You still don't get what I mean. I fully support our government actions to clamp down on illegal massaging trade. But the problem now is that some forummers here just can't grasp the fact that both parties(foreign prostitues and local men) have to take the blame. They only condemned one side which is immature.Originally posted by equlus84:Blueray I think u stil dun get the issue. The entire saga is to clamp down on illegal activities like prostitution, it so happn that massage trade is the one they are clamping down on, it so happen that many PDMMS are involve in massaging trade, some individuals went on to think Singapore is out to expel all PRC citizens.
I know thatit is embarassing for a person to hear their own country men not conducting in an appropriate manner in the host nation. But u should be aware that we not against those ppls that are honest and doing legal stuff here...............![]()
actually, even on the PDMM, most are really here to take care of their children, and only a small minority that are here for the money are in the vice trade.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Bluerray,
Every country has their black sheep, China has her PDMMs, Nigeria has her scam artists etc.
What we are doing here is narrowing down the PDMM issue, not an attack on China.
Get your facts right and understand the political complexities in SG first, then you will understand why it is not as easy as you think.
Isn't that the same argument as "to stamp out poverty, we should kill all the beggars"? Or to stop scams, we should do away with money?Originally posted by Blueray:To zzzdidi,
You don't seem to realise something. It takes 2 hands to clap. Who are providing these PDMMs the chance to carry out illegal activities? Singaporean Men! If local men learn to behave themselves, will these people have the chance to be involved in illegal activities in the first place.
I have made myself very clear in my first post that both sides have to take the blame. How come u only blamed one side?
It is not a matter of pushing the blame. No one cares about the blame. It is a matter of taking the best course of action.Originally posted by Blueray:You missed my point. I sidetracked becos I wanted to explain the fact that these singaporean wrongdoing are part of the reason which led to illegal activities involving foreign women.
Get it?
That's why I said that both sides have to take the blame.
Hey look u seem to think that majority of the PDmms here are a burden to our society. How many actually protested? Only a handful. If they are a burden, why the PAP alow them here in the first place?Originally posted by SilverPal:Isn't that the same argument as "to stamp out poverty, we should kill all the beggars"? Or to stop scams, we should do away with money?
You claim that it is because of a demand that caused the pdmm to provide the supply, the converse is also true, to end the demand, you remove the supply. You can draw the demand and supply curve to see for yourself.
So now we reached the chicken and egg story, who is to stop first? The singaporean men, who have the same urges as men all over the world? If sg men stop their vice, will the supply of pdmm end up going to other countries and thus causing singapore to lose our china "foreign talents"?
You see how convoluted your argument is? And still you do not see the main picture. Singaporeans, for many years, have been telling our govt that they should create jobs for the lower wage earners. The govt has been replying that no one owes us a living.
Now the pdmm starts singing the same song, and you expect our govt, who refuses to create jobs for our lower wage earners, to create jobs for women who should not even be here?
If the pdmm doesn't have money and has no skills that allow her to work in sg, they should just be content to send theie children here for a good education and a bright future rather than come here for a good life themselves and end up becoming a burden to society and an embarassment to they're children.
Hey look u seem to think that majority of the PDmms here are a burden to our society. How many actually protested? Only a handful. If they are a burden, why the PAP alow them here in the first place?Originally posted by SilverPal:Isn't that the same argument as "to stamp out poverty, we should kill all the beggars"? Or to stop scams, we should do away with money?
You claim that it is because of a demand that caused the pdmm to provide the supply, the converse is also true, to end the demand, you remove the supply. You can draw the demand and supply curve to see for yourself.
So now we reached the chicken and egg story, who is to stop first? The singaporean men, who have the same urges as men all over the world? If sg men stop their vice, will the supply of pdmm end up going to other countries and thus causing singapore to lose our china "foreign talents"?
You see how convoluted your argument is? And still you do not see the main picture. Singaporeans, for many years, have been telling our govt that they should create jobs for the lower wage earners. The govt has been replying that no one owes us a living.
