the problem is some dun even hav the BASIC "necessities"Originally posted by the Bear:what are necessary things?
today, at breakfast, one of the lady colleagues said that her condo, car and a whole lot of other things are "necessities"
to me, if i have a roof over my head, something simple and yummy for meals, friends to chat with, i'm happy..
do i live in an ivory tower?
or do i just have simple needs?
wat's the use of getting so many '1st' in the world when we r not happyOriginally posted by ShutterBug:If certain adjustments or changes are not made soon, one day even simple needs will be expensive and hard to maintain.
The irony is that we pride ourselves as a HUB for medical science and healthcare, and many other industries, but there is ALWAYS a shortage of beds in ALL our hospitals.Originally posted by neutral_onliner:wat's the use of getting so many '1st' in the world when we r not happy![]()
well it seem tat they alway think tat they noe wat is right and good for usOriginally posted by ShutterBug:The irony is that we pride ourselves as a HUB for medical science and healthcare, and many other industries, but there is ALWAYS a shortage of beds in ALL our hospitals.
Why is this so???
Where's the flaw???
I feel that the problem, is their INABILITY or WILLINGNESS, to listen to us - the very people of Singapore.Originally posted by neutral_onliner:well it seem tat they alway think tat they noe wat is right and good for us![]()
Actually, the poor just want a chance in life here; ability to send their kids to school, and basically ability to find decent employment.Originally posted by googoomuck:We live in Singapore where the poor wants much but the rich, everthing.
How much it cost u a roof? a 4 rooms HDB flat in 1980 is S$50,000 in Hougang and now is at least S$170,000 in Sengkang ,bus fares is $0.25(min) in 1980 and $0.95 (min) now, food and electricitiy,water and other expenses had all been raised at least 2 to 3 times but our graduates' salary is the same or worst than 1980s'.Originally posted by the Bear:what are necessary things?
today, at breakfast, one of the lady colleagues said that her condo, car and a whole lot of other things are "necessities"
to me, if i have a roof over my head, something simple and yummy for meals, friends to chat with, i'm happy..
Robust! Robust indeed!Originally posted by zzzdidi:How much it cost u a roof? a 4 rooms HDB flat in 1980 is S$50,000 in Hougang and now is at least S$170,000 in Sengkang ,bus fares is $0.25(min) in 1980 and $0.95 (min) now, food and electricitiy,water and other expenses had all been raised at least 2 to 3 times but our graduates' salary is the same or worst than 1980s'.
May we know how they are going to bring up a family and smiles,pls!!!
Do u know yr simple needs is at least S$2000 p.m/p.family in S'pore where in the third worl countries like VN is only S$ 200 p.m but they earned S$500 per month/per family that why they are more happier than us.
Pls make comparision apple with apple,they can survive with a $ per day in some countries but can we in S'pore??? Once we open a house door S$20 would be spent on transportations and ERP etc l
My dad and mom at the ag of 70 plus are still working for their daily needs, we dont want 2 be like them, right!!!
Agreed with Shutter.Originally posted by zzzdidi:How much it cost u a roof? a 4 rooms HDB flat in 1980 is S$50,000 in Hougang and now is at least S$170,000 in Sengkang ,bus fares is $0.25(min) in 1980 and $0.95 (min) now, food and electricitiy,water and other expenses had all been raised at least 2 to 3 times but our graduates' salary is the same or worst than 1980s'.
May we know how they are going to bring up a family and smiles,pls!!!
Do u know yr simple needs is at least S$2000 p.m/p.family in S'pore where in the third worl countries like VN is only S$ 200 p.m but they earned S$500 per month/per family that why they are more happier than us.
Pls make comparision apple with apple,they can survive with a $ per day in some countries but can we in S'pore??? Once we open a house door S$20 would be spent on transportations and ERP etc l
My dad and mom at the ag of 70 plus are still working for their daily needs, we dont want 2 be like them, right!!!
This is a matter of fact!!! How the gov denied it???Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Agreed with Shutter.
Well said zzz.
Actually we can trace all of the high cost of living to the expensive land. High land price - high rental - higher cost of doing business - more expensive goods and services. The gov never admitted it.
I stayed in here for almost ten years n sometimes I talked to local frens n they mentioned stayed in HDB flat no good need to stay in private apartment.Originally posted by the Bear:what are necessary things?
I hve been to the USA and other European countries, the old floks there are paid by gov to support themselves during their golden years,if they have saved enough money,they will travel to c the world,where in s'pore,our old floks at the age of 70 still hve to work to meet their daily needs. How can we as a 2nd generation of Spore be happy when my parents hve to work to make their end meets and our children have to work more than 12 hours a day to survive,Originally posted by caramon.:I was shocked when I read from the straits times that singapore are ranked 130 in terms of happiness. How can that possibly be? We are progressing as a nation, therefore something is very wrong with the survey.
