Now....in modern world...I mean...world class or first world gov..singapore mini-stars...will have run like businessmen. remember?...guys! I told you during the last two erection?.......Originally posted by laurence82:Business should be run by businessmen, where they know how to calculate risks, not bureaucrats.![]()
not 50 years ago meh?Originally posted by Lowclassman:Now....in modern world...I mean...world class or first world gov..singapore mini-stars...will have run like businessmen. remember?...guys! I told you during the last two erection?.......![]()
But Temasek has zero accountability! They can lose as much money as they want. Well, as much as we have reserves I guess. That means they can quite literally bankrupt Singapore.Originally posted by casino_king:That is what happens when you have ... dare I say it?...
Any public listed company would have kicked those imbeciles before the can finish saying Micropolis.
That is what I mean lah... make mistakes and they go, so?Originally posted by av98m:But Temasek has zero accountability! They can lose as much money as they want. Well, as much as we have reserves I guess. That means they can quite literally bankrupt Singapore.![]()
To be fair, Temasek has been building teams of people with investment banking and private equity background, which is not very different from how other private equity firms would operate.Originally posted by laurence82:Business should be run by businessmen, where they know how to calculate risks, not bureaucrats.![]()
Originally posted by ObiterDicta:neither Shin nor Temasek were fully aware of the full extent of exposure in this licensing issue.
To be fair, Temasek has been building teams of people with investment banking and private equity background, which is not very different from how other private equity firms would operate.
According to today's Wall St. Journal, it appears that [b]neither Shin nor Temasek were fully aware of the full extent of exposure in this licensing issue.
Of course, since we don't have the details, we can only speculate, which is unfortunate.
But for all of us who have a tendency to be too quick to blame and criticise, paraphrasing from the Bible, let he who has a perfect investment track record cast the first stone.
regards,
obiterdicta[/b]
Originally posted by ObiterDicta:Bill Gates will be casting the first stone!!!
To be fair, Temasek has been building teams of people with investment banking and private equity background, which is not very different from how other private equity firms would operate.
According to today's Wall St. Journal, it appears that neither Shin nor Temasek were fully aware of the full extent of exposure in this licensing issue.
Of course, since we don't have the details, we can only speculate, which is unfortunate.
[b]But for all of us who have a tendency to be too quick to blame and criticise, paraphrasing from the Bible, let he who has a perfect investment track record cast the first stone.
regards,
obiterdicta[/b]
Our great leader has often boasted that his ministers are scholars or talents who are worth millions in salaries.Originally posted by ObiterDicta:To be fair, Temasek has been building teams of people with investment banking and private equity background, which is not very different from how other private equity firms would operate.
According to today's Wall St. Journal, it appears that neither Shin nor Temasek were fully aware of the full extent of exposure in this licensing issue.
But for all of us who have a tendency to be too quick to blame and criticise, paraphrasing from the Bible, let he who has a perfect investment track record cast the first stone.
regards,
obiterdicta
Originally posted by robertteh:Our great leader has often boasted that his ministers are scholars or talents who are worth millions in salaries.
All we have seen are whereas most advanced countries like Finland and Switzerland are able to pursue open and accountable corporate government, our leaders are just unable to lead the people with reasons and rationality expected for great talents and leaders.
Many advanced democratic countries have consistently outperforming our economy for the past 20 years whereas our economy has been sliding since 1870s. Our workers' median wages at the lower 80% of workforce have been declining since the 1980s.
At least 20% of the lower income group are living below the poverty line. The lower to middle income earners are heavily indebted to their highly inflated HDB mortgages built by public housing authority supposedly set up to provide low-cost housing.
Among the Asian tigers, the Koreans are climbing on their technology ladder producing internationally well known products from cars to LCDs, whereas despite all the claims of advances and GDP our economy could only manage to stay positive after long recessions. Then our leaders would quickly claim it is doing well and rewarding themselves with higher wages and bonuses. Is this type of economic recovery due to their efforts or talents or general corrections.
When our economy is down in deep recessions, and many are out of jobs, and struggling from high costs of living caused by high fees, our leaders are only able to tell the people that they cannot do anything about the economy or retrenchments due to structural unemployments.
Are Temasek or the government really people who are the talents ? Have they out-performed talents managing the Harvard University fund which yielded 10% pa ?
For the past 10 years, Temasek has returned poorly at less than 1% pa. So are our ministers the true talents who are worth to be paid millions or are they just spending our taxpayers' monies like the NKF without accountability or proper returns of public monies back to the people.
Are they the talents and should they be paid $1,500,000.00 - $2,000,000.00 pa as claimed by our great leader.