You are half correct. Well, I was kind of expecting PAP to play an angel role this time by allowing the opposition wards to be upgraded first until the news took me by surprise. But in closer examination, I think the policy of 'upgrading for all wards, but PAP ones first', is a fair one. There is no denial of upgrading for opposition wards but or rather to shelf it to a later date. The eventually outcome is that ALL will get upgrading benefits. This does not violate the one people, one nation or social equailty framework. Beside, how you expect PAP to answer to her supporters who casted the vote for them? Someone mentioned before that we are master of our MPs, now I want my MP to upgrade my estate first not opposition!...Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:Upgrading should be prioritised according to requirement i.e. the state of the facilities in the ward, not political affiliation. By sticking to the policy of upgrading PAP wards before opposition ones, the ruling party is just reinforcing the notion that they do not play fair. This will do them no favours in the next election.
as Minister of National Development, he should place the program in a needs-based system, based on the age and the demographics of the estates, not political support.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:I believe that there is a serious need of examing what the upgrading is about.
If it is lift for every floor, then it is reasonable.
But, if the upgrading is about changing the garden and hacking down stone bench without back support as a reason, then the money can be better saved.
If the basic facilities in the oppostion ward such as spoiled walkway need to be mended, it have to be done.
Mah commented that he got the WRONG feedback from his MPs and his survey about what the people want.
I think he take a serious look on whether the data is updated or his MPs have done their job at all.
Another questions is that Mr Mah, being a MP himself, is meeting his people every week so why did he have to RELY on his MPs on what people want ???
GCT already described them as "slums". Doubt anyone wants their home to be described as "slums".Originally posted by zheshi:People in the wards are not consider singaporean, maybe they should not paid taxes at all. Really dun understand, why must Pap Ward go first instead of those oppisation.. How many block have been upgraded in the PaP "Wards" liao... How about the opposition "Wards"
Is it any surprise that the govt would act vaguely when it suits them?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:I would like the government to set out a time table for the upgrading programme for all constituencies, rather than a vague statement that they will upgrade all estates.
As for priority, everyone wants to be first. I would think that priority should go to the oldest estates that are in most urgent need of upgrading. Following that, all things being equal, PAP eseates should have priority.
And PAP estates should have priority because.......... ?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:I would like the government to set out a time table for the upgrading programme for all constituencies, rather than a vague statement that they will upgrade all estates.
As for priority, everyone wants to be first. I would think that priority should go to the oldest estates that are in most urgent need of upgrading. Following that, all things being equal, PAP eseates should have priority.
Originally posted by fudgester:Estate upgrading comes from taxes, not from PAP coffers. Potong Pasir and Hougang residents pay their taxes as much as everyone else does. So why, pray tell, should opposition residents be treated differently? Why should PAP try to influence the outcome of the vote with money THAT TECHNICALLY ISN'T THEIRS TO BEGIN WITH?
Unless of course, if you're telling me that PAP==Singapore, and that anything to do with the opposition isn't Singaporean. But if that's the case, then Potong Pasir and Hougang residents should be exempt from paying taxes since they're being treated as lower class than Singaporeans.
PAP does represent Singapore. They have the majority in parliament. They can literally pass any policy they like. The opposition does not support the PAP so why will u want to help someone who will not support u? As they are the government they shld. One will always put the thing they dislike most to the last. Tax payer's money are in their control so why not use it to their best agenda?Originally posted by fudgester:Estate upgrading comes from taxes, not from PAP coffers. Potong Pasir and Hougang residents pay their taxes as much as everyone else does. So why, pray tell, should opposition residents be treated differently? Why should PAP try to influence the outcome of the vote with money THAT TECHNICALLY ISN'T THEIRS TO BEGIN WITH?
Unless of course, if you're telling me that PAP==Singapore, and that anything to do with the opposition isn't Singaporean. But if that's the case, then Potong Pasir and Hougang residents should be exempt from paying taxes since they're being treated as lower class than Singaporeans.
In the first place, why should HDB Estates be defined as PAP estates and Opposition Estates ?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Fudgester, don't you read the papers and follow the arguments, even if you disagree with them?
