Well, we are a multi-racial society. So there are bound to be those who CANNOT communicate in proper English for lifestyle, family, or personal reasons - but nonetheless they do get their message across on a daily basis using whatever form of English or language prefered.Originally posted by missqi:yeah. i can also make the switch effectively, but problem is, most people cannot even speak standard english; they cannot make the switch.![]()
language trends are very hard to predict; amidst other problems. lol. u think the govt cares about how we sgreans mutilate and desecrate the english language when they have other problems to settle?Originally posted by ShutterBug:Well, we are a multi-racial society. So there are bound to be those who CANNOT communicate in proper English for lifestyle, family, or personal reasons - but nonetheless they do get their message across on a daily basis using whatever form of English or language prefered.
Now my curiosity is; WHY couldn't or didn't our gov foresee this shortcoming decades ago (when Mandarin was made a compulsory subject to pass in primary school all the way up to Uni) since they are comprised of Top Brains????
Oh.... WE are becoming their biggest problem as the years go by, judging from all the topics so far posted!Originally posted by missqi:language trends are very hard to predict; amidst other problems. lol. u think the govt cares about how we sgreans mutilate and desecrate the english language when they have other problems to settle?
The worst kinds, are those who can just speak English, but the moment a European or American speaks to them, the suddenly break into an accent to try and match the European or American!Originally posted by elindra:I think alot of Singaporeans speak English/Singlish/Whatever, based on the setting/situation/circumstances they are in, and the person or people they are speaking to.
actually hor.. u cannot blame them one. dunnoe why its abit natural for me to try and adjust to their accent.. machiam auto one. try to adjust back but dunnoe why find myself speaking a few words oddly. dats y i dun like to speak to foreigners. becuz no confidence in our style of english, everything we speak oso not good nuff.Originally posted by ShutterBug:The worst kinds, are those who can just speak English, but the moment a European or American speaks to them, the suddenly break into an accent to try and match the European or American!
Everytime I come across a situation like that, especially at work, I will excuse myself and go away till the conversation is over. Because it makes my skin crawl!
I mean, what the hey, speak normally! Speak proper English normally as you would to your fellow Singaporean colleagues! Don't have to sound like them!
Respect yourself, stick to your own accent.
those people are pathetic, it sometimes can be a torture listening to them talkOriginally posted by missqi:yeah. i can also make the switch effectively, but problem is, most people cannot even speak standard english; they cannot make the switch.![]()
To speak standard English isn't an issue. I believe most of us here can do it. The problem is pronouncing. Some people pronounciation are so bad that foreigners can't understand, and they thought we are speaking Singlish, when in fact, it's not.Originally posted by missqi:yeah. i can also make the switch effectively, but problem is, most people cannot even speak standard english; they cannot make the switch.![]()
Zee is American pronouciation for Z if I'm not wrong. Zat is the British prounounciation for Z. I've been taught to prounonce Z as "zat", since we are using British English, not American English. Nowadays, because of our closer ties with US, things are changed, I guess.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Funny I think, as I recall back when I was in Primary school, I was rather sternly corrected by the teacher when I pronounced the letter 'Z' as "zee".
Now, it's widely acknowledged as "zee" - not "zat".
I feel like a guinea pig in the education system's experimentations ...
Where's the problem??Originally posted by banzie:I think this is just bullshit.... Where the hack in the world has the most accurate english? I think only london. Even Places like Canada, Australia and even in many parts of England, the english accents and pronouciation is different.
Singapore is the only country in the world that thinks this singlish thing is a shame. We had spoken much better english than almost all the common wealth countries except for a few.
Language differences? The reasons is simple because in a different part of the world we have many things that are unique from others therefore often our lifestyle affects our usage of language. Even in China a province alone have about a 100 different dilects and ways of speaking yet all are the Han people and all speak chinese.
It's nothign to be ashame of. Language is a key for communication. If it is able to achieve it's objective smoothly then what's the problem exactly?
It's Zeeeee in AmericanOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Zee is American pronouciation for Z if I'm not wrong. Zat is the British prounounciation for Z. I've been taught to prounonce Z as "zat", since we are using British English, not American English. Nowadays, because of our closer ties with US, things are changed, I guess.
Americans speak English. British speak English. Australians speak English.Originally posted by Dogtor:It's Zeeeee in American
and
ZED in English