Whenever I went to the states or Europe, I was shock to see so many old folks strolling in the park. Don't they need to work? Or rather, are they consider useless and not wanted by their society?
In singapore, elderly have many job opportunities :
1. As a cleaner in kopitiam or food court.
2. Self employment as a taxi driver.
3. As a dish washer.
We should be thankful that in Singapore even old folks can find jobs.
The government of Singapore is always helping its people - recently to help the poor buy flats. It looks like Singaporeans are relatively problem free and happy - not much suffering in Singapore. The people I met in America are generally unhappy with their lives and is always talking about trying to change it. But in singapore, PAP are in power for 40years and still going strong because of strong mandate by the people.
With such brilliant and capable government in singapore, I can't believe singaporean are unhappy. The result of the survey were flawed. Surveys which are broadcast widely on national papers to such a wide audience should meet higher standards.
I don't disagree with your comparison with USA & European countries' government's generosity towards old folks, BUT, financially providing for people to retire can have disastrous economic outcomes.Originally posted by zzzdidi:I hve been to the USA and other European countries, the old floks there are paid by gov to support themselves during their golden years,if they have saved enough money,they will travel to c the world,where in s'pore,our old floks at the age of 70 still hve to work to meet their daily needs. How can we as a 2nd generation of Spore be happy when my parents hve to work to make their end meets and our children have to work more than 12 hours a day to survive,
I dont think singaporeans are happy for the cost of living is not commensurate with the salary earned now.The survey is not flawed but reflects the reality climate of Spore
In HK, our relatives ie my dad's brothers received S$400 pm to maintain their daily needs and if U are unemployed ,you will get assistance in monetary and moral terms to keep U going at least for the time being. Is this scheme has disastrous economics outcome to HK? No! for you would feel ashame to collect this $ because we would rather work than die to save face just like my parents.Originally posted by ShutterBug:I don't disagree with your comparison with USA & European countries' government's generosity towards old folks, BUT, financially providing for people to retire can have disastrous economic outcomes.
Our gov is wise in that they DO NOT follow what our western counterparts are doing for their aged people, but however lack in proactively cultivating an employment industry that VALUES or at least, RECOGNIZE older citizens as employable people.
If we are to toil till we drop dead, at least provide us jobs wherein we can make use of our past experiences, rather than it to be always some cleaning or dish-clearing job. It's DE-MEANING.
You have some good points there, and I agree.Originally posted by zzzdidi:In HK, our relatives ie my dad's brothers received S$400 pm to maintain their daily needs and if U are unemployed ,you will get assistance in monetary and moral terms to keep U going at least for the time being. Is this scheme has disastrous economics outcome to HK? No! for you would feel ashame to collect this $ because we would rather work than die to save face just like my parents.
Our gov paid millions $ to the Civil Servants as pension after their retirement ,this is very unfair as compare with the small amount which they should give to the old folks and make them happy.
As a profeesinal in your own field,of course we do not want to end up cleaning or dish-cleaning job but there is no good jobs 4 you when U reached the age of 40 .This is the worrying phenomeon now in Spore and that why our children are not happy!!!! and we too due to high cost of living???
Any Solutions????
There is an interesting article about Spore in this FEER July pubilcation.Originally posted by ShutterBug:You have some good points there, and I agree.
But as you know, our money are all under our government's control, and they will decide what to do with it or how we should use it - for fear that we use it all up and go begging to them for more. This is their mentality.
Of course most of us who can work will feel shameful to always expect handouts from gov to survive. but I'm sure there are those out there, who will shamelessly take & take and not wanting to work at all.
Yes, unless they do something soon, or there can be a potential melt-down in decades to come, when all these gungho younger generation become the next generation of old Singaporeans. They'll be singing a different song then....
Care to share by e-mail a copy 2 me?Originally posted by will4:There is an interesting article about Spore in this FEER July pubilcation.
Originally posted by caramon.:I was shocked when I read from the straits times that singapore are ranked 130 in terms of happiness. How can that possibly be? We are progressing as a nation, therefore something is very wrong with the survey.
Whenever I went to the states or Europe, I was shock to see so many old folks strolling in the park. Don't they need to work? Or rather, are they consider useless and not wanted by their society?
In singapore, elderly have many job opportunities :
1. As a cleaner in kopitiam or food court.
2. Self employment as a taxi driver.
3. As a dish washer.
We should be thankful that in Singapore even old folks can find jobs.
The government of Singapore is always helping its people - recently to help the poor buy flats. It looks like Singaporeans are relatively problem free and happy - not much suffering in Singapore. The people I met in America are generally unhappy with their lives and is always talking about trying to change it. But in singapore, PAP are in power for 40years and still going strong because of strong mandate by the people.
With such brilliant and capable government in singapore, I can't believe singaporean are unhappy. The result of the survey were flawed. Surveys which are broadcast widely on national papers to such a wide audience should meet higher standards.