PAP estates deserve to be upgraded first because this project was mooted by the government, not by Opposition Parties who actually were against it at the time. Do your research![]()
You're sure that he personally meets people weekly? My footOriginally posted by Medicated Oil:I believe that there is a serious need of examing what the upgrading is about.
If it is lift for every floor, then it is reasonable.
But, if the upgrading is about changing the garden and hacking down stone bench without back support as a reason, then the money can be better saved.
If the basic facilities in the oppostion ward such as spoiled walkway need to be mended, it have to be done.
Mah commented that he got the WRONG feedback from his MPs and his survey about what the people want.
I think he take a serious look on whether the data is updated or his MPs have done their job at all.
Another questions is that Mr Mah, being a MP himself, is meeting his people every week so why did he have to RELY on his MPs on what people want ???
GCT mentioned the Upgrading or the lifts installations that stop at every floor would be implemented immedaitely if the two oppositions wards were to vote for PAP.Originally posted by robertteh:The ministers would tell the citizens in their meet-the-people sessions that they are fair and they practise no discrimination on race, religion, creeds or political beliefs.
Now they can say to the citizens in these meet-the-people sessions that the national pledge about one-people-one-nation and staying together moving ahead means : "vote PAP" so that they will get to be served first and have their estate upgrading done first.
They can tell their citizens that the constitution has spelt out their rights and not to worry as they will have equality of rights and there will be no discrimination based on race, sex, status or political belief etc.
Now in view of the latest policy of the government it means we have two types of citizens - one group who voted for ruling party who will get their estate upgrading without delay and another group who may not get upgrading that soon but will get their upgrading anyway.
That means the group that belong to the 33.3 % who did not vote for the ruling party will have to come up with their own upgrading plan so as not to fall into delays or have some reason stated for not upgrading such as "too physically difficult but not impossible to upgrade due to design of the block.
The second group of citizens may have to look after their interest such as lobbying to pay their taxes or service and conservancy charges to town council last since they will get upgrading last. But they must like Minister Mah has said pay the tax exce=pt that they will pay last.
I am not surprised that Mah Bow Tan, incidently a PRESIDENT's SCHOLAR, failed to do his homework when he took over as National Development minister.Originally posted by Atobe:In the first place, why should HDB Estates be defined as PAP estates and Opposition Estates ?
Are all the HDB Estates not designed and built by HDB Corporation ?
Until the setting up of Town Councils, was it not true that the HDB Estates were all managed by HDB and with no differentiation of PAP or Opposition Estates ?
Have you made a statement by [b]not understanding the position of the Opposition Parties - with regards to their objection to the HDB Upgrading Program ?
What were the reasons for the Opposition Parties "objecting" to the PAP idea of Upgrading of HDB Estates ?
1. HDB Estates have a lease of 99 years, and most of the HDB Estates were already deteriorating at an early age of 30 years. This reflect the poor quality in design, poor choice of building materials, and poor project and construction management - all of which had a net effect of HDB Flats requiring upgrading within 30 years, compared to Private Housing.
2. If the Upgrading Exercise is necessary for a 30 year old flat, which is caused by HDB poor design, project and construction management, the Opposition Parties felt that it was not correct that the HDB Dwellers were to be expected to co-share in the cost for such improvement works to be made.
3. This Upgrading Programme was politicised, when it was made dependent on HDB Dwellers voting for such a programme - by electing the Candidate from the incumbent political party as an endorsement for such a programme mooted by the Party.
In a report on the [url=http://profile.nus.edu.sg/fass/geokongl/tsehse.pdf]Public Housing in Singapore : Interpreting "Quality" in the 1990s - organised by Assoc Professor Teo Siew Eng from the Department of Geography, NUS - it was mentioned on Page 5 that - "In July 1989, the government announced a formal, large scale S$15 billion programme to upgrade existing HDB estates.... The project was to last 15 years and would affect 95 per cent of HDB dwellers" .
Since July 1989, more then 15 years have passed us by, and the 95 per cent target have yet to be achieved; and now Mah Bow Tan had grandly stated that - "the Lifts in the Opposition Wards will get upgraded by 2015 - at the latest ".
Was Mah being generous with Tax Payers' Money, including those living in Opposition held constituencies and also paying their dues ?