Now the pdmm starts singing the same song, and you expect our govt, who refuses to create jobs for our lower wage earners, to create jobs for women who should not even be here?
If the pdmm doesn't have money and has no skills that allow her to work in sg, they should just be content to send theie children here for a good education and a bright future rather than come here for a good life themselves and end up becoming a burden to society and an embarassment to they're children.
I am not blaming all pdmms, nor am I blaming most pdmms. My references were directed at the RELEVANT parties. As said by another forumer, there are pdmms who teach mandarin, are they a burden to our society?Originally posted by Blueray:Hey look u seem to think that majority of the PDmms here are a burden to our society. How many actually protested? Only a handful. If they are a burden, why the PAP alow them here in the first place?
My friend who opens a chinese restaurant here said she also prefers to employ PDMMs and other china nationals.
http://english.people.com.cn/200207/09/eng20020709_99414.shtml
Why blame foreigners from taking away your jobs when the truth is that even local employers prefer to employ them? Read the above link.
Your arguements are flawed.Originally posted by Blueray:That is becos they are our largest customers! Why do I say that?
For example if china students stop coming to S'pore, schools like Stansfield, informatics will probably close shop. Malaysian universities will be more than happy to accept them since nowadays small towns in Malaysia are booming due to an influx of Chinese students.
If China tourists stop coming to Singapore, our tourism industry will sink into oblivion since nowadays it is not ang moh tourists but chinese tourists who bring in the most bucks.
Our real estate property market is not doing so well these years and Chinese nationals are now the third largest buyer/investor of private properties in Spore.
For u to say that they never contribute to Singapore really makes u look like an ungrateful wretch.
As for my previous post to adven7 I am merely pointing out the fact that he is contradicting the local media. No pun intended.
Well said!Originally posted by SilverPal:I am not blaming all pdmms, nor am I blaming most pdmms. My references were directed at the RELEVANT parties. As said by another forumer, there are pdmms who teach mandarin, are they a burden to our society?
What I am highlighting is that, we should not label singaporeans as evil when pdmms decide to come to singapore nor should we push all the responsibility to singaporeans when these pdmms demand for jobs. Today they demand for jobs, tomorrow they demand for voting rights (since policies affect them), what else will they demand for?
If you want to go to another country, make sure you can find a job first. Many pdmms can do it. Many have done it. Expecting the singapore govt to spoonfeed them with jobs, throw money at them and give in to all their unlimited wants is absurd.
Our govt doesn't even do that for the voters/citizens, do you think they will do it for the pdmms?
As for employers hiring foreigners, that has been disected to the extreme and is not the main focus of this thread. I'm not worried about losing my job to the pdmms, I'm not very good with my hands anyway.
U r right! i abide all the laws and regulations of the country in where i stayed overseas and keep quiet and no redress even i was right.Originally posted by neutral_onliner:I really pity some good PDMMs situation but pls rmb tat singapore is our home not PDMMs' refugee camp![]()
Well, if only matters were that simple. One of the forumities asked if this was just a domestic issue, I guess the answer's pretty obvious.Originally posted by zzzdidi:U r right! i abide all the laws and regulations of the country in where i stayed overseas and keep quiet and no redress even i was right.
Now these PDMMs came here and do illegal business and immoral activities and dare to protest,come on S'poreans!!! we must teach them a lesson ma!!!
On the other hands, our gov should investigate which org or persons let these flies came into our country w/o detection.
Poor S'pore! let the china nationals come and go and make $,we then be scolded that we welcomed them with both arms for they had saved our economic.Originally posted by Quincey:Well, if only matters were that simple. One of the forumities asked if this was just a domestic issue, I guess the answer's pretty obvious.
Can Blueray answer pls?Originally posted by nanren4ever:Our impressions of PRCs are already not very good, now come this PDMM thingy. Why are we still welcoming them with open arms? Its ironic that while they spend money to let their children study here, they are GAINING back the money from our spore men.
Supply and demand theory doesnot apply here lah!!!Originally posted by dragg:supply and demand.
dont keep blaming the china women.
why are they in the business in the first place? those horny old men have to take the blame too.