In the example you raised, presume you are saying locals take home less because of CPF. Your CPF money goes to pay for your HDB flat, your medical insurance and your retirement. It's still your money...if it is not mandatory, Singaporeans won't save for their own retirement.Originally posted by SilverPal:Its not massive greed that make locals demand higher pay, well, not most of the time anyway.
Imagine a job that pays $2k SGD. A local can only take home $1.6k before taxes while a foreigner takes home $2k before taxes. Bearing in mind foreigners have no family comittment in sg, they can squeeze in to one 3 room flat with 6 other foreigners for the next 2-3 years.
What about locals? Assuming you have no friends, all your family members have died (saving you money on christmas and birthday presents), how long can you squeeze into a 3 room flat with 6 other people? 3 years? 6 years? Until retirement? Will there be a light at the end of the tunnel?
Our only hope to to become a quitter and steal jobs from others who are more expensive than us, such as those who really are in the first world.
I neglected to realise the different uses of the CPF, thanks for informing me.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:In the example you raised, presume you are saying locals take home less because of CPF. Your CPF money goes to pay for your HDB flat, your medical insurance and your retirement. It's still your money...if it is not mandatory, Singaporeans won't save for their own retirement.
Many foreigners are taking on lowly paid jobs and earn far less than 2k a month. How much do you pay your maids?
Your filipino maid is not able to buy a flat or car in Singapore as well. The fact is, if you work as a maid, you are competing at the same level as your maid. You earn the same sort of salary and you can only expect to have to the same quality of life, ie. $10k pesos in the Phillippines. You can withdraw your CPF if you renounce your citizenship and emigrate there....and you will enjoy the same benefits as your maid.Originally posted by SilverPal:If I chose to become a maid, I would earn $1k SGD per month. minus CPF I will take home $800 SGD per month. At the end of the year I will have $9.6k SGD (assuming no expenditure) with $2.4k SGD in CPF. Assume I work as a maid for 2 years, I would have $4.8k SGD in CPF. Would I be able to buy a flat or car with that amount of money? What else can I do with that money? Invest? If I was good at investing, would I be a maid?
Now the question: Since the fillipino maid can take home $10k Pesos by the end of the first year, how long would I need to work as a maid to have the same spending power (in sg since I have no money to migrate) as the fillipino (spending in phillipines)?
Very true. Assuming that I take the CPF factor out of the equation so that I am competing at the same level as my maid. That fact remains that, we do not choose which country to live in, we are citizens of our respective countries, like it or not.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Your filipino maid is not able to buy a flat or car in Singapore as well. The fact is, if you work as a maid, you are competing at the same level as your maid. You earn the same sort of salary and you can only expect to have to the same quality of life, ie. $10k pesos in the Phillippines. You can withdraw your CPF if you renounce your citizenship and emigrate there....and you will enjoy the same benefits as your maid.
The fact is, if we choose to live in a first world country like Singapore and enjoy the quality of life in a first world nation, we must be able to compete at a higher level than your maid. And btw, a car is a luxury and damages the environment. You can get by more easily in Singapore without a car...use public transport.
Originally posted by SilverPal:Singaporeans can emigrate to Malaysia, Indonesia or even China where the costs are lower and their life savings (after selling that HDB flat) will go pretty far. As reported in Zaobao, graduates from Sichuan University are taking on jobs as nannies in Beijing for S$300 a month. Your dollars will go further there.
[b]Hence many singaporeans, with knowledge that they MIGHT not be able to migrate, due to whatever reasons, would have to take the highest possible paying job they can get. Any job that does not give them the means to support themselves and maybe 1 or 2 dependents cannot possibly in good sense be considered.
Hence, (most) poorer singaporeans cannot be said to be choosy or picky about their jobs but rather pragmatic. Even when using public transport.
b]
Hence many singaporeans, with knowledge that they MIGHT not be able to migrate, due to whatever reasons, would have to take the highest possible paying job they can get. Any job that does not give them the means to support themselves and maybe 1 or 2 dependents cannot possibly in good sense be considered.As we should too
You are wrong,the paid is too low in some servicing industry,n yet the working hours increases,F**k the government!!!!Originally posted by Kenashi:singaporeans don't like to work in service industry, they think that it is too lowly for them, they rather starve
eat A&W loh
air n water
Problem is, our gov can't see or don't want to see that $800 p/mth is not enough!Originally posted by Poolman:Not that no people want to work for Isetan , of course i won't work for Isetan if Isetan offered me pathetic pay , right ?
Before Isetan make this statement , they must make known to why they are not getting Singaporean to work for them , it's about $$$$ la .
$750 for a cashier's job ? 44 hrs per week , odd hours , reached home 10pm , no overtime , no incentives , orchard food expensive , transport expensive ..... expenses high ? How to work ?
work liao , month end also negative in $$$ , what for ?
Sinagapore work must have take home $800 than can survive . Gross must have $1100 la , to be fair .
take home lesser than $600 , eat what ?
Compare the skills of the Singaporean worker with his foreign counterpart. A University graduate from Sichuan is willing to to work as a nanny for S$300 a month. Their factory workers are willing to work for a third our our salary and whilst we complain about the poor pay at Isetan, hundreds of Mainland Chinese are willing to come to work for that pay.Originally posted by macjoe:Why has the Sg worker become so unemployable compared to the foreign worker?
Why are employers going for foreign workers?
Why is the Sg worker more expensive to employ than the foreign worker?
What's the Sg gov's responsibility to the Singaporean workers AND foreign workers?
With the way employment works here, the future doesn't look promising for the Sg worker...it sure looks bright for the foreign worker...imho.![]()
Allow me to humbly correct you on this one;Originally posted by av98m:Why has the Sg worker become so unemployable compared to the foreign worker?
What's the Sg gov's responsibility to the Singaporean workers AND foreign workers?
Ans: None, it appears. The government feels more responsible to employers, helping to ensure that they can squeeze the workers dry. This is essential to attract foreign companies to set up shop here and increase the government's corporate tax revenue.
Dear Sir,Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Compare the skills of the Singaporean worker with his foreign counterpart. A University graduate from Sichuan is willing to to work as a nanny for S$300 a month. Their factory workers are willing to work for a third our our salary and whilst we complain about the poor pay at Isetan, hundreds of Mainland Chinese are willing to come to work for that pay.
Why are employers going for foreign workers? Increase the profit margin, of course. Businesses are not charities...they aim to earn as much as possible within the law.
Singapore's responsibilty is to the majority of Singaporeans. That means to keep jobs in Singapore as much as possible and not lose them to cheaper economies. That means we must remain competitive and not pay our workers far more than what they deserve, in comparison with what their foreign counterparts are getting for that level of skill.
As for costs of living, Singaporeans are themselves driving up the cost of living. Why are more people buying cars if they cannot afford it? Why do Singaporeans have bigger properties than Hong Kongers on average? If Singaporeans cannot afford it, people shouldn't be buying condos and 5-room flats on 30-year mortgages. Why are more Singaporeans going overseas for holidays than ever before? Why do children have so much money to spend?
If the cost of living is so high, why do foreign workers want to work here for less pay and still save enough money to send home? They are prepared and willing to cut the frills and live on basics.
The truth is, Singaporeans expect first world standard of living but our skills do not measure up with workers in the first world on average. So people expect the government to impose protectionist policies but that will only drive businesses away.
There are some forumners who want Singapore to be a socialist welfare state, at a time when even communist China has turned capitalist. Singaporeans must stop burying their heads in the sand.
A graduate in Sichuan is not willing to work for S$300. That person is willing to work for RMB$1500. The conversion is the same but the spending power is very different.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Compare the skills of the Singaporean worker with his foreign counterpart. A University graduate from Sichuan is willing to to work as a nanny for S$300 a month. Their factory workers are willing to work for a third our our salary and whilst we complain about the poor pay at Isetan, hundreds of Mainland Chinese are willing to come to work for that pay.
If the cost of living is so high, why do foreign workers want to work here for less pay and still save enough money to send home? They are prepared and willing to cut the frills and live on basics.
There are some forumners who want Singapore to be a socialist welfare state, at a time when even communist China has turned capitalist. Singaporeans must stop burying their heads in the sand.
Exactly what I have been trying to explain to oxford.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Dear Sir,
I do agree with your point that Singapore should remain competitve in that our locals MUST outperform the foreigners for the dollar. But issue at hand currently, is that by accepting what the foreigners are accepting in terms of salary, it doesn't balance up with local living costs. In simpler terms, salaries of locals can't meet local living costs - which by the way are ever-increasing, if you haven't noticed.
Predicaments of locals and that of the FTs, is totally different, as pointed out by many in here. Haven't you read them?
They have lots of vacancies for security guards, cab driver, road sweepers, etc for you. As for FTs, they do the management position, which apparently, I'm sufficiently brain washed to believe that we do not have any locals capable to do that job.Originally posted by dragg:the govt said recently that there are more than enough jobs. thats why we need the foreign workers.
isnt this amazing????
Exactly why Khaw Boon Wan was considering retirement villages in Batam and JB. If we want to live in a first world country like Singapore, we can only expect first world prices.Originally posted by SilverPal:Exactly what I have been trying to explain to oxford.
Why would firms want to employ a foreigner if there are locals who can do the job just as well? It's because foreigners are willing to accept a lower pay. I agree that foreigners are willing to do that because their families in China or India can live very well on the meagre sum he sends home. But remember that his children in China do not have the kind of education your children have, neither do they have access to the kind of education, healthcare or transport system we are accustomed to.Originally posted by SilverPal:A graduate in Sichuan is not willing to work for S$300. That person is willing to work for RMB$1500. The conversion is the same but the spending power is very different.
Did you not read my post about the spending power? You can work for SGD$300 and earn RMB$1500. So you will ask me, why can't the local grads make ends meet earning SGD$2k = RMB$10k a month? You think?
Foreign workers do not see themselves earning a few measly hundreds a month but a few thousands in their local currency.
I do not blame the govt for the job outlook but rather, I wonder if anything can be dome on the ground to change this situation.