with this kind of stupidity running around and endorsed, it's better that we all leave and watch those who silently condone it, sink together with the system la.Originally posted by ditzy:When you can get eskimos to buy ice from you, then you would have fulfilled the most basic requirement to reply sbst275.![]()
SINGAPORE : James Gomez, the man at the centre of a controversy with the Elections Department over a minority candidate certificate, has been detained by police.2.Why he leave spore right after GE?He think he will lose?
In a statement, police said they were investigating after receiving a complaint against Mr Gomez from the Elections Department.
Mr Gomez was stopped at Changi Airport on Sunday afternoon and prevented from leaving for Sweden.
Channel NewsAsia understands his passport and boarding pass have been confiscated.
Mr Gomez was taken to the Police Cantonment Complex at 4pm to have his statement taken.
During the hustings, Mr Gomez was embroiled in a controversy over his application for a minority candidate certificate.
He claimed to have submitted an application at the Elections Department, but security camera footage showed otherwise.
People's Action Party leaders later accused Mr Gomez of trying to discredit the Elections Department by claiming its staff had misplaced his form.
In a statement, Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng had charged that Mr Gomez stage-managed the entire episode from the start.
Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew called Mr Gomez a liar, a charge he repeated on Sunday before police confirmed they had detained the Workers' Party candidate.
Said Mr Lee, "When I call a man openly, you're a liar, you're dishonest, and you do not dare to sue me, there's something basically wrong. And I will repeat it anywhere and you can't go and say, oh, I have apologised; let's move on. Can you commit a dishonourable -- maybe even one which is against the law -- an illegal act and say, let's move on because I've apologised? You may move on but you're going to move on out of politics in time."
Mr Lee said that whether other Workers' Party members connived at Mr Gomez's doings was a matter still to be determined.
Meanwhile, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong was asked to comment on Mr Gomez's detention during his victory parade in Ang Mo Kio.
Mr Lee said he was not aware of what had happened, since the Elections Department filed a police report against Mr Gomez.
He said the matter was now in the hands of police.
At about 8pm, Workers' Party chairman Sylvia Lim and the party's defeated candidate in Ang Mo Kio GRC, Lee Wai Leng, were seen entering the police headquarters.
It is believed they are helping with investigations. - CNA /ct
Hmm.... Plan B theory....Originally posted by Aveme:so answer my question?
If a certain needed indian candiate in another team suddenly falls seriously ill and one is needed to replace him,a plan B implemented b4 hand to ensure that there is replacement is not a legit plan they could make?
Originally posted by lionnoisy:Read up and do more research about him instead of listening to the crap that is our national media la.
CNA confimed james gomex has been detained,2300h ,sunday 07.may.
channel 8 mentioned lee wai ling? went to police
to assist investigation.
[b]Gomez detained over Elections Department complaint-Sunday May 7, 10:17 PM.2003
2.Why he leave spore right after GE?He think he will lose?
If he win,how he serves ?[/b]
whether or not it put a dent on WP's credibility does not come into the picture here.It is still a possible plan that could be done for really emergency cases.Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Hmm.... Plan B theory....
WP A team in Aljunied... so even if AMK Indian candidate falls seriously ill, then move A team member to AMK suicide squad and fill A team with another standby.... possible but this will put a dent on WP credibility of having serious candidate.....
So, the question will then be "Weaken A team to fill suicide squad or get another Indian to fill suicide squad or field suicide squad next GE ?"
Hmmm.... Plan B possible for A team, not likely for suicide squad... of course, I am just a dolphin..... splash....
If pap had backup plans, no one will question them one, when someone has a backup plan, 7/9 days are spent talking about it.Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Hmm.... Plan B theory....
WP A team in Aljunied... so even if AMK Indian candidate falls seriously ill, then move A team member to AMK suicide squad and fill A team with another standby.... possible but this will put a dent on WP credibility of having serious candidate.....
So, the question will then be "Weaken A team to fill suicide squad or get another Indian to fill suicide squad or field suicide squad next GE ?"
Hmmm.... Plan B possible for A team, not likely for suicide squad... of course, I am just a dolphin..... splash....
There is nothing wrong for anyone to go back to work after GE. I am working on some stuff now. Just that this chap is suppose to be a potential member of Parliament leh, ask Aljunied GRC resident to vote for him leh, suppose to help the poor and solve their day to day problem, speak for those that cannot speak leh, I just find it kind of strange to kiss kiss bye bye so soon.Originally posted by Aveme:As i understand from what i read somewhere,he is based outside of singapore (aka he is working in sweden),so he is just leaving to go back to his normal job,i do not see anything wrong if this is so? People have to go back to his normal life?
Then did you went to their rally?Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:There is nothing wrong for anyone to go back to work after GE. I am working on some stuff now. Just that this chap is suppose to be a potential member of Parliament leh, ask Aljunied GRC resident to vote for him leh, suppose to help the poor and solve their day to day problem, speak for those that cannot speak leh, I just find it kind of strange to kiss kiss bye bye so soon.
Not sure Aljunied GRC residents know he is based overseas when they go to vote. So much talk about understanding the people, feel for the people. Kind of not walking the talk leh.
