Originally posted by PRP:The govt discriminates against the opp. wards on lift upgrading,but they say the policy is fair.Their reason: the msg above.
In order to be [b]fair to the PAP wards,the govt has to be unfair to the opposition wards.Otherwise,it would be unfair to the PAP wards[/b]
You forget what LKY said about apologising?Originally posted by BillyBong:And she has not apologised!
Imagine an alternative labelling the Ruling Party as 'out to cause trouble'....guess what they would do?![]()
I'd rather not drag race into this debate. Doesn't seem relevant to this thread anyway.Originally posted by 798:even the pap dogs also think it's logical, someone like TF.
fudgester, as a malay, how do ur family and friends view pap as a whole?
dun let pap brainwash u!Originally posted by mancha:Alamak! I got my sands mixed up.
I must remember that Malaysia stopped selling sand to us.
Thus I must remember its Potong Pasir.
Thanks.
Then we'll soon end up reading the excuse that we 'must be fair to the PAP wards'.Originally posted by charlize:Die lah.
Going by the PAP's logic and reasoning on this upgrading issue, when there is a SARS epidemic or some national disaster hitting Singapore, will the government send help first only to PAP wards and leave the opposition wards last on the list?
I am surprised even ST reporters are writing against this policy questioning the PAP's rationale in this matter.
For a bunch of "scholars" running the country, they still can't differentiate between party and government. Haiz.Originally posted by fudgester:Then we'll soon end up reading the excuse that we 'must be fair to the PAP wards'.
In addition, the fact that they pay taxes like anyone else will be argued to be irrelevant. Since Potong Pasir and Hougang residents don't want to vote for PAP, we should 'respect their choice' of not wanting to receive government healthcare in the event of an outbreak.
Of course, I'm probably pushing things here. But then again, denying fellow Singaporeans of quality housing solely due to their political beliefs is pushing it as well.![]()
Originally posted by PRP:Who can point out the fault of the PAP's logic?
In order to be [b]fair to PAP wards,the govt has to be unfair to the opposition wards.Otherwise,it would be unfair to PAP wards.
Members,can u see the 'high logic' in the above argument?[/b]
Not only in theroy,the govt should place the need of the nation first.Originally posted by shade343:In theory, it is good to place the needs of the nation first. However, we need to be practical here. If we upgrade the opposotion wards, the opposition will say "look, vote for us, the PAP government will still take care of you".
Therefore, we need to ensure that our supporters of the upgrading programme are rewarded first.
Mah Bow Tan rejects Chiam See Tong's request for $80m upgrading fundsOriginally posted by mancha:Come on.
The people of Hougang and Pasir Ris are not stupid.
They know that even if PAP had won these two wards, upgrading will not be immediate. It will take some time.
But first the PAP must punish the wards for not supporting them previously. Priority will go the wards that had supported the PAP all the time.
Secondly, they must maximise their win by delaying upgrading till the next GE so as to dangle the same carrot again. This time they will promise to complete proposed projects that are on the slate.
So the promise of upgrading is actually an empty promise as upgrading will eventually come to the two wards, PAP or otherwise.
Kudos to the voters of Hougang and Pasir Ris!