ohhhh.....Originally posted by Shotgun:What it actually means is, Tactics is often restricted by logistics. You may have to tactics to win a battle, but do you have to logistics to support it?
tough, but definitely possible. a few sispec (i admit only a few) trainees do cross over into ocs. there were some in my batch.Originally posted by Shotgun:Sispec or OCS, both are equally important though somewhat similar courses that train leaders. One question tho, will someone from sispec ever become an officer? Or is that like striking lottery?
actually i feel it depends on wat type of attitude the sergeants choose to adopt when it comes to the mission.Originally posted by Shotgun:Does this somewhat imply that the Sispec Sergeants just do what their lieutenants do, and will have no concept of the bigger picture?
well somebody's gotta do the thinking. you have no idea wat its like if you havent done it b4. the reason why it look lobo or slack is coz thinking doesnt require any body movement, but the onli ppl who think its a slack job are ppl who never had to worry about keeping the troops alive and completing the mission at the same time.Originally posted by Shotgun:In other words, the sergeants keep the troops alive until the officers make up their mind?
Originally posted by sakaratulz:actually guys,it is OETI that is the most siong....
O= only
E= eat
T= talk &
I= idle
J;ON'[BOI'
If sispec so good, they won't have to salute and call the officers SIR...Originally posted by Ducati996:yah, sakaratulz, oeti damn siong, go brunei still must double up as boatman heh heh....
anyway to stay in ocs you gotta get under 9mins 30secs for soc and at least silver in ippt, if not kena kick out. of course i admit most if not all sispec guys can achieve the same, but i dont think will kena kick out. correct me if i wrong? and not performing to standard will oso get you kicked out of ocs.
oso, i disagree that sispec is just ocs squeeze into half the time. ocs learn more, up to company level operations. all cadets train to use and command gpmg, 84mm recoilless rifle, etc.
one thing i realize is the reason why ppl say sispec is tougher is the difference in instructors methods. ocs instructors behave like model leaders as examples to cadets. they rarely use vulgarities(subject to which wing you from) and never ever physically touch cadets. sispec instructors, however, not to say their method wrong...well those haven go ns yet, use your imagination. anyway, if both sides instructors are the same(either both siong or both 'examplary') i dare say ocs will be tougher.
no offence to sispec guys. i love my sergeants!!!! you guys best!!!
Sigh...maybe you should read this article and maybe you'd give specialists the resepct they deserve...Originally posted by RAIDER:If sispec so good, they won't have to salute and call the officers SIR...
No...what it means is that as a junior officer with that single bar, don't go throwing your weight around on even the junior specs, especially those who knows how things are run wherever they are...Originally posted by Shotgun:LoL! SOunds as if, if the sergeants like the officer, whatever the officer asks them to carry out, they will carry out 100% and then some. If the sergeants dun like the officer, they just do what is barely required and arrow the rest back to the officer?
Is that the case?
wat the......???Originally posted by Shotgun:Sounds like the way it should be. But in reality, is it the case? I need to find out more. =)
I know thats how it is like in the army in peacetime(ie everybody has to do their part and pull together), at least where I came from anyway. That is why my first officer succeeded where his successor failed. He gave his specs and men the respect and incentive they deserved and everyone pulled along with him, while giving them the trust they knew and could do their jobs. But then, isn't that true for any organisation?Originally posted by Shotgun:Sounds like the way it should be. But in reality, is it the case? I need to find out more. =)