I agree with u that there is a lack of humanity in Spore, but do u know Why?It is a failure of our education system which put emphasis on results only!!!!We don't care about the process! our moral education and society obligation are basically nil due to the competition for rankings amongst schools.Originally posted by browniebaobao:I think one will be happy if he counts his blessings and be contented with what he has. Dun ever compare with people ba.. coz that will only make you feel sour.
Being happy seems to be easy yet difficult. It depends on how you define happiness. Some people thinks happiness means having all the money they want, posh car, dining at a posh restaurant etc.. but to some people, just a roof over the head, decent 3 meals and enough to spend is enough.
However, living in sg is stressful bcos of the competition and also the fast paced society. Somehow, I feel that there's a lack of humanity too.
The result of the survey were not flawed.Originally posted by caramon.:I was shocked when I read from the straits times that singapore are ranked 130 in terms of happiness. How can that possibly be? We are progressing as a nation, therefore something is very wrong with the survey.
Whenever I went to the states or Europe, I was shock to see so many old folks strolling in the park. Don't they need to work? Or rather, are they consider useless and not wanted by their society?
In singapore, elderly have many job opportunities :
1. As a cleaner in kopitiam or food court.
2. Self employment as a taxi driver.
3. As a dish washer.
We should be thankful that in Singapore even old folks can find jobs.
The government of Singapore is always helping its people - recently to help the poor buy flats. It looks like Singaporeans are relatively problem free and happy - not much suffering in Singapore. The people I met in America are generally unhappy with their lives and is always talking about trying to change it. But in singapore, PAP are in power for 40years and still going strong because of strong mandate by the people.
With such brilliant and capable government in singapore, I can't believe singaporean are unhappy. The result of the survey were flawed. Surveys which are broadcast widely on national papers to such a wide audience should meet higher standards.
I cannot agree more with you. Very detailed analogy. As a student myself, I agree that Singapore only want RESULTS, RESULTS and more RESULTS. The government does not care about the process. I also agree that Happy singaporeans will make Spore great. If we are not happy, it will reflect on Singapore's image. So, dont worry, BE HAPPY!Originally posted by zzzdidi:I agree with u that there is a lack of humanity in Spore, but do u know Why?It is a failure of our education system which put emphasis on results only!!!!We don't care about the process! our moral education and society obligation are basically nil due to the competition for rankings amongst schools.
Nevertheless, our gov should and must find ways to provide a roof,meals and transportation.electricity and water expenses reasonably and not assume average sporeans earned as much as gov believed in.
Pls take note that only Happy Singaporeans will make Spore great!!!It is no point to be proud of Singapore in where the people are unhappy.
I kena told by my lecturer NUS n NTU graduates also study like hell but only focused on passing exam to get result. It is like stiffling creativity.Originally posted by LALAS:I cannot agree more with you. Very detailed analogy. As a student myself, I agree that Singapore only want RESULTS, RESULTS and more RESULTS. The government does not care about the process. I also agree that Happy singaporeans will make Spore great. If we are not happy, it will reflect on Singapore's image. So, dont worry, BE HAPPY!YAY.
then increase GST every yr ar?Originally posted by lotus999:if they give progress package every year i'll be very happy!
U r missing the issue here!!!Originally posted by Fatum:what's the point of this thread really ? ...
is this a philsophical discussion, or a rant thread ? ...
*checks forum name ....
oops, sorry, my bad ....
hmmmm ... vietnam was it ? ...
would anyone like to migrate to vietnam ? ... be a citizen of that country, and your children and loved ones too ? ...
The last time I checked, parents were the ones who should be responsible for raising their children with the right values, and not the government.Originally posted by zzzdidi:I agree with u that there is a lack of humanity in Spore, but do u know Why?It is a failure of our education system which put emphasis on results only!!!!We don't care about the process! our moral education and society obligation are basically nil due to the competition for rankings amongst schools.
