you haven't met any manipulative people in overseas.....those that are psychic vampires......that prey on you to do their bidding....manipulative control..............Originally posted by Rock^Star:Dun understand what u mean dude. Kindly elaborate
We are safe from manipulative people? Hey I'm really not sure on this.Originally posted by gohkatkat:you haven't met any manipulative people in overseas.....those that are psychic vampires......that prey on you to do their bidding....manipulative control..............
i don;t like manipulative people and loud boistrous ones.........certainly although sg is small and seemingly worthless in the eyes of some.......to me....it has taught me a valuable lesson......it is COMPLETELY safe of manipulative people......safe from some PACIFIC rabid clowns..........this i am proud to see..........
be content with what you have........not to experience some tragedy is something to be grateful.........as the saying goes.....ignorance is bliss...........
you have chosen your path...so be it......
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Good Bye, and Good Luck then.
It's misery to stay in a country where I hate the PM.[/b]
Never give up citizenship don't count.Originally posted by TehJarVu:i have left twice and came back twice![]()
i still dunno yet.... ha.... i agree with rockstar on the reasons to stay... cos they will the reasons for me to go back.... reasons of not going back.... hmm... one big one for me (cos i super laid back!): dun wan to go back n always work OT again.... cant imagine how i tahan that kind of life last time... come on, life is not just abt WORK! singapore is always so bz.... everyone is always so bz....Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):i may return to S'pore one day......![]()
Originally posted by ellisbeck:Why the good-bye so fast?
Good Bye, and Good Luck then.
Do update us in future, when you indeed found pastures that are [b]completely greener than this side.[/b][/b]
effective loyalty stems from a political climate that is free and not controlled by one major faction.Originally posted by jaydunkfull:seems like National Education is not effective
or was it implemented too late?
Bye ByeOriginally posted by Rock^Star:Because:
1) We are under the "monopoly" of one party.
2) The papers and media in S'pore hardly report negative perspectives on S'pore. Social, political and economic reports on S'pore are rubbish half the time.
3) Transport fees increase all the time
4) The presence of peasants (who vote for the ruling party, give them a "mandate" and complain about GST increases, fare hikes etc)
5) The presence of civil servants who do not dare to vote against their bosses for fear of reprisals
6) The too bloody orderliness and cleanliness of this country
7) The lack of a union to fight on wage issuesThe lagging behind of the poor in relativeness to the cost of living
9) LHL becoming the PM because of his dad and not totally due to his merit
10) The preposterous way a HDB is priced and then taken back after 99 years (where's the transparency?)
11) Starhub charging PPV for the FIFA World Cup 2006 (If we pay now, you give them a "mandate", will they charge higher for Euro 2008?)
Reasons for staying:
1) This is where I grew up and all my memories stem from here
2) All my relatives and friends are here
3) It's rather safe, even at night
4) My parents are still alive
5) If S'pore gets invaded and that I still have the patriotism to carry arms to defend our soil
6) To await the day when an alternative govt appears
It's misery to stay in a country where I hate the PM.
people discriminate for a reason, either because you yourself demonstrate an isolationistic attitude and hang around only with asians or you have some weird nasty habits and other oddities that no matter what the colour of your skin is, be it purple or green, everyone will dislike you.Originally posted by nanren4ever:u go overseas, u will be treated like dirt too. U go ang moh countries, they will look at the colour of your skin and discriminate against u.
Oh yeh, i agree with our "Godfather". Don Vito, well saidOriginally posted by nanren4ever:u go overseas, u will be treated like dirt too. U go ang moh countries, they will look at the colour of your skin and discriminate against u. U go Asian countries, people stare at you and wanna kidnap u because they all think Singaporeans are rich. They will also hate u for taking their jobs away.
Stay because you want to, and not because of factors like family.
people discriminate you for the same reason Singaporeans discriminate against FT: they take away your jobsOriginally posted by vito_corleone:people discriminate for a reason, either because you yourself demonstrate an isolationistic attitude and hang around only with asians or you have some weird nasty habits and other oddities that no matter what the colour of your skin is, be it purple or green, everyone will dislike you.![]()
Without making judgements about the validity of those points, I would gladly accept these when compared to the troubles in other parts of the world.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Because:
1) We are under the "monopoly" of one party.
2) The papers and media in S'pore hardly report negative perspectives on S'pore. Social, political and economic reports on S'pore are rubbish half the time.
3) Transport fees increase all the time
4) The presence of peasants (who vote for the ruling party, give them a "mandate" and complain about GST increases, fare hikes etc)
5) The presence of civil servants who do not dare to vote against their bosses for fear of reprisals
6) The too bloody orderliness and cleanliness of this country
7) The lack of a union to fight on wage issuesThe lagging behind of the poor in relativeness to the cost of living
9) LHL becoming the PM because of his dad and not totally due to his merit
10) The preposterous way a HDB is priced and then taken back after 99 years (where's the transparency?)
11) Starhub charging PPV for the FIFA World Cup 2006 (If we pay now, you give them a "mandate", will they charge higher for Euro 2008?)
Reasons for staying:
1) This is where I grew up and all my memories stem from here
2) All my relatives and friends are here
3) It's rather safe, even at night
4) My parents are still alive
5) If S'pore gets invaded and that I still have the patriotism to carry arms to defend our soil
6) To await the day when an alternative govt appears
It's misery to stay in a country where I hate the PM.
I don't have that problem overseas. The key element is not everyone will like you whether in singapore and overseas. You just do your best to fit into their culture and do as the romans do .Originally posted by nanren4ever:u go overseas, u will be treated like dirt too. U go ang moh countries, they will look at the colour of your skin and discriminate against u. U go Asian countries, people stare at you and wanna kidnap u because they all think Singaporeans are rich. They will also hate u for taking their jobs away.
Stay because you want to, and not because of factors like family.
in a capitalist economy, the job goes to the best man. if you can't swallow this fact then you'd probably like to move to africa to hunt lions and the lot.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:people discriminate you for the same reason Singaporeans discriminate against FT: they take away your jobs
the same reason why some morons that claim they're being discriminated overseas is the same reason why some foreign students are being discriminated against here in singapore. they stick to their own clicks consisting only of their own folk, they blabber away loudly, refuse to adhere and respect local customs and such, refuse to even make an effort to assimilate or at least be more localised even when their own traditions and practices which they might value are not lost in the process.Originally posted by fymk:I don't have that problem overseas. The key element is not everyone will like you whether in singapore and overseas. You just do your best to fit into their culture and do as the romans do .
And in the same way local students who lose their uni places to better foreign students on scholarships should just shut up and suck thumb?Originally posted by vito_corleone:in a capitalist economy, the job goes to the best man. if you can't swallow this fact then you'd probably like to move to africa to hunt lions and the lot.![]()