Precisely...Originally posted by sbst275:May I ask how much oil cartel ExxonMobil, Royal Dutch Shell and Caltex makes from petrol?
They earn even 10x more than ComfortDelGro even aft the higher crude oil prices and pump price increase, yet no one is making a noise on this
Originally posted by Atobe:Hi, you need to compare the length of diesel increase over the years. And not on current prices only. The rising demand plus the cost of purchase has surged up to over a dollar within these few years which was a whopping 100%
Whether you have brought it up or not, Comfort Delgro pump price for taxi drivers is no big secret.
Giving two months for the Singapore Public to recover from the resentment of a Taxi Fare hike, mark my word that by about end-September 2006 Comfort-Delgro will increase its diesel fuel pump prices for Taxis.
For your information, [b]ExxonMobil priced their diesel as follows:
Synergy-Diesel : S$1.07 per litre before increase to NEW PRICE of S$1.15 per litre - 5 January 2006.
Taxi drivers will get a whopping 22% discount from a loyalty program with ExxonMobil.
Caltex Retail Pump Prices as of 25 January 2006
Power Diesel : S$1.230 new pump price; or S$1.107 after 10 percent discount.
Singapore Petroleum Co (SPC) as of 7 January 2006
Diesel : S$1.07 old Pump Price to New Price of S$1.15 per litre.
Should the Singapore retail price be pegged to the moving averages of world crude oil prices, or should we pegged it to the moving averages of the retail prices of refined oil ?
According to the report from the International Energy Agency - Monthly Oil Market Report - on Page 33, or 7 of 19 PDF page - Singapore was reputed " to have offered the best prices across the markets, both for high and low sulphur materials. "
The markets that Singapore refined products have been compared with include that from leading Oil Trading Centres such as Rotterdam, Mediterranean, New York.
It will seem that price are dictated by market consumer demands, with the Refineries gearing their output to specifically lucrative seasonal demands, which result in an increase in price for those products that see a shortage in supply as production capacity has been transferred.
The market forces of supply and demand will find its equilibrium when capacities are switched to meet rising prices on those products that see shortages in supply or increase in demand.
It will seem that the tale of fuel price increases due to high prices of crude oil is only half of the truth.
Originally posted by MS:And who says Comfortdelgro, SBST are government? GLC? Who says SBST is for PAP? Please speak with facts rather than assumptions!
Speaking of this, Comfortdelgro is the 2nd largest public transport fleet globally. The business are as follows:
[b]BUS
Singapore
(1) SBS Transit
(2) comfort Bus
People's Republic of China
Guang zhou
(1) Guangzhou Xin Tian Wei Transportation Development
Shanghai
(1) Shanghai Shen Xin Bus Service
Shenyang
(1) Shenyang Comfortdelgro Bus
(2) Shenyang Comfortdelgro Anyun Bus
UK/Ireland
Scotland, UK
(1) Scottish Citylink Coaches
(2) Westbus Coach Services
London
(1) Metroline
(2) Armchair Passenger Transport
(3) FE Thorpe & Sons
Dublin, Ireland
(1) Cummer Commercials
(2) Aerdart
Australia
Sydney
(1) Westbus Region 1
(2) Westbus Region 2
(3) Hillsbus Co
(4) Hunter Valley Buses
TAXIS
Singapore
(1) Comfort Transportation
(2) Citycab
(3) Yellow Top
People's Republic Of china
Beijing
(1) Beijing Jin Jian Taxi Services
Chengdu
(1) Chengdu Comfortdelgro Yiyou Taxi
Hengyang
(1) Hengyang Citycab bus service
Jilin City
(1) Jilin Comfortdelgro Taxi
Nanning
(1) Nanning Comfort Transport
Shanghai
(1) Shanghai City Qi Ai Taxi Services
Shenyang
(1) Shenyang Comfortdelgro Taxi
(2) Citycab (Shenyang)
Suzhou
(1) Suzhou Comfort Taxi
Xiamen
(1) Xiamen comfort Taxi
Yantai
(1) Yantai Citycab services
London, UK
(1) Computer Cab
Aberdeen, Scotland
(1) GEM Hire Enterprises
Edinburgh, Scotland
(1) Computer Cab (Edinburgh)
Vietnam
Ho Chih Minh City
(1) Vietnam Taxi Company
(2) Comfortdelgro Savico Taxi
RAIL
