Where is the money coming from? I will not pay more taxes to fund it. As the population grow older, you will have to pay more for such schemes. It is not fair for the young.Originally posted by Gazelle:This is to help lower the cost of living for the elders. Paying from your own CPF is not call concession, it is using your own saving that cost 2.5% per year
You mean the young people of today will not get old?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Where is the money coming from? I will not pay more taxes to fund it. As the population grow older, you will have to pay more for such schemes. It is not fair for the young.
What if they have no CPF and no children and dont like to ask government for money? Have you seen those elderly man and women collecting old cloths and newspaper in Chinatown and other housing estate?Originally posted by MosPyramid:No. This is impossible.
Elderly who can't afford basic neccessity will received government's aid. Otherwise they should relies on their children or own CPF.
You have a point here.Originally posted by Gazelle:What if they have no CPF and no children and dont like to ask government for money? Have you seen those elderly man and women collecting old cloths and newspaper in Chinatown and other housing estate?
what talking you?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Where is the money coming from? I will not pay more taxes to fund it. As the population grow older, you will have to pay more for such schemes. It is not fair for the young.
Yar, I totally agrees!Originally posted by dragg:what talking you?
the young will grow old too.
by then they will also enjoy this concession.
I wonder if you will say the same if it is your own mum and dad that is pushing those cart around the neighbourhood. Giving them concession will only help to offset the ever increasing cost here in Singapore.Originally posted by MosPyramid:You have a point here.
However since they are able to collect recyclable items to resell, they are still considered physically able.
In that case, they generally able to meets their end.
We are talking abot the unprivileged who has been left behind.Originally posted by MosPyramid:Yar, I totally agrees!
If we have the mentality on relying for special concession to get past our life in the future.
We won't be striving to earn money now.
In constrast, we don't think of CPF, don't think of incentives, special privileges, we might even tour around the world when we grow old.Juz my 3 cents
this is bus oniOriginally posted by sbst275:Thought have all along le???
Take SBS bus, except during AM peak hrs is flat fare $0.64 for trunk/ feeder svs
The dialect reply: lui de kor lai?Originally posted by FireIce:this is bus oni
but now ppl is suggesting that u buy chicken rice, wanton mee, detergent, potato chips, apples, strawberry ice cream oso govt shd help elderly pay 20%
If we dont use the money to concession, the government will still use it for something else. maybe to fund GIC and GLC for their overseas expansion.Originally posted by sbst275:The dialect reply: lui de kor lai?
(Where will the money come from?)
End up it's from the taxpayers
frankly it is not what we prefer but what the govt prefer.Originally posted by Gazelle:If we dont use the money to concession, the government will still use it for something else. maybe to fund GIC and GLC for their overseas expansion.
Which would you prefer?
It's another wild suggestion by critics of the government who have not thought the plan through..Originally posted by sbst275:The dialect reply: lui de kor lai?
(Where will the money come from?)
End up it's from the taxpayers
Once ppl ask for a silver, ppl will later ask for goldOriginally posted by Gazelle:If we dont use the money to concession, the government will still use it for something else. maybe to fund GIC and GLC for their overseas expansion.
Which would you prefer?
what about restaurant, hawker, grocery, medicine? Btw, who is paying for the concession? The company or the government?Originally posted by BillyBong:Senior Citizens are already getting rebates and special rates for public transport. In addition to such benefits, cinema shows for them are almost half priced.
In essence, they are already getting sufficient concessions without a 'card' to show for.
Hawker Ctr, 1 bowl of noodles $2 or $2.50, how much less you want?Originally posted by Gazelle:what about restaurant, hawker, grocery, medicine? Btw, who is paying for the concession? The company or the government?
I dont think the prescription at poly is cheap. .50 might not mean anything to you, but for someone without income that is a lot of money. do you know how many aluminum cans you need to collect to generate .50?Originally posted by sbst275:Hawker Ctr, 1 bowl of noodles $2 or $2.50, how much less you want?
See doc, go polyclinic, they pay the rate as children below 18, half price
So your point being that they dun have enough savings for retirement???Originally posted by Gazelle:I dont think the prescription at poly is cheap. .50 might not mean anything to you, but for someone without income that is a lot of money. do you know how many aluminum cans you need to collect to generate .50?