Originally posted by Gedanken:Hmm. If you're going somewhere because you like the place, that's fine. If, on the other hand, you're going somewhere simply because you don't like where you are at the moment, you're off to a bad start.
Yeh gd point! Don't zao for the sake of zao-ing. Open ur eyes and see which country suits u.Originally posted by Gedanken:Hmm. If you're going somewhere because you like the place, that's fine. If, on the other hand, you're going somewhere simply because you don't like where you are at the moment, you're off to a bad start.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:are you anywhere near 50s? too soon to talk about what you "may" do in twenty years time, isn't it? that's why ppl got the impression you are leaving soon.
Yeh gd point! Don't zao for the sake of zao-ing. Open ur eyes and see which country suits u.
Another thing is...I figure I shd set the record staight regarding my first post. I have never said that I will leave now. I may leave S'pore in my 50s or 60s, [b]depending on circumstances. By that time, my parents may not be around anymore. I will also have amassed enough monetary reserves by then to ponder my options.
And for those who have said "bye bye" to me, I can't help but sense a tinge of sarcasm. It's ok. We are all shaped and evolved differently as we move along in life. [/b]
Ha i know u r disappointed with our largely "fair-weather then zao" attitudes here.Originally posted by sgdiehard:are you anywhere near 50s? too soon to talk about what you "may" do in twenty years time, isn't it? that's why ppl got the impression you are leaving soon.
The way things are going now, not sure what might happen over the next twenty years. Bird flu might wipe out a good part of the world population...hope not.
Pacific? Sounds like Hawaii? HahaOriginally posted by gohkatkat:i am aiming my speech at someone's comments earlier.....not quoting his anyway.....
let me reiterate this point..........the only reason people discriminate against you is beacuse you can't coexist with them.........or whatever kind of rubbish........
let me reinforce my concepts again...........i did remember wanting to join some weirdos from the pacific...............but then again....they weren't prepared to see your UGLY face.....your sotong face.....looks filthy and disgusting........hahahahaha they just throw you back to meet your own skin colour......hahahaha.......what subtle racism.........anyway
i did remember reading a book titled racism in the pacific........the worms from the pacific........and i read this statemet that intrigued me alot........."a quote from the book......not from my filthy mouth okay.......
quote:" the essential rise in racism is due to the fact that there are more than one or two groups of people living a different lifestyle"........
what a fabulous quote from the book of the pacific............
+1 existing to pay off all the loans.... and call that a success!Originally posted by pearlie27:yes, i would like to leave this place too!
we're not living here merely existing.
it is a good thing to start saving now, but with my current salary I can't be amassing reserves.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Ha i know u r disappointed with our largely "fair-weather then zao" attitudes here.
I'm in my late 20s, I'm already embarking on my personal programme to amass reserves. In short, I have an idea how i wana retire. Ur not gonna start when u reach there right? How r u gonna find the money? (unless ur ah sia kia)
Back to my first sentence.....let me assure all SGdiehards that i did not intentionally come to this state of thinking. I'm sure many of us here too. The litmus test is, "Are you willing to carry arms for S'pore if need be?" I am but i'm not willing to be led by the nose in a "monopolistic" country all my life.
Originally posted by casino_king:+1 existing to pay off all the loans.... and call that a success!![]()
Ha ok, don't worry my friend, i'm doing friendly banter with u, no aggression intended whatsoever.Originally posted by gohkatkat:amuse me........the pacific....please check up the dictionary before you challenge me......that will make me eat my pride .......but the pacific doesn't just consist of hawaii.......your facts are wrong.
oh btw....i didn;'t say which part of the pacific.....you can be right to say pacific.....but i am equally right to say you are wrong there.............sure about migration......i am sure there are tonnes of people who aren't successful also.....they just don;t want to say ..........but let me say this......although i may have some not nice expereiences.....but essentailly i have reflected all my hate back.......want to see how i SMASH my enemies to smitherins....?you won't want to see the horror to my dr jekyll and mr hyde side........trust me.....![]()
if fact you may revulse at it.......a clue.....give you this website about a blog from a girl.......that will enlighten you a bit.........
http://i-luv-xigua.blogspot.com/2005/09/rewarding-day.html![]()
Originally posted by sgdiehard:it is a good thing to start saving now, but with my current salary I can't be amassing reserves.I am in my 30s, have seen people got retrenched in their early 40s and never able to find another job, here, in australia and especially in USA. Better save now or later kena retrenched don't know how survive.
