This is a perfect example of the warped thought processes that people like X-man possess. Instead of attending to the matter at hand, he goes into irrelevant issues (education, white horse and so on) to attempt to mask the fact that he really can't cope with the matter at hand. Unfortunately, of course, if someone decides to stay with the matter at hand instead of taking the spotlight off his inadequacies, then he's stuck and feels he has no recourse but to escalate the matter.Originally posted by tqw:Hey dood, you really got attitude problem leh. Every post that don't share your view sure get some sarcastic remark. Some want to stop, you also must have the last snide remark.
Think you are our saviour? Ride around on your high horse looking down on everyone? I think that make you just the same pompus ass as that buxton.
What makes you so special that gives you the right to be sarcastic? You are rich? You had a very good education? Your parents so well educated that's why you like that ? You were a white horse in the army?
You are simi lan? Lan lan you also only got one like the rest
Don't think your england a little more powderful then do around ya ya ok.
Singlish is just a flavour of our country. We know how to use proper english too.
If you can't express your views with some measure of respect for others, while keeping in accordance with the topic at hand, I really do suggest you don't express any at all. Have a good day. And oh yes, THANK YOU![]()
Of couse irrelevant lah. I no longer talking about the X-man. I am talking about you and your knn atittude mah.Originally posted by Gedