Organ-grinder's monkeys.Originally posted by dragg:i find it amusing watching table tennis competitions.
for example, singapore vs one of the angmoh countries.
all the players are chinese, but chinese from china. it is like watching china vs china. they are all imported talents.
so what if we won the competition? or even if the angmoh country won?
When I joined my present company, I have in mind to tap on my company's resources to go international in the racing scene be it bike or car with the Singaporean flag. But the government doesn't seem to be supportive either when I keep seeing the foreigners spilling in. We must remember, if we can buy their loyalty, others can too.Originally posted by dragg:i find it amusing watching table tennis competitions.
for example, singapore vs one of the angmoh countries.
all the players are chinese, but chinese from china. it is like watching china vs china. they are all imported talents.
so what if we won the competition? or even if the angmoh country won?
which is why, many atimes, the foreigners get the jobs instead of the locals.Originally posted by dragg:i think it stems from their innate misconception that only foreigners can do things better.
Yes, although these foreign scholars are bonded by contracts, most of them, after completing their studies in S'pore, can successfully find a company willing to employ them and pay for the penalties back in their own country or other countries. Of course, you cannot blame there foreigners. Their lack of sense of belonging is perfectly reasonable. Therefore its time the government should consider whether or not theres a better way to make foreign tallents they nurture stay in SingaporeOriginally posted by equlus84:Dats wat I was thinking all along. We scorn those local scholars for breaking bonds and working in other countries, labelling them as quitters, while here we are getting throngs of Indian and Chinese nationals in our local tertiary institutions.
They are given free food, lodging, laptops, and a monthly allowance of 500 dollars. While our students of NTU and NUS are suffering from the price hike in the tution fees, the scholars GET IT FOR FREE. While male students go for reservist during school vacation, they go home and play. THE BEST IS AFTER THEY GRADUATE, MANY DO NOT PLAN TO STAY.
Even my PRC classmates in NTU are bewildered by why our govt so kind to give them free education when they jolly well know they dun want to stay
If you urge our government to make the grass here in Singapore "greener" for foreigners to stay, we will be overwhelmed by the increased in foreigners studying, living, and some getting married in Singapore. Then where will we stand as locals??? They take our jobs, compete in locally businesses, take up seats in universities, what's left for us locals??Originally posted by chenc:Yes, although these foreign scholars are bonded by contracts, most of them, after completing their studies in S'pore, can successfully find a company willing to employ them and pay for the penalties back in their own country or other countries. Of course, you cannot blame there foreigners. Their lack of sense of belonging is perfectly reasonable. Therefore its time the government should consider whether or not theres a better way to make foreign tallents they nurture stay in Singapore
Originally posted by Wind6:i just dun understand y the need the to import foreign sports player rather than nurture our local ppl. it may take time to nurture local talents but at least he/she will have the heart to play for OUR OWN COUNTRY! Money is not everything. (this is the first time i type a paragraph)![]()
Then skip the ones we r not gd at thenOriginally posted by king108:Please lah, typical singaporean are slightly short legged although they may look tall. Those that had long leg with nice shape and face will be modelling..while wanted to do all this.
Nothing to do with heart. Typical singaporean are no talented in running and playing balls. So naturally must get foreigners who are good at playing balls with extra good in running as added value.
Must ask which one we are good at while other cannot compete?Originally posted by Wind6:Then skip the ones we r not gd at then.
Originally posted by equlus84:Wad I realise is up to this day, we still harbour the foreigner superiority mentality. For example, science and technological break thru can onli be achieve by ang moh or at best Indian or Chinese nationals. I have seen mani ppls defending the govt foreign talent policy by saying Singapore is a immigrant society. It's ppls are actually migrants from China or India in the early 1800s. But the foreigner we are attracting are those 'fair weathered' foreigners. When the going is good, when their pay is high, lots of incentives, they will come.......but wat if there is a recession, war, will they still stay?
I fear that Singapore may one day degrade into an extent in which ppls just view this ppls as a hotel, or a gold mine, in which the foreigners extract all the goodness here and just leave when the game is over.
SOS!!
Foreign "talents"?
Published by Singapore Election.
Just look at these figures!
From ExpatSingapore Forum
Expatriate Salary:
Investment Banker - Director 300k + bonus (100% last yr)
Controlling - AVP 130 + bonus (25%-35%)
managing director of ad agency: $500k + 14 months bonus + $15K housing allowance + company car (BMW 6 series)
Title: regional business development manager; Industry: Shipping / Logistics; Salary/benefits: S$150K + S$25K bonus
$200K + $24K + $60K bonus, Invest Bank
CEo - Major Charity Annual Salary (without huge bonuses); S$600,000
BE MBA from India (10+ yrs MNC) $200k + $72k + 25-50%
Expatriate Typical housing allowance (per month):
$2500, regional sales role
analyst S$3k
assoc S$4-5k
Vice President S$8-10k, $12k
Director S$10-12k
Managing Director S$15k
Local Contract Plus?
Extract from expat site (noted by someone in Sammyboy's forum):
Hello,
I know this topic has been covered many times on this forum already, however I'd like some advice on the salary package my company has offered me to transfer from to . The contract is described as a "local contract Plus". The offer is:-
Salary S$180K per year
Rent S$ 3,600 per month
Utilities & Maintenance S$ 1,200 per month.
would this package give a good standard of living for me, wife and 3 children (ages 5, 4 & 2).
Should I also trying to push for school fees as part of the package?
What other items should I try to include?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated
... there are in Singapore about a million Foreign Talents (580,000 legals and 350,000 illegals) This million represents a staggering 33% off the Singapore population of 3 million. It is an abnormal trend, even for developed countries such as UK, USA, Australia.etc. Their citizens will have voted their governments out, if the percentage of aliens crosses the 3% mark.
...the number of babies born per year in Singapore is 45,000 and the number of influxes of FT into Singapore is around 50,000 (Singapore Government released figures). Assuming that a Singapore child has to spend 20 years of his life, economically inactive ( schooling years plus National Service Commitments), there will be at the end of 20 years time, 900,000 new Singaporeans (naturalized citizens).
The total number of Foreign Talents within the same period, will be 1,000,000. If all these Foreign Talents, assumed to be above 21 years of age, were to take up Singapore citizenship at the end of their respective 5 years stay in Singapore, then there will be, within the stated time frame, 750,000 new inducted Singapore citizens. These inducted citizens are economically more productive than the emerging 20-year-old naturalized Singaporeans. Hence it does not take much intelligence to see that our 20 -year olds would be no match for the new breed of inducted Singaporeans. Our young will be displaced in every field. At some point of time, the influx of inducted citizens will exceed the number of naturalized Singaporeans.
The PAP Government must have foreseen the issue, otherwise it would not have encouraged naturalized Singaporeans to reproduce themselves at a faster rate. Given the factor that Singapore is extremely small, with only a population of 4 million, the cross over point could be realized in a very short period less, than 30 years. We have illustrated the scenario with a very simplistic outlook. The picture would be more grim if one realizes that with every FT that comes into Singapore, a foreign father, mother, and children will be tagging along not far behind.
... FTs, are always employed near the top rung of the corporate ladder. They thus can inflict much damage on the Singapore community. Take the case of John Olds. He screwed up Singaporeans through DBS policies. John Olds was given the boot but the PAP Government unfortunately sugar coated the sacking by giving the guy, millions. One wondered whether John perhaps knew too much and had to be bought off. He probably, is laughing all the way to the bank.
This is just one incident of an FT screw up. There could be many more, hidden away in Singapore Technologies Set-Ups or even within SingaporeÂ’s GIC. Rumours regarding mis-management abound. Some have yet to be duly explained by the PAP Government.
Billions of dollars can in fact be saved, if the FTs are only allowed in as pure tourists. The PAP's FT policy only benefits their own elites. They have paid themselves so high salaries, that to continue enjoying the benefits they have to bring in FT's to replace and displace Singaporeans. It is a sad state of affairs, when one sees that a husband and wife team of NTU or NUS Civil Engineers being only able to afford to purchase 4-room HDB Flats. Or for that matter an SIA First Officer Pilot only able to rent room and not purchase an HDB unit. And on record, the Singtel Top Executive is grumbling about his low salary of more than S$1,000,000/- per year. There are many Singaporeans who in their life time will not be able to earn a total of $1 million.
So do we, Singaporeans really lack talents or is PAP government just trying to exploit us? Don't we also deserve better things in life rather than living in HDB and slaving our lives away in NS? Why isn't government nuturing its own talents, instead they are letting them slip away and later label them as "quitters"?