thats where it gets funny.Originally posted by Kenashi:just an estimate lah.
not working, no money, at home loh
since the govt end up collecting money, might as well start it earlier![]()
singaporeans don't like to work in service industry, they think that it is too lowly for them, they rather starveOriginally posted by dragg:thats where it gets funny.
plenty of sales assistants and cashiers jobs available but no-takers.
so what are all these 64,700 people surviving on?
i dont believe this is the case.Originally posted by Kenashi:singaporeans don't like to work in service industry, they think that it is too lowly for them, they rather starve
eat A&W loh
air n water
figure from p-package?Originally posted by dragg:there are about 64,700 unemployed workers in singapore.
foreigner now make up 15% of isetan's workforce.
isetan prefer singaporeans.
from jan next year, foreign workers can make up to 45% of the workforce of the service sector, up from 40%.
from oct this year, the levy for skilled work permit holders will increased from $100 to $150 for each worker.
how did the govt come up with the figure 64,700?
where are all these people?
the foreign workers cap will increased from jan next year. why does the levy increase start in oct this year?
what is the purpose of increasing the cap? to allow firms to employ more foreigners? if so, why increase the levy which will in turn increase the overheads making it more difficult for businesses?
plus 1.....Originally posted by reyes:i believe firms are struggling to hire local workers, but why?. can anyone advice how much a local sales assistant at a dept store are being paid?maybe $1000- $1200/mth. why these sales assistant which has to stand for long hours are being paid such low salary? these salary are set base on what critria? compare to china PRs? malaysians? philippino? i would like to ask the question, if a dept store employ a foreign sales assistant, after paying $150 levy,do they still profit when comparing to hiring a local singaporean?
what kind of stupid levy is $150 gona make a monkey difference to employer? it just enough to pump full tank of petrol in their mercedes and BMW.
stop blaming fellow singaporean for being choosy, can we still be happy and contented when lowly educated singaporean are being paid second class salary living in first world living standard?
i find their decision contradictory too.Originally posted by reyes:i believe firms are struggling to hire local workers, but why?. can anyone advice how much a local sales assistant at a dept store are being paid?maybe $1000- $1200/mth. why these sales assistant which has to stand for long hours are being paid such low salary? these salary are set base on what critria? compare to china PRs? malaysians? philippino? i would like to ask the question, if a dept store employ a foreign sales assistant, after paying $150 levy,do they still profit when comparing to hiring a local singaporean?
what kind of stupid levy is $150 gona make a monkey difference to employer? it just enough to pump full tank of petrol in their mercedes and BMW.
stop blaming fellow singaporean for being choosy, can we still be happy and contented when lowly educated singaporean are being paid second class salary living in first world living standard?
Obviously what you said being true, there isn't a need for a DECISION regarding the increase in levy.Originally posted by dragg:i find their decision contradictory too.
why increase the levy? it will only increase the overheads.
why increase the cap? it will lead to more foreign labours coming in.
all in all they are only interested in making more money from the levy.
hopefully nt world class prices denOriginally posted by FireIce:we are world class
of cos must give staff world class pay
Very well explained indeed.Originally posted by SilverPal:I remember reading in another thread, there is another reason why many locals are unwilling to take up these low paying jobs. No offence but retail jobs that pay less than $700 a month is really low paying, regardless of the hours.
Many foreigners from PRC, India, Malaysia (lesser extent) are willing to work for absurdly low pay because they are here for a fixed period of time. They scrimp and save, and try very hard to earn extra side incomes (legal or otherwise) so that they can take the money they've earn back home.
Imagine converting our SGD into rupees or renminbi, you can imagine how rich they are back home. They can buy a small plot of land or open a small provision stall and live easy the rest of their lives.
How many locals are able to escape to another country to be able to retire there spending in either rupees or renmingbi? Only a few. Furthermore, we have to consider the CPF contribution which we are unable to touch until we retire, and if there isn't enough in the CPF, you still can't touch it even after retirement.
How many of us can say we can survive for at least 1 year after losing our jobs? How many of us are ASSURED of having half a million SGD upon retirement? Not many, hence many of us want higher, and higher and higer pay. Its materialism, granted, but also necessity.
