How do you prove the intention to lie?Originally posted by sbst275:You missed out a lot
CCTV no voice, they took CNA's video
Actually, lying to a civil servant is good enough to put you in jail
He did not submit yet said he did submit a form which he did not need to fillOriginally posted by kilua:How do you prove the intention to lie?
Anything you say that ends up recorded, can be made against you in courtOriginally posted by Aveme:i do not understand why do you want to 100% assume that it is lying?
Do you mean that it is not possible he had truely forgotten and thought that he did so he told the staff that he did (yes his fault for forgetting and did not clarify his fact first,but can anyone of you tell me that you had never forgotten anything yourself and did not get facts right b4 speaking?)
He had already apologized for making this mistake of forgetting and causing confusion and distress to the staff.Is that not enough?
And if there is specific speech recording saying that he threaten specific actions (and not just saying there is consequences) why did the police not arrest him much earily and put up a convincing implication of Gomez during election time instead of just bombarding him? It shows that they do not have conclusive proof so stop your assumption ok if even the police cannot have conclusive proof)
there is consequences does not means specifically towards the staff?Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Ah.. you missed the punchline.... which is something like... raise one finger, look sternly at the public servant (Mr Ricky Tan, now quite famous) and say "there will be consequences".
If he had said something like what Terminator had said to the police.."I'll be back"... then it is ok.
Well, if it was indeed for emergency purpose that he gets the minority certificate, then Ms Slyvia Lim shot him dead by saying there was no intend for him to contest anywhere except Aljunied.
My personal take/speculation/coffeeshop talk of the matter is that he found out that he had not submitted the application form sometime later in the day, knew he did not need the certificate, remembered that the cameramen filmed him filling up the form at election department AND saw an opportunity to take a cheap shot/revenge at the election department for saboing him the last election (you know his history right) and decide to "take the shot"/FIX the election department. Thus the "wayang" comment.
Bad news, forgot to check for security camera(s) and Oooooppssss! Sorry, yep will check, thanks for your precious time, see you next year, hope you did not take my threat seriously, i was just testing to see if you are alert....
Originally posted by sbst275:This is stupid.
[b]WP's Gomez detained over Elections Department complaint
Said Mr Lee, "When I call a man openly, you're a liar, you're dishonest, and you do not dare to sue me, there's something basically wrong. And I will repeat it anywhere and you can't go and say, oh, I have apologised; let's move on. Can you commit a dishonourable -- maybe even one which is against the law -- an illegal act and say, let's move on because I've apologised? You may move on but you're going to move on out of politics in time."
Think when election department files compliant, police investigates, if got enough evidence, it will be a criminal case. Civil case is between two persons or parties. When it involves penal code, then criminal case.Originally posted by BillyBong:As i understand from the dialect news, he was summoned to Cantoment place, not arrested.
The boys in blue are just trying to scare him....not enough evidence to charge him, and if they make it a civil case, then it is up to the elections committee to sue, not anyone else.
whatever,everything is based on AssumptionOriginally posted by sbst275:He did not submit yet said he did submit a form which he did not need to fill
This link shows who needs to apply for the cert: http://www.elections.gov.sg/types_electoral.htm#2Originally posted by Aveme:whatever,everything is based on Assumption
What is interpreted by the PAP is only one of a few assumption
It is also possible that he truely did forget and thought he did but did not check properly and spoke b4 getting his fact right
It is also possible that he may had needed that form incase there is last minutes changes that result in WP making last minute changes to election teams in different areas (and which may then needed him to get the cert)
So there can be a few assumption,how can you prove that the version assumed by the PAP is correct?
Originally posted by Aveme:there is consequences does not means specifically towards the staff?
consequences could also be taken to mean that it could affect WP's plans?
depends on how you interpret it,how can you take it to mean that it specifically means it is used as a threat? Gomez did not mentioned specific actions that will be acted upon to harm the staff (that is then threatening),he just say that there could be consequences and ask them to double check and call him later
There is no intent to field him in one area for election does not means that something could not happen in the last min and he had to be asked to top up another team?Ever heard of Plan B in planning?
You might have missed it because this thread moves very quickly, but there were two posts which mentioned that Low Thia Khiang made all his minority candidates obtain certs in case they wanted to switch them around.Originally posted by sbst275:He did not submit yet said he did submit a form which he did not need to fill
He already said Gomez was decided to go to AljuniedOriginally posted by MrIllusion:You might have missed it because this thread moves very quickly, but there were two posts which mentioned that Low Thia Khiang made all his minority candidates obtain certs in case they wanted to switch them around.
so answer my question?Originally posted by sbst275:This link shows who needs to apply for the cert: http://www.elections.gov.sg/types_electoral.htm#2
Accuse for all you wantOriginally posted by kilua:sbst275 reminds me of Salman....
Got meh... still there leh.Originally posted by kilua:Strange Straits times removed the link
Why make things like he really like a bad guy...Originally posted by sbst275:Anything you say that ends up recorded, can be made against you in court
Arrest him earlier? If he has to withdraw, it would be up to the High Court to decide whether to admit a 4 man team... There are legal complications either
As i understand from what i read somewhere,he is based outside of singapore (aka he is working in sweden),so he is just leaving to go back to his normal job,i do not see anything wrong if this is so? People have to go back to his normal life?Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Me no lawyer so can only TCSS (talk cock sing song). I suppose if the civil servant felt threaten then can loh. Its like if someone sends me an email says watch out, if I take it to mean watch this space for more development than ok loh. If I take it as watch where I go for kopi then it is a threat lor... again me no lawyer so only can TCSS.
Anyway, what kind of candidate leaves the country within 24 hours of announcing GE result. Don't see Eric Low do that, right. I think this is kind of strange.
I find this statement a bit of a stretch as well. He's basically saying that if you don't do what I would have done in the same situation, you're guilty. Pretty unreasonable line of thought.Originally posted by ObviousMan:Said Mr Lee, "When I call a man openly, you're a liar, you're dishonest, and you do not dare to sue me, there's something basically wrong. "
He's working in the European Union.Originally posted by Aveme:As i understand from what i read somewhere,he is based outside of singapore (aka he is working in sweden),so he is just leaving to go back to his normal job,i do not see anything wrong if this is so? People have to go back to his normal life?
what part of LTK's press release about getting the forms for ALL the candidates did you not understand?Originally posted by sbst275:Accuse for all you want
Cos WP said what your wanted to hear
So when ELD said Aljunied is needed is a Malay, your dun believe...
Fine...
When you can get eskimos to buy ice from you, then you would have fulfilled the most basic requirement to reply sbst275.Originally posted by LazerLordz:what part of LTK's press release about getting the forms for ALL the candidates did you not understand?
and the line of reasoning given by LKY?Hardly close to a judicial opinion.