LOL yes it affect everyone but the most critical part is that it affect the poor the most so that is why the part of lowering the cost of living should be focus on this group to see if maybe only a limited lowering of cost of living can be done for this group as it is a forgone conclusion that it is almost impossible to control the cost of living for everyone in singapore since prices will surely have to increase as time goes byOriginally posted by sbst275:Rising cost of living affects everyone, not just the poor
The poor, time changes, ppl also change
There are also comfortable living ppl that ends up poor because of all these
The poor they are trying their best to help them in terms of utility bills and S&C charges... Of course defintely more can be doneOriginally posted by Aveme:LOL yes it affect everyone but the most critical part is that it affect the poor the most so that is why the part of lowering the cost of living should be focus on this group to see if maybe only a limited lowering of cost of living can be done for this group as it is a forgone conclusion that it is almost impossible to control the cost of living for everyone in singapore since prices will surely have to increase as time goes by
i doubt PAP is doing their best,if that is their best,the PAP had failed.If not why do you see so many old uncle and aunties picking stuff to sell,and working till 80+ or worst work until they die? I would prefer to think the PAP is not doing their best now and more could be doneOriginally posted by sbst275:The poor they are trying their best to help them in terms of utility bills and S&C charges... Of course defintely more can be done
In fact, the people those cannot afford to pay electricity bill numbering about 10000 kena given card something similar to ez-link whenever they haveOriginally posted by sbst275:The poor they are trying their best to help them in terms of utility bills and S&C charges... Of course defintely more can be done
You doubt?Originally posted by Aveme:i doubt PAP is doing their best,if that is their best,the PAP had failed.If not why do you see so many old uncle and aunties picking stuff to sell,and working till 80+ or worst work until they die? I would prefer to think the PAP is not doing their best now and more could be done
I met one old man before working as security n he mentioned staying at home can be so boring facing the four wall n he chose to go to work.Originally posted by sbst275:You doubt?
The prob we are facing is like Japan, those from the baby booming years are going to become orang tuas yet the younger population is shrinking in %...
Actually, at times it's good to work, can you imagine at your retirement years to be whole day facing the HDB flat walls either?
That scheme also has it's limitation, but things of course can be reviewed and done better, but 1 thing, always there can be another better and better as time goes byOriginally posted by will4:In fact, the people those cannot afford to pay electricity bill numbering about 10000 kena given card something similar to ez-link whenever they have
moeny can pay back. What is S & C charges?
Usually those things I believe are mainly from PRCOriginally posted by will4:I met one old man before working as security n he mentioned staying at home can be so boring facing the four wall n he chose to go to work.
Those selling stuff could they be form other countries?
Not necessaryOriginally posted by king108:I respect those that can afford to buy good things. Don't be like me, alway goes for unwanted things..when most of you see it as no standard..
Good things must be expensive...I always admire those can afford from a distance..![]()
Don't influence me..cause I cannot affort to be like you..![]()
Remember this is an open market with standard applied. Don't cheat yourself when you are buying cheap things..cause it can't be good..![]()
Yes i doubt cos given the huge ego boosting message given to the people on how good they are,the situation on cost of living for this segment is not solved,so either they are not that as good as what they claims to be or they had not tried their best yet,i would prefer it to be the latterOriginally posted by sbst275:You doubt?
The prob we are facing is like Japan, those from the baby booming years are going to become orang tuas yet the younger population is shrinking in %...
Actually, at times it's good to work, can you imagine at your retirement years to be whole day facing the HDB flat walls either?
Which is why I mentioned they could do more, and learn to listen more to such issues like cost of livingOriginally posted by Aveme:Yes i doubt cos given the huge ego boosting message given to the people on how good they are,the situation on cost of living for this segment is not solved,so either they are not that as good as what they claims to be or they had not tried their best yet,i would prefer it to be the latter
there is a big big difference between working for a living and working to pass time and to stay active.Retirement does not means only facing walls,there are still other stuff our retiree can do.
there there there,assumptions again.assumptions without giving the benefit of the doubt that those could really be singaporeans.Originally posted by sbst275:Usually those things I believe are mainly from PRC
assumptions assumptionsOriginally posted by will4:I met one old man before working as security n he mentioned staying at home can be so boring facing the four wall n he chose to go to work.
