And the guy in charge of it, Colin Goh, occasionally his columns appear in the Sunday times, and his comic strip regularly in the newpaper always poking fun at singapore also never shut down?Originally posted by vito_corleone:talking c0ck is based in the us, that's why its still alive. if not earlier kena shut down by mica![]()
because Mr Brown's words are too close to reality. Talking Cock is really sibei ho chio.Originally posted by ditzy:And the guy in charge of it, Colin Goh, occasionally his columns appear in the Sunday times, and his comic strip regularly in the newpaper always poking fun at singapore also never shut down?![]()
forums are definitely getting more and more vocal these days.. there is only a marginal difference between criticism and inciting/flaming. i felt that it is the latter that the government are concerned with.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I have never believed that criticism is a privilege. It is our right and we should never forget that.
Yep, you're right. But sometimes, don't you notice they tolerate more of the mudslinging(which no one takes seriously) than hard-hitting, well-crafted criticism of policies which come from the everyman and are easily connected with the public, but with the intellect of anyone who is able to spot their flaws in a glance.Originally posted by YI:forums are definitely getting more and more vocal these days.. there is only a marginal difference between criticism and inciting/flaming. i felt that it is the latter that the government are concerned with.
emotion aside, i too believe in constructive criticism. it's the government behaviour/response that i am truely disappointed with. talk about first world government.. alas.![]()
That's a very elitist point of view. Singapore has to get rid of such mindsets, or else we will be left with only academics who will discuss matters relating to the everyman, and you and I, well, sucking thumb gets bored after a while you know.Originally posted by TooFree:Constructive criticism ought to come with a solution package if not it will be treated as inciting/flaming as what Mr Brown had done.
Oh. You would rather all of Singaporeans get engulf into politic-tussle and risk dividing the social fabric with the forming of two or more party armed camp among its supporters. The next time you and I will no longer be Singaporeans sharing the same identity. We will be rival. You sure you want that to happen?Originally posted by LazerLordz:That's a very elitist point of view. Singapore has to get rid of such mindsets, or else we will be left with only academics who will discuss matters relating to the everyman, and you and I, well, sucking thumb gets bored after a while you know.
Opinions are opinions, we as everymen, have an opinion and we have to sound out if we feel something is wrong.
Armed camp? I think you are overtly imaginative.Originally posted by TooFree:Oh. You would rather all of Singaporeans get engulf into politic-tussle and risk dividing the social fabric with the forming of two or more party armed camp among its supporters. The next time you and I will no longer be Singaporeans sharing the same identity. We will be rival. You sure you want that to happen?![]()
Respect has to be earned, aren't we supposed to be meritocratic? Where success and respect are earned through hard work, and not blind obedience..Originally posted by gentlerock:We're probably one of the few countries left which is close to micro-managing daily behaviour of its citizens. We're also one of the few countries left where uniformed personnel are supposed to be blindly respected - no questions asked.
I live in Bedok, Singapore, province of North Korea.
if there are no probable solution/alternative, what good will it do by promulgating to the general public? raise public awareness? the question is can they handle it? those who are capable and most willingly had already found themselves the perfect medium to further their cause. those standing by the sideline such as you and me will know the ugly truth in due course.Originally posted by TooFree:Constructive criticism ought to come with a solution package if not it will be treated as inciting/flaming as what Mr Brown had done.
loyalty/discipline/obedience has been highly regarded since ancient time but unquestionable loyalty/obedience? it's up to individuals.Originally posted by gentlerock:We're probably one of the few countries left which is close to micro-managing daily behaviour of its citizens. We're also one of the few countries left where uniformed personnel are supposed to be blindly respected - no questions asked.
my sentiments. i have always been gracious. i am giving lhl and his team time to overhaul the continuous unpopular practices in which i doubt will change. i do hope to be proven wrong. this government had brought us far.. but enough is enough.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Yep, you're right. But sometimes, don't you notice they tolerate more of the mudslinging(which no one takes seriously) than hard-hitting, well-crafted criticism of policies which come from the everyman and are easily connected with the public, but with the intellect of anyone who is able to spot their flaws in a glance.
I see divide and conquer. Thing is, how long can this last.. All we desire is a fair engagement, and for the government to realise that politics is a two way street, and the people are the ultimate arbiters of policy success.They have to dump the mindset that only qualified individuals be allowed to even merely discuss related issues.
Aiyoh.....our society ah? We were programmed this way from young mah.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Respect has to be earned, aren't we supposed to be meritocratic? Where success and respect are earned through hard work, and not blind obedience..
i believe we have sounded out enough over recent years to capture their attention. they too have acknowledged during the last election that a faction of the public are fed up with their overkill tactic. but is it enough for them to warrant a change? with their capability of swinging multi-millions carrots, and the unspoken fear of government retaliation amongst others on their side of the table.. it seems that we are still in need of some serious amplifiers.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Opinions are opinions, we as everymen, have an opinion and we have to sound out if we feel something is wrong.
meritocractic? elitistic you mean. this is a society where scholars call the shot.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Respect has to be earned, aren't we supposed to be meritocratic? Where success and respect are earned through hard work, and not blind obedience..
Thats only half right, pal. You left out in that sometimes, their wives/relatives call the shots too.Originally posted by YI:meritocractic? elitistic you mean. this is a society where scholars call the shot.
Now then you know? This has been a tiresome issue for ages.Originally posted by adven7:Isn't it a fact that Utilities is up, Taxi fare going up, Public transport also going up. If Mr. Brown is highlighting the deepest sentiments from the heartlanders, shouldn't the "pay and pay" or "highest pay officials" be grateful to him for sounding the alarm of something big is stirring in the communities? Instead of ignoring the problem and burying their heads in the sand or worse shoot the messenger. The world highest paid ministers even have the guts to ask him to shutup or provide the solution to the problems.
Shouldn't it be the jobs of the minister to address the people concerns and address their problem?
It's supposed to be their job to do so.Originally posted by adven7:Isn't it a fact that Utilities is up, Taxi fare going up, Public transport also going up. If Mr. Brown is highlighting the deepest sentiments from the heartlanders, shouldn't the "pay and pay" or "highest pay officials" be grateful to him for sounding the alarm of something big is stirring in the communities? Instead of ignoring the problem and burying their heads in the sand or worse shoot the messenger. The world highest paid ministers even have the guts to ask him to shutup or provide the solution to the problems.
Shouldn't it be the jobs of the minister to address the people concerns and address their problem?