I dont agree with u this is the procedure flawed.Originally posted by sohguanh:I have a talk to a China colleague (she took some scholarship plan to study in NUS) in my workplace now gone back. Although China education do teach English, their standard is still not as good as Spore. Maybe for Chinese, they are way ahead of Spore but I still tink English in Spore is still a notch higher for the time being. This could be one of the draw factors as in Spore we have both English and Chinese. Listening to their English vocabulary and grammer grasp would indicate they are weaker but they are learning everyday neverthless. I presume they will overtake Spore in another decade on English language command and then Spore will no longer be a hot favorite place for those PDMM + kids and hopefully all social problem associated to them will disappear![]()
Going by argument that this policy and social problem has been ard for a few years, then I am inclined to be on your side. Yes why no change to policy? What are the criteria to admit those china kids + mum etc etc...Originally posted by zzzdidi:I dont agree with u this is the procedure flawed.
This PDMMs' issue had been surfaced a few years ago but the authorities had turned a blind eye to the illegal and immoral activities which these PDMMs had carried out , can the authority said they are awaken only now but this is only minority PDMMs' cases???
Now,we see 80 plus PDMMs protest at China Embassy and demand FOR JOBS.
We want to know what criterials that we allow these PDMMs and their child to be selected and admitted to our PUBLIC SCHOOLS WHICH ARE HIGHLY SUBSIDISED BU OUR TAX PAYERS'$.
More lame attempts to shore up the political base. Rampant importation of foreign kids to acheive what? Something that the govt threw away in the mid-1980s with their hairbrained schemes that insulted a whole upper-middle class of Singaporeans that they upped and left for abroad.Originally posted by sohguanh:My own gut feeling of this current social problem is partly a mis-juddgement on the gahmen authority policy. Their intention was good. They want to get the best or brilliant China young kids into Spore in the hope that as they blossom and grow up, they will stay in Spore and who knows be the future generation of Spore leaders. Something abit similar to import foreign sports talent like table tennis gers.
The error come in as they set too low a criteria so we see lot's of china mum+kids thronging spore with limited funds brought over. So the one year no jobs is the basis of the amount of money the mum+kids bring to spore. After tat, they gotta work to earn a living as money brought from china is not enuff. Now when they want to work, they face a lot of obstruction as the barriers are set too high!
So now those mum are in catch22 situation, cannot work so work illegal lor and if say go back to China, they are worried their kids will lag behind in the China education system especially in the Chinese Language stream. It is a dilemma for them.
So our beloved gahmen in setting the policy indirectly created this mess. Their objective is good but they did not forsee or overlook other areas associated with the policy. Now with so many bad news reports going on, it is HIGH time the policy are reviewed IMMEDIATELY. One year no work is too low a criteria, they should lift it to say 5 years no work. Then this will help to turn away lot's of unaffordable china mum+kids from coming over in the first place.
Now who says scholars and highly educated policy makers do not make mistake? They make mistake too and their mistake repercussion is wide as they involve lots and lots of pp nation-wide. Compare to say a mistake you make in a company where at most you are sacked and damage is kept within a limited group of ppl as in company and customers.
Oh they are cooking up some smart sounding technical terms or phrases.Originally posted by Sagara:Great thread.. but till now we had not seen any authorities speaking about this issue..
Better to address this crap before it rolls into a bigger one..![]()
We hve seen a few writers of this thread are just following the news to recite the gov's "reasonings" on this PDMMs saga and not based on rational.Originally posted by LazerLordz:More lame attempts to shore up the political base. Rampant importation of foreign kids to acheive what? Something that the govt threw away in the mid-1980s with their hairbrained schemes that insulted a whole upper-middle class of Singaporeans that they upped and left for abroad.
Still want to make such a mistake and behave in such a presumptious manner. I really don't know what to say.The person in charge of this PDMM policy, intended or otherwise, owes the people an explanation and he/she better take responsiblility for this mess and step down.
Are u saying our parents involved in this illegal and immoral business to survive???Originally posted by blueheeler:Some of these posts here are very racist against PDMMs. Before we call these mothers cheap-whores who came to S'pore to steal jobs from us, please let us reflect on our recent past.
It wasn't so many years ago when our great-grandparents, grandparents and parents were also new migrants to S'pore, who came here trying to make a living so that theur children can grow up safe and strong. Where would you be if S'pore was hostile to our great-grandparents, grandparents and parents all those years ago when they 1st stepped ashore???
This is no backside business!!! yr children will be born with no front no back like these PDMMs,if y r in this trade!!!Originally posted by zzzdidi:Are u saying our parents involved in this illegal and immoral business to survive???
if this is wat yr parents are doing ,my God??? may i know yr karma???![]()
U re right!Originally posted by ShutterBug:Aiya.. tell all these noisey PDMMs to go home if they don't know how to secure a decent job beside the flesh-trade.