You know what I'm talking abt?? It's those kou yok those folks are selling seen near the marketsOriginally posted by Aveme:there there there,assumptions again.assumptions without giving the benefit of the doubt that those are really singaporeans.
If the govt also take your assumption to be true,they will do nothing to help since they will think it is really the PRC who are picking up things to sell.
I highly doubt old aunties and uncles you see everyday at coffee shop and hawker centers come all the way from PRC to pick stuff here to sell or for that matter since they are so old and are very unlikely to be able to contribute significantly to our economy,why did the govt allowed them to come here in the first place?
The case of "foreign talent" gone really wrong?
Looks like you are getting too held up againOriginally posted by Aveme:there there there,assumptions again.assumptions without giving the benefit of the doubt that those are really singaporeans.
If the govt also take your assumption to be true,they will do nothing to help since they will think it is really the PRC who are picking up things to sell.
I highly doubt old aunties and uncles you see everyday at coffee shop and hawker centers come all the way from PRC to pick stuff here to sell or for that matter since they are so old and are very unlikely to be able to contribute significantly to our economy,why did the govt allowed them to come here in the first place?
The case of "foreign talent" gone really wrong?
i quote you again,this is not what you said just now,just now you said those are mostly PRCOriginally posted by sbst275:Looks like you are getting too held up again
Those old folks are locals... You think elderly can come to SG and live as PRs easily if they are not here to work?
so now you are saying they are locals instead of PRC?
Originally posted by sbst275:
Usually those things I believe are mainly from PRC
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Didn't will said abt the products that they are selling and I replied they could possibly be imported from PRC?Originally posted by Aveme:so now you are saying they are locals instead of PRC?
Then did you know what i talked about just now? i specifically referred to those old aunties and uncles seen picking up stuff to see,not the group you are referring to.Originally posted by sbst275:You know what I'm talking abt?? It's those kou yok those folks are selling seen near the markets
Dun forget, we are a free port.. Anything can be imported thru PSA Terminals
Of course anything that's legalOriginally posted by Aveme:Then did you know what i talked about just now? i specifically referred to those old aunties and uncles seen picking up stuff to see,not the group you are referring to.
wooo can i import some guns and drugs in?![]()
will did not say that,this is what will4 saidOriginally posted by sbst275:Didn't will said abt the products that they are selling and I replied they could possibly be imported from PRC?
I met one old man before working as security n he mentioned staying at home can be so boring facing the four wall n he chose to go to work.He is saying those who are selling stuff,could they be from other countries,but nvm his english was not presented in a clear way so you had misunderstood what he said
Wait for him to clarrify 1stOriginally posted by Aveme:He is saying those who are selling stuff,could they be from other countries,but nvm his english was not presented in a clear way so you had misunderstood what he said
I strongly trust the PAP can fix the problem. Remember, PAP got thru the tough tiime in year 2000.Originally posted by dragg:now that PAP has gotten the strong mandate that they relished what are the things that they should or can do to lower the standard of living?
for a start i think they should remove the water conservation tax.
Originally posted by sh koh:LOL PAP "got thru" year 2000 at the expense of US,the people,pay cut,cpf cut,everything cut but cost rise.How can you say PAP had gotten thru when in the first place it created the future problem that PAP has to face now,so PAP had not got thru it yet.
I strongly trust the PAP can fix the problem. Remember, PAP got thru the tough tiime in year 2000.[b][/b]
Is there a lot of people buying it?Originally posted by sbst275:Not necessary
Like the 5kg Look detergent, cost abt $9.50... Seems ex, but they give you 1 bottle of 750ml Mama dishwashing liq that cost $2.80 for Free and giving you add 750gm of powder
Things sometimes dun go for value, but the content