Singapore
(1) SBS Transit (NEL)
CAR RENTING & LEASING
Singapore
(1) Citylimo
People's Republic Of China
Beijing
(1) Beijing Citylimo Yin Jian Auto Services
Chengdu
(1) Chengdu Citylimo Auto Services
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
(1) Dynadrive Rent-A-Car
(2) Pantas Rent-A-Car
(3) Citylimo Leasing (M)
OTHERS
Singapore
(1) VICOM
(2) Comfortdelgro Engineering
(3) Comfort Driving Centre
(4) Setsco Services
(5) Moovemedia
(6) Comfortdelgro Insurance Brokers
People's Republic Of China
Beijing
(1) Beijing Tian Long Da Tian Vehicle Inspection
Chengdu
(1) Chengdu Jitong Integrated Vehicle Inspection
(2) Chengdu Comfortdelgro Qing Yang Driving school
(3) Sichuan Comfortdelgro Car Servicing
Suzhou
(1) Suzhou Comfort Toyota Sales & services
Thank you for your interest in responding and giving such a patient and detailed clarification on the need to increase the fare to cover the costs for the taxi operators (drivers).Originally posted by MS:Hi, you need to compare the length of diesel increase over the years. And not on current prices only. The rising demand plus the cost of purchase has surged up to over a dollar within these few years which was a whopping 100%
$0.60 to $1.2
And apart from that, you have to also consider the dollar to mileage costs. To make a comparision on whether the company can still withstand such a great price hike.
Besides the company being a solely private company has the rights to make any profits. To put it bluntly, "the commuters do not have a right to control the prices". However, Comfortdelgro did not abuse this right. PTC has also approved such an increase based on concrete evidences on the costs involved.
Fuel costs are only part of the reasons why prices hike. You have failed to notice that we have to be prepared for higher maintenance costs to the equipments and buildings as age climbs.
It will be extremely good if you can kindly approach Comfortdelgro and ask for a detailed explanation why the prices increase.
For your info, I am not supportive of the increase as this increase on the other hand can affect the taxi driver's income. But you have to look things in a birds eye view to capture the need to keep the company going at a reasonable profit. Especially when Comfortdelgro is a private company standing alone in the storms.
I am most willing to PM to you the long history of Comfortdelgro on why it has never been a government company which many people has this wrong impression.
In the first place, you actually BELIEVE, that THEY will let ANYONE "improve" on their 'perfect' policies, rules, and or systems????????Originally posted by tiggersgd:anyway, i guess this speaker's corner with somebody in here will always be a punching pad (PAP or related).
no point arguing something that u dun work to improve but only to "whine n whimper" in here.
anyway, thanks to all who replied me. i'm only offering what i know and can disclose.
cheers!
Casino will simply destroy many of those who are still rich and powerful in Singapore... leaving the cronies the only rich people in Singapore.Originally posted by ShutterBug:With costs ever increasing, jobs given to foreigners, wages stagnant, and jobs hard to keep, more people are looking for quick and easy money - gambling.
I look at the Q of people buying 4D/Big Sweep/TOTO, and I shake my head.
Today's New Paper, I read of a 25 year old who has already over $300,000 in debts because of gambling.
Nevermind, this isn't grave yet - Casino has yet to materialize here....
so ur in singapore or outside of singapore? if ur outside, how do u know if it work or otherwise?Originally posted by ShutterBug:In the first place, you actually BELIEVE, that THEY will let ANYONE "improve" on their 'perfect' policies, rules, and or systems????????
What are you?
On cannabis or something????
Each country has it's own share of probOriginally posted by ShutterBug:With costs ever increasing, jobs given to foreigners, wages stagnant, and jobs hard to keep, more people are looking for quick and easy money - gambling.
Today's New Paper, I read of a 25 year old who has already over $300,000 in debts because of gambling.
r u high on drugs as well? u actually reminded me of parents who have the worse kids in school and expect the teachers to take them in hand while the parents only whine and whimper when the kids go back and complained about how they are treated in school by the teachers.Originally posted by ShutterBug:You know, this morning while drivingto work, two (2) taxis nearly got me into an accident.
Actually there were three (3) comfort taxis in front of me. One suddenly stops to pick up a passenger, the two behind overtook. Then the one in front of the 3rd suddenly slows down as he was obviously looking for passengers. I saw what was about to happen so I satyed in my lane not following them by overtaking with them; a car on the right lane thinking they were moving along had to jam is brakes because the cab in front slowed down unexpectedly!
As you can see, taxi drivers are ALREADY hazardous in their driving habits as it is. Now with increasing rentals and taxi fares and charges, they are even more desperate and inconsiderate on our roads.
I saw TIBS cabs, overtaking other cabs dangerously just to pick up passenger in front of his? With taxis competing like madmen on the roads, how is this a good sign of PROGRESS in Singapore??
If competitiveness drives people out there UNSCRUPULOUS, HAZARDOUS, & UNGRACIOUS - how, can this be called PROGRESS??
Unless they meant progressively higher costs of living.
They have been driving recklessly from long time already.Originally posted by ShutterBug:You know, this morning while drivingto work, two (2) taxis nearly got me into an accident.
Actually there were three (3) comfort taxis in front of me. One suddenly stops to pick up a passenger, the two behind overtook. Then the one in front of the 3rd suddenly slows down as he was obviously looking for passengers. I saw what was about to happen so I satyed in my lane not following them by overtaking with them; a car on the right lane thinking they were moving along had to jam is brakes because the cab in front slowed down unexpectedly!
As you can see, taxi drivers are ALREADY hazardous in their driving habits as it is. Now with increasing rentals and taxi fares and charges, they are even more desperate and inconsiderate on our roads.
I saw TIBS cabs, overtaking other cabs dangerously just to pick up passenger in front of his? With taxis competing like madmen on the roads, how is this a good sign of PROGRESS in Singapore??
If competitiveness drives people out there UNSCRUPULOUS, HAZARDOUS, & UNGRACIOUS - how, can this be called PROGRESS??
Unless they meant progressively higher costs of living.
What is the proposed solution to the problem? As for the person in trouble over gambling, it seemed people gambled for many reason such asOriginally posted by ShutterBug:With costs ever increasing, jobs given to foreigners, wages stagnant, and jobs hard to keep, more people are looking for quick and easy money - gambling.
Originally posted by ShutterBug:There's a saying;
When the big old tree falls, all the monkeys in that tree shall fall with it.
Dumb ass, where's the "next Big Tree"?Originally posted by king108:I studied no much..I thought when the big old tree falls, the monkeys will just switch to the next big tree..
You probably can't read and understand English very well.Originally posted by tiggersgd:r u high on drugs as well? u actually reminded me of parents who have the worse kids in school and expect the teachers to take them in hand while the parents only whine and whimper when the kids go back and complained about how they are treated in school by the teachers.
the next thing we know is that the parents complained about the teachers abusing power and authority...so when will the parents of these mei jia jiao kids grow up? i guess never...
u seem to be like that of those parents...so the government is suppose to teach the people on moral values as well? if adults are called adults and knowingly can think and be more sensible than kids then
in short, if one wants to be inconsiderate, no matter what it is, they will be inconsiderate.
Undeniably true that they have been reskless all these while.Originally posted by will4:They have been driving recklessly from long time already.![]()
Yes indeed true.Originally posted by sbst275:Each country has it's own share of prob
You being eloquent and all, tell me; since WHEN did our gov EVER allowed ANYONE to try and improve on anything that was implemented by them????Originally posted by tiggersgd:so ur in singapore or outside of singapore? if ur outside, how do u know if it work or otherwise?
if ur in singapore, then y r u whining n whimpering instead of doing something?
ur IQ has to be so low to understand this "insult" that i'm hurling at u? what a joke! and it is a joke! wahahahahaha