I note that since the authorities clamp down on all those illegal Massage Parlours, suddenly there is an outcry from all these PDMMs.
It's obvious what jobs they can only fulfil and or are willing to do.
Why cry FOUL when they don't have what it takes to secure a decent job here? Living here is not exactly cheap - they should know.
U r really a shameless ppls!!!!Originally posted by blueheeler:dear zzzdidi,
on any given day, i would prefer a hard-working PDMM who would do some sexork so as to keep her family alive to be in S'pore, then to a whiner who can not see beyond his own lack-of-knowledge.
yes, maybe my grandparents may or may not have been involved in illegal work in S'pore, but at least they gave birth to my parents who gave birth to me, and I was raised to accept people as they are as long as they treat others right.
i wonder if your granparents/parents raised you to be so small-minded and ignorant?
dear zzzdidi, you 'graduated' from NUS but your English grammar, spelling and language structure are like that? Perhaps you 'imagine' that you graduated.Originally posted by zzzdidi:U r really a shameless ppls!!!!![]()
I graduated from NUS and had travelled almost the whole world including PRC and know how the cultural revolution impact on these PDMMs and other china nationals
U a younger knows nut and gives us this type of answer and make baseless accusations.
If we are yr parents, we will be worrying to death,are u a "chicken worm" in
chinese language!!!.
It appears u r really an uneducated one and feel shame of u with the remarks .Originally posted by blueheeler:dear zzzdidi, you 'graduated' from NUS but your English grammar, spelling and language structure are like that? Perhaps you 'imagine' that you graduated.
No, I would not like you to be my 'parent'. My parents are respectable. Not like you.
Go crawl back into your shell and pretend that you are well-travelled and learned.![]()
Agreed.Originally posted by pinkyjoey:PDMMs are not suppose to work here!!!! Their role in sg is to accompany their young kids to study here and take care of them.. Not looking for money... To PDMMs, If you n ur family cant afford, please dun send ur kids here.. At the end, both of u n ur kids will struggle to live a life in sg... wat for???
I wonder why the govt willing to grant this kind of policy to China in the first place???![]()
Now the problems emerged, everybody is talking about it... the authorities are pressurized.. they are having hard times to clear the mess they have started... Just like wat chinese said, they are taking rocks throwing on their own feet... Now can feel the pain..
The govt let them in with welcome arm, end up create more problems for themselves... being "demanded" to provide job opportunities to the PDMMs or shd said "take care" their rights and needs... which i find it's riddiculous.. there are more needed sporean out there waiting for govt's assisstances..
But i do felt sorry for those who is innocent... being bad-named because of the blacksheep..
However, PDMMs shd get the idea clear that sg govt nor their ppl own them a living... so dun demand for special treatment.. they are being granted for years to stay here.. where other nations din get these..PDMMs
Always put the kids and their education as the top priority... think carefully before put in action... dun tarnish ur own country folks' name..
Our gov wants to suck up to China, that's why there's this issue now.Originally posted by pinkyjoey:PDMMs are not suppose to work here!!!! Their role in sg is to accompany their young kids to study here and take care of them.. Not looking for money... To PDMMs, If you n ur family cant afford, please dun send ur kids here.. At the end, both of u n ur kids will struggle to live a life in sg... wat for???
I wonder why the govt willing to grant this kind of policy to China in the first place???![]()
Now the problems emerged, everybody is talking about it... the authorities are pressurized.. they are having hard times to clear the mess they have started... Just like wat chinese said, they are taking rocks throwing on their own feet... Now can feel the pain..
The govt let them in with welcome arm, end up create more problems for themselves... being "demanded" to provide job opportunities to the PDMMs or shd said "take care" their rights and needs... which i find it's riddiculous.. there are more needed sporean out there waiting for govt's assisstances..
But i do felt sorry for those who is innocent... being bad-named because of the blacksheep..
However, PDMMs shd get the idea clear that sg govt nor their ppl own them a living... so dun demand for special treatment.. they are being granted for years to stay here.. where other nations din get these..PDMMs
Always put the kids and their education as the top priority... think carefully before put in action... dun tarnish ur own country folks' name..
U r dam right! but we are termed as racist???Originally posted by ShutterBug:You know, eversince China opened their door to the world, it's like the gates of Hell opened too!
All kinds of problems and diseases came directly from there!
Look at SARS!
I feel that they're such a pain!
To me they're like the millions of pesky black common Mynah birds scavenging for food all over Singapore..
But there are ppls who are not man of substance open their mouths talking about nonsense and do not feel ashamed of oneself,worst still!!! encouraging ppls to do sexwork toearn a living.Originally posted by zzzdidi:We hve seen a few writers of this thread are just following the news to recite the gov's "reasonings" on this PDMMs saga and not based on rational.
I am taking pain to analyse the matter and telling them the future when we may hve to face with if the matter will not be reviewed and resolved.
Fortunately, Singapore has these ppls like U who know the real issue and the fact!!!
l