Point to note the following are just my 5 cent worth assumption and might not be in anyway, the truth. Also, i am not a supporter of any parties mentioned below.
Chee don't talk cock. It's just that the virus he is spreading is not meant for people like us.
Consider this stat. (rough est only)
Population are made up of, say 60% of lower/average, 30% of above ave and 10% the top mind. Hereby refer to 60's 30's and 10's. Obvoiusly, the 60's grp is the mass and if u can win their support, u can forget about the other 2 grps at least for the time being. So how to win their support? Ah... u have to study their behaviour, like and dislike, what motiviate them and most important, what agatiate them.
Overheard this conversation sometime ago in TPY coffee shop between 3 guys.
A: %$%^% the pap
B: What happen?
A: Park at roadside a while only what! Like that also must fine me. Next election if i vote for them ar, i chop off my john and feed chicken man.
c: Aiyah, anyhow park in city area sure kena fine what.
A: Oi! who are u , pap "chow kau" ar! FXXK off i don't know u.
B: Yah lah. FXXK off man.

These 3 gentleman are proably from the 60's grp. Surprisingly,2 out of 3 are agatiate.. by a parking fine?? And all it need is just a fine for them to cast their vote to anyone but the ruling party??? Very em.. implusive indeed. So what happen to A eventually is to LL goes to a nearby postoffice and pay his fine. Dun think he dare to do anything funny. But then.. the anger never subside. This is when our dear "DR" Chee comes in.
He tells u how much the govt had bully u and how bad u had being treated. In short, he amplify A anger. At this point, chee doesn't need any concrete base to support his theory and claim because, his target follower A, doesn't need any. All A needs was someone who will stand with him against the govt. As far as A is concerned, chee is a hero.
A bit of similarity to the tactics used in some of the middle east countries. People are not exposed to the outside world, people are poor. Therefore people are unhappy. Leaders turned people anger toward the west or anyone they dislike (20% effective) then use the powerful tool of religion (80% effective) Ok, good enough, 100% effective. Maybe this explained why he tag up with.. u know who.
So why Jurong? Is it because there are more unhappy people? People who are victim of the economical downturn? Lost jobs, paycut etc? Unhappy people who are weaker in their faith and are more easy to be infected by his virus? I dunno!
Lastly, if u can find any sense in my words, how can u call him stupid. SDP had being the heart and blood of Mr Chiam who had made much effort to built. Our chee manage to kick him out and took over the party thereby saving at least 10 yrs of work. I choose to call him Miachel Jordan of dirty politic.