But I am only speculating, there could very well be an emergency/urgent matter for him to go back to Sweden. Also not fair to say this when he has not the chance to speak his side of the story. Think we wait and see hor
Aiyo, I think everyone got backup plan leh. But the backup plan has to make sense mah. If you plan for birthday party at birdpark, when it rain, the back up plan is to move indoor and unlikely to change it to fashion show hor.Originally posted by ditzy:If pap had backup plans, no one will question them one, when someone has a backup plan, 7/9 days are spent talking about it.![]()
Think and you will see it is perfectly logical. It's called throwing a red herring..Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Aiyo, I think everyone got backup plan leh. But the backup plan has to make sense mah. If you plan for birthday party at birdpark, when it rain, the back up plan is to move indoor and unlikely to change it to fashion show hor.
Just not very likely for someone to break team A to back up suicide squad lor. Where got world cup team break up to back up standby people, bookies will go bananas and dolphin will flip.
Brother, the news is carried by Associate Press(AP) and Reuters, hope you also be abit objective lah. Let's not get too emotional about this. Wait and see lor. At this moment, there is papa and mama Gomez more worried than us to have the truth and also Mr Low and Ms Slyvia Lim to take care of him. Don't think in this day and age we can supress information, right?Originally posted by Aveme:And yes i think we should be object in this case,but i doubt our biased media will give us any accurate picture of what he will say
The trend each election is that the most brilliant AP member gets into trouble, be it for their credentials or intellect.Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Brother, the news is carried by Associate Press(AP) and Reuters, hope you also be abit objective lah. Let's not get too emotional about this. Wait and see lor. At this moment, there is papa and mama Gomez more worried than us to have the truth and also Mr Low and Ms Slyvia Lim to take care of him. Don't think in this day and age we can supress information, right?
I think like you, it started with a red herring.... but somehow either he over did it or decided to take a cheap shot/take revenge against the election department and kenna caught on CCTV and CNA camera threatening people.... Difficult to know intend, also difficult to prove intend but the act of threatening kenna recorded.... siao liao!!!Originally posted by LazerLordz:Think and you will see it is perfectly logical. It's called throwing a red herring..![]()
well i did not know which press is giving coverage now but the way the election was covered had pissed me off with their bias.If it is supressing of information,it is already done in a pretty good way in singapore,so well guess no more point to talk about this until more concrete news come out.Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Brother, the news is carried by Associate Press(AP) and Reuters, hope you also be abit objective lah. Let's not get too emotional about this. Wait and see lor. At this moment, there is papa and mama Gomez more worried than us to have the truth and also Mr Low and Ms Slyvia Lim to take care of him. Don't think in this day and age we can supress information, right?
Oh no! My hot babe is at cantonment too? Now I worry....Originally posted by ditzy:Ms Sylvia lim also at cantonment st, so now left only Mr low to take care of both of them.![]()
PLEASE DO NOT POST ANY LINKS TO CNA! THANK YOU.Originally posted by dork3d:[url]
Point finger very threatening?Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:I think like you, it started with a red herring.... but somehow either he over did it or decided to take a cheap shot/take revenge against the election department and kenna caught on CCTV and CNA camera threatening people.... Difficult to know intend, also difficult to prove intend but the act of threatening kenna recorded.... siao liao!!!
I no lawyer hor, so better leave to lawyer to see if his act constitute threat or not lor...
Not only her, lee wai meng also, the amk hopeful.Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:Oh no! My hot babe is at cantonment too? Now I worry....![]()
Glenda going too?Originally posted by ditzy:Not only her, lee wai meng also, the amk hopeful.![]()
You have no right to call yourself a Singaporean.Get your arguments out of our sight..what a load of elementary matter..don't try to insult our intelligence la.Originally posted by newmanmback:if u r ill on that day and yr party wins...never mind no need to be there to show your face. one man short on stage but when it is time for you to start working for the constituency i am sure yr illness will be over...less u are a vampire or got aids or what...ill okay...an unforeseen circumstance...get someone to drive u there..show face...chiam see thong that night victorious can see he very tired...and other WP members also can see very 'shag' they arguah or not...no excuse...what could happen to a minority race candidates...dun WP have any replacement in their ranks....why scared JFK incident or someone will shoot u ijjit? or u pregant ijjit on that day? i scare orso lily neo or glenda that day preganant i made one how anyone chiobu to replace them?
dun threaten the legal system runners and u know 'ppl' are very particular about candidates with foreign backups. one good example is GY Juan. such ppl must not be allowed to toy with our legal system and how we run it. the police takes action from compliants by the Elections Department. we hav 'someone' now very free to play with anyone trying to be funny so dun try to be funny. like he said..."sue me leh, sue me leh" cannot meh...so typical of foreigners i encounter before like to say orso "sue me leh sue me leh" ..even PM asked what happen he also babodoh....JG like to stage movie..pappy also like to stage movie.
go to court lah.....we may have some surplus of the taxpayers' money for this legal persuit mah
i want a good show from MM after election no more show no nice
yes there's noplace for playing arounf Elections...and the Elections department are not playing also...they are taking actions because their father wanted to so dun play play...anyway right will always win...if JG is right no need to pray for him he will be say and sound and flying to his homeland in no time no need to worry.Originally posted by LazerLordz:You have no right to call yourself a Singaporean.Get your arguments out of our sight..what a load of elementary matter..don't try to insult our intelligence la.
There is NO place for playing around in the elections, understand?