If parents are busy in making their ends meet,do we hve time to implant the right value to our children?Originally posted by av98m:The last time I checked, parents were the ones who should be responsible for raising their children with the right values, and not the government.![]()
Quite true actually.Originally posted by zzzdidi:If parents are busy in making their ends meet,do we hve time to implant the right value to our children?
Anyway,it is the whole nation including family,shool and gov's resposibilty to teach our children with right value,but in real life,our schools have adopted the wrong path ie result orientated,our gov is profit orientaed and our family value is self centred.
Sporeans are not happy!!!!
..................................*speechless*Originally posted by zzzdidi:If parents are busy in making their ends meet,do we hve time to implant the right value to our children?
Anyway,it is the whole nation including family,shool and gov's resposibilty to teach our children with right value,but in real life,our schools have adopted the wrong path ie result orientated,our gov is profit orientaed and our family value is self centred.
Sporeans are not happy!!!!
Ahhhh...Originally posted by av98m:..................................*speechless*
So you're saying its the government's, and the teachers' responsibility to raise your children for you. Because you say you have no time.
If this is representative of the attitude of most parents in Singapore then I think we're doomed.
One can argue that people who have no time(or are unwilling to find the time), or do not have the financial means (whether actual or perceived) should not have children in the first place. Why live beyond your means and then complain about it?
I agree on this.Originally posted by av98m:..................................*speechless*
So you're saying its the government's, and the teachers' responsibility to raise your children for you. Because you say you have no time.
If this is representative of the attitude of most parents in Singapore then I think we're doomed.
One can argue that people who have no time(or are unwilling to find the time), or do not have the financial means (whether actual or perceived) should not have children in the first place. Why live beyond your means and then complain about it?
Hence, it is no surprise the ever increasing presence of highly educated but obnoxious & conceited people due to lack of MORALS & HUMAN VALUES.Originally posted by MingFreeman:I agree with you on this. Parents are mainly responsible for their children's upbringing and values and mindsets.
But there are things which are beyond the control of parents and in fact, if they want the best for their child here in spore, they have to go with the flow.
Spore is a highly competitive society which places heavy emphasis on being at the top or near the top. Everywhere, from the workplace to school or even at kindergarten level, u can see signs of fierce competition.
Hence, parents have no choice but to try to push their children to be among the best. From young, they are already instilled to have a competitive mindset where all others are your competitors.
Besides, the education system (the school, the teachers) has always placed more emphasis on academics and results, rather than on morals and human values.
Spore is a society which allows little room for those who cant make the mark set by the govt. As a result, parents, who have no control over this, have to follow suit. They too, place heavy emphasis on academic performance.
Pls c the previou postings,then u open yr big gap!!!Originally posted by av98m:..................................*speechless*
I'm curious. If you do not mind me asking, what makes up the 10k per month household expenses?Originally posted by zzzdidi:Pls c the previou postings,then u open yr big gap!!!
I hve 3 childrens, one is a medical doctor son and the other is a A* scholar son,my last is a grl in Sec 1. My dad and mom are working for their daily needs now.
Our household expenses is S$10 K p.m but our salaries earned atogether is less than S$10k taking into a/c of CPF contributions.
We hve to work more than 12 hours a day and c each others after 11pm daily including my eldest son working in NUH.
Have u married? If yes,how many members in yr family???Originally posted by av98m:I'm curious. If you do not mind me asking, what makes up the 10k per month household expenses?
isnt it exaggerating to spend 10k on expenses?Originally posted by zzzdidi:Have u married? If yes,how many members in yr family???
Pls answer me b4 i answer u!
I think we are not in a first world country but charged with a first class expenses onboard of a SIA plane.That why we are not happy !!!Originally posted by ShutterBug:Quite true actually.
I note most young families are burdened with money making, and kids are left to their live-in maid.
It seems everything else takes the backseat, while money chasing, paper qualifications, and status are all prime priorities.
So hence, it wouldn't be a surprise that when they finally have to stop and smell the roses either by choice or circumstances, they find they've lost their ability to 'smell'... anything.