I know now I can't and won't migrate, got parents who will not get used to the foreign land, also not sure if I can get a better job there. Not sure about future.
But I do believe that as long as I am holding a singaporean passport, I have to be proud of being a singaporean, and protect singapore when needed. Many things take times to change, but if we decide we have no part in it, now or in the future, then whether things change or not it is of no concern to us. This applies to the political environment as well.
For this, I respect u for respecting my views even though u do not agree to a large extent![]()
Good luck and best wishes for your future.
Yes, i'm pathetic. Let me reiterate that i did not challenge u to a fight.Originally posted by gohkatkat:ur pathetic;.........![]()
before anyone challenges me to a fight......get the facts right.....as least it might save you from the shame that's humiliating........
OH god...that girl .....no comments lah..Originally posted by gohkatkat:amuse me........the pacific....please check up the dictionary before you challenge me......that will make me eat my pride .......but the pacific doesn't just consist of hawaii.......your facts are wrong.
oh btw....i didn;'t say which part of the pacific.....you can be right to say pacific.....but i am equally right to say you are wrong there.............sure about migration......i am sure there are tonnes of people who aren't successful also.....they just don;t want to say ..........but let me say this......although i may have some not nice expereiences.....but essentailly i have reflected all my hate back.......want to see how i SMASH my enemies to smitherins....?you won't want to see the horror to my dr jekyll and mr hyde side........trust me.....![]()
if fact you may revulse at it.......a clue.....give you this website about a blog from a girl.......that will enlighten you a bit.........
http://i-luv-xigua.blogspot.com/2005/09/rewarding-day.html![]()
how about yes?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:And in the same way local students who lose their uni places to better foreign students on scholarships should just shut up and suck thumb?![]()
I have no problem with that, so long as the playing field is level. Singaporean males have to give up 2-2.5 years of their prime for NS, PRs should also do the same. In a globalised economy, if you cannot compete, you lose out..period. But try telling that to the many who whine about the loss of jobs and uni places to foreigners.Originally posted by vito_corleone:how about yes?![]()
After you finish being a rock star, you will realise that Singapore is a good place to live.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Because:
1) We are under the "monopoly" of one party.
2) The papers and media in S'pore hardly report negative perspectives on S'pore. Social, political and economic reports on S'pore are rubbish half the time.
3) Transport fees increase all the time
4) The presence of peasants (who vote for the ruling party, give them a "mandate" and complain about GST increases, fare hikes etc)
5) The presence of civil servants who do not dare to vote against their bosses for fear of reprisals
6) The too bloody orderliness and cleanliness of this country
7) The lack of a union to fight on wage issuesThe lagging behind of the poor in relativeness to the cost of living
9) LHL becoming the PM because of his dad and not totally due to his merit
10) The preposterous way a HDB is priced and then taken back after 99 years (where's the transparency?)
11) Starhub charging PPV for the FIFA World Cup 2006 (If we pay now, you give them a "mandate", will they charge higher for Euro 2008?)
one question: are we living in a socialist country or a facist dictatorship with a capitalist economy? i'd say the latter. level playing field? handicapped? sorry this ain't cuba or swedenOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:I have no problem with that, so long as the playing field is level. Singaporean males have to give up 2-2.5 years of their prime for NS, PRs should also do the same. In a globalised economy, if you cannot compete, you lose out..period. But try telling that to the many who whine about the loss of jobs and uni places to foreigners.
And what about those who lose out in the competition? What about those who cannot or will not compete? What about the mentally and physically handicapped? And what about the older workers who have lost their low-skilled jobs and are unwilling or unable to upgrade their skills? Get them out of Singapore to hunt lions?![]()