Next thing you'll ask, why sit around jobless when you can earn few hundred a month? Well, being fresh to the workforce, I face a similiar situation. should I accept a low pay while looking for another job? Or should I concentrate on looking for a job that meets my (reasonable) pay demand?
I chose to get a low paying job while looking for another higher paying job. Now I'm facing the problem of employers trying to pay me beneth my expected salary. ie. They are willing to spend up to $2.5k for a new hire, but upon hearing of my previously drawn salary, they will push it down to $2.1k which is a significant increase over my previously drawn salary.
That being said, working also incurs an increased expenditure. Travelling, buying clothes to wear, more expensive food, etc. Many of you can give many suggestions to save money, but implementing those suggestions is really miserable.
In a way, I know the hope these poorer ppl have when looking for a better job and I can understand the fear of "spoiling your own market" when getting a job.
we're also sugar cane, every drop to be squeezed and then dumped; preferably in jb, bintan or batam.Originally posted by ShutterBug:We're just laying eggs, and they're just collecting them. Term after term.
It's a correct balancing act: increase the levy to encourage bosses to employ local workers. But if locals demand far too much in wages for their level of productivity, it may be more economical for businesses to employ foreigners. In that case, we must not stifle the competitiveness of such businesses.Originally posted by dragg:what is the purpose of increasing the cap? to allow firms to employ more foreigners? if so, why increase the levy which will in turn increase the overheads making it more difficult for businesses?
Captialism is indeed harsh. It wants the workers to work long hours like the Singapore maids yet pay them as low as possible, yet demand them to procreate lots of babies with this unbalanced type of lifestyle.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Well, Singaporeans want cheaper services and we don't want to pay higher taxes. So in the civil service for example, the government has successfully cut jobs and make existing staff work harder for the same salary. But Singaporeans complain about the workload and the lack of work-life balance, so these jobs go to foreigner workers who are willing to work harder for less pay.
It is the same the wortld over. In the UK, British workers are losing their jobs to cheaper Polish workers who are willing to accept pay below the minimum wage and work far harder.
The bottom line is: if foreigners can do your job for less pay, you will lose your job to them...period. If we cannot compete, then we should seriously consider spending our retirement in Batam. Sell off the HDB flat and you can live quite comfortably in Bintan or Batam. It is tough message but it's time we face up to the facts: it's survival of the fittest.
Its not massive greed that make locals demand higher pay, well, not most of the time anyway.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Well, Singaporeans want cheaper services and we don't want to pay higher taxes. So in the civil service for example, the government has successfully cut jobs and make existing staff work harder for the same salary. But Singaporeans complain about the workload and the lack of work-life balance, so these jobs go to foreigner workers who are willing to work harder for less pay.
It is the same the wortld over. In the UK, British workers are losing their jobs to cheaper Polish workers who are willing to accept pay below the minimum wage and work far harder.
The bottom line is: if foreigners can do your job for less pay, you will lose your job to them...period. If we cannot compete, then we should seriously consider spending our retirement in Batam. Sell off the HDB flat and you can live quite comfortably in Bintan or Batam. It is tough message but it's time we face up to the facts: it's survival of the fittest.
I agree that Singapore, while lacking in any natural resources need to remain competitive with the rest of the world by not practicing protectionism, but wouldn't prospering by neglecting the people (the only natural resource of Singapore) be akin to setting up a time-bomb to deal with later?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:It's a correct balancing act: increase the levy to encourage bosses to employ local workers. But if locals demand far too much in wages for their level of productivity, it may be more economical for businesses to employ foreigners. In that case, we must not stifle the competitiveness of such businesses.
This new policy will help local workers who are just marginally less cost-effective when compared to their foreign counterparts. The increase in levy may be enough to make it worthwhile to employ locals. But again if foreigners can do the job just as well for half the salary, we should not practise protectionism at the risk of losing competitiveness.
Fertility drops in every developed nation. It's not surprising at all now that we have moved into a knowledge-based rather than a labour-intensive economy.Originally posted by kilua:Captialism is indeed harsh. It wants the workers to work long hours like the Singapore maids yet pay them as low as possible, yet demand them to procreate lots of babies with this unbalanced type of lifestyle.
I hope i dont hear you complaining about the lack of babies in Singapore.
Maybe we will have another marxist type of rebellion in future against capitalism for its exploitation of workers...