n they said we are whiners...Originally posted by LazerLordz:July 8, 2006
Study mamas turn to embassy
MORE than 80 desperate study mamas gathered near the Chinese Embassy yesterday morning to petition their country to help make it easier for them to find work here.
The Chinese nationals accompany their children to study here and work mainly as beauticians, cleaners, stall helpers and home tutors.
There are now 7,800 study mamas here, and they claim that many employers reject them in favour of Singaporeans, permanent residents and Malaysians.
The women yesterday had gathered in response to an SMS message asking them to sign a petition to the embassy. But no one showed up with a petition and, instead, embassy staff invited five members inside to discuss their grievances.
The five later told compatriots that they were advised to work within Singapore laws and that the embassy would look into the matter. The group was then told to disperse as the gathering was illegal.
------
Right, and we needed the riot squad to chase away CSJ and co. What the heck is wrong with their brains?
Something clearly is wrong.
x2Originally posted by FireIce:if can afford to send all the way here, i dun understand why they still need to work when they are obviously loaded
if not loaded, then dun come over
trust the kid to be disciplined
whether lao bu here or not, they are already taking alotta As
Was a verbal warning given so that it eventually dispersed the illegal crowd? If yes, then there is certainly no need to enforce the stringent rule of the law.Originally posted by LazerLordz:The issue is that the police didn't arrest them for illegal assembly. Talk about selective interpretation favoring foreigners who are already a salacious bunch.
If there was, then I would agree with you. The article only states that the Chinese Embassy persuaded them to leave, based on the previous incidents with the workers who were not paid.Originally posted by TooFree:Was a verbal warning given so that it eventually dispersed the illegal crowd? If yes, then there is certainly no need to enforce the stringent rule of the law.![]()
Originally posted by gentlerock:Alamak, when I read the title, I thought got new tuina centre with 80 new stocks. Shucks.
Hey, one thing good about them is that they receive an sms and they're willing to go into action for their cause. If I sms-ed 1 million Singaporeans, only two will appear if I'm lucky (one of them will be me).
In the meantime, SingTel will be thanking me for my sms-es and laughing all the way to DBS.
Ply card can kills.Originally posted by killstyle:oh yea. 4 singaporeans with a ply card outside CPF board warrant a whole riot police squad.
an army of pei du prostitues and a few poodles just sit by and watch.
1st world indeed.
Why should Singapore give them a job?Originally posted by LazerLordz:July 8, 2006
Study mamas turn to embassy
MORE than 80 desperate study mamas gathered near the Chinese Embassy yesterday morning to petition their country to help make it easier for them to find work here.
The Chinese nationals accompany their children to study here and work mainly as beauticians, cleaners, stall helpers and home tutors.
There are now 7,800 study mamas here, and they claim that many employers reject them in favour of Singaporeans, permanent residents and Malaysians.
The women yesterday had gathered in response to an SMS message asking them to sign a petition to the embassy. But no one showed up with a petition and, instead, embassy staff invited five members inside to discuss their grievances.
The five later told compatriots that they were advised to work within Singapore laws and that the embassy would look into the matter. The group was then told to disperse as the gathering was illegal.
------
Right, and we needed the riot squad to chase away CSJ and co. What the heck is wrong with their brains?
Something clearly is wrong.
Originally posted by fudgester:the mata will jz say "oh cos no one made complains... we only act upon complains n tip offs"...
Talk about double standards, eh?
We have four people protesting outside the CPF building - no illegal assembly laws are broken here - and the riot police gets called in.
Here we have eighty protestors outside the Chinese embassy - a clear infringement of illegal assembly laws - and the authorities are content to sit back and shake their legs.
And no, we do not owe those PDMMs a living. If you want to grant them jobs, then I say grant jobs to unemployed Singaporeans as well. If you want to come here to make a living, then I say you should do it the old-fashioned way - through hard, and more importantly, [b]honest labour.[/b]
You can rob a bank and get away with it, just make sure no one reports you.Originally posted by BrUtUs:the mata will jz say "oh cos no one made complains... we only act upon complains n tip offs"...