policies affect every citizens' lives. You elect a big-brother-knows-all govt who speaks of public feedbacks but never take them into consideration nor acted on them. Faulty policies and unfair laws were passed and who will suffer? It's YOU. Not the govt, not the elites who makes the decisions. Did they listen to you? Acted for your interest? Or did they put you in debt by squeezing your hard earned money by way of taxes, levies, penalties, HDB flats, CPF distortions, and fines?
NMP and adequate feedback channels are in place. By the way, will the government raise taxes purposely to make life difficult for her citizens. I dont think any government in the world does that.
9) You accept a Party lacking in integrity - when the leader push his son into office, put his relative to manage our national reserves, put his buddies to administer the laws, use public money for their party interests, punish and prevent free speech and criticisms, disallow their MPs to speak and act for the citizens, maintains an army of mercenaries, allows citizen to be incarcerated into a mental institution at the president's pleasure, sue opposition leaders into bankruptcies, character assassinate political opponents, pretending to be whiter-than-white rascals, and remove any contest to the presidency election.
Refer to point 7.
Get rid of the dictatorship.
Dude....they not THAT bad lah......Originally posted by caramon.:I will not say how good or what great things the opposition will do for us, but here I am going to say what you will get when you vote the PXP into power again...
Vote for PXP means:
1) You accept their system of government, a system of trampling on the basic civil rights of the citizens. You have no right to free speech, and that means criticisms will be censored, or worse, interpreted as defamatory and be charged. Even when you criticize court cases or its sentencing, you will be treated as contmpt of court, and be fined or jailed. In other countries, when their govt deliver poor performance or overtax their citizens, they are allowed to demonstrate and protest. Not in this system we have - you talk and you will be in trouble.
2) You accept a system of stiff fiscal penalties, from paying ERP and COE, to buying and maintaining a public flat - either for reasons of "limited resource" to "market pricing" excuses. You will be so broke and in debt that in later life, retirement is something no longer availble to you. You will work until you drop dead.
3) You accept a system of totalitarian rule, with laws to tell you how many children you should have based on your academic attainment, to freezing your CPF money based on your inability to manage your own retirement.
4) You accept a system of state controlled media propaganda where only one side of the story is promoted, and television that shows monologues between the leaders and their citizens. Anything else will be censored.
5) You accept a system of non-functioning parliament - Members of Parliament, which you are going to elect as your voice in government, are not allowed to speak nor vote on your interest or welfare. No matter what the their party candidates promises you of "adding value in parliament" or to "help the poor and sick", they are prevented from doing so in parliament, for if they try to speak and vote on the peoples' behalf (that's their job, really) they will face party disciplinary action for not supporting all policy or law put forward by their party leader. What is the big deal, you ask. Well, it means in plain language, your voices are gagged in parliament, the nation's highest decision making assembly. It means you had been silenced by the government.
6) You accept a system of non accountability to the people - from absense of tansparency of the country's reserve, to details of how many citizens lost their jobs or were downgraded in salary or rank. Nor is there independent audited figures to tell us how many foreigners we let in took away mid- to senior positions from citizen workers. You may sacrifice your years doing National Service, but this govt system do not protect your jobs, do not really subsidize your healthcare or govt built homes, and leave you out in the cold with media silence and parliamentary gag. They can grab numbers from thin air and publish them for public consumption, and with transparency lacking, you never know if the govt took you for a ride.
7) You accept a system of unmoderated and excessive elitism in this govt system, where you get top posts from paper certificates and no measurement of their proficiency nor performance. In fact, these "elites" (some called them scholars) can get into parilament without a contest, get top public office positions without any relevant background, and continue to hold their posts without delivering any improvement to the public. Not only uou will be burdened with their generous financial rewards, you will also have to put up with their frequent cost increases that you, the public has to pay for.
8 ) You elect a govt who when it comes to writing laws, or finalizing policies, do not have the obligation to ask the people, even if such laws and policies affect every citizens' lives. You elect a big-brother-knows-all govt who speaks of public feedbacks but never take them into consideration nor acted on them. Faulty policies and unfair laws were passed and who will suffer? It's YOU. Not the govt, not the elites who makes the decisions. Did they listen to you? Acted for your interest? Or did they put you in debt by squeezing your hard earned money by way of taxes, levies, penalties, HDB flats, CPF distortions, and fines?
9) You accept a Party lacking in integrity - when the leader push his son into office, put his relative to manage our national reserves, put his buddies to administer the laws, use public money for their party interests, punish and prevent free speech and criticisms, disallow their MPs to speak and act for the citizens, maintains an army of mercenaries, allows citizen to be incarcerated into a mental institution at the president's pleasure, sue opposition leaders into bankruptcies, character assassinate political opponents, pretending to be whiter-than-white rascals, and remove any contest to the presidency election.
Get rid of the dictatorship.
Hi Caramon., is civil disobedience a hallmark of true democracy? What does a demonstration serve that a debate cannot achieve? Have you seen an activist actually admit that he/she is wrong?Originally posted by caramon.:Friend. What the WP said to the PAP are quite mild. How long have you lived in a truly 1st world democratic country like US, UK and AU.
I bet you wont say the same thing after you have seen it for yourself. I experience it and it change my mind of a true democratic society. I dont need to be 100% compliance to it but we are not even 50% close to it.
Have you seen a peaceful demostration before. I did experience it with my own eyes. I not advocating it but I think it is not as bad as everyone think.
Only a 3rd world country do not have opposition party and independent press.
Originally posted by TooFree:I'm sorry to say TooFree, that is a rather bad reply.
[b]If you can think of nine ways to show your dislike for the government, I would gladly suggest you put your head to solve not whine problems instead.[/b]
Hi Blue Dolphin,Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Hi Movingahead, I have read the above and came to a conclusion that there are alot of wolves out there. May I suggest you read things with a questioning mind and not a keen eye for colourful language. Not everything on the internet or published is fact. I can, sort of, understand if foreigners get their data wrong or misunderstand some of our policies, but I cannot understand how our own people that experience things on first hand can get simple facts so wrong. Amazing...![]()
Hi Blue Dolphin, you may want to read what i wrote here.Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Hi Movingahead, I have read the above and came to a conclusion that there are alot of wolves out there. May I suggest you read things with a questioning mind and not a keen eye for colourful language. Not everything on the internet or published is fact. I can, sort of, understand if foreigners get their data wrong or misunderstand some of our policies, but I cannot understand how our own people that experience things on first hand can get simple facts so wrong. Amazing...![]()
Originally posted by TooFree:he one people how to solve? you think pm lee is one people came up with all the policy? same also for oppo, their people so little. want to solve also must see the majority will veto or not.
[b]The way you gave your argument on government policies, meritocracy and law and order is radical. If you can think of nine ways to show your dislike for the government, I would gladly suggest you put your head to solve not whine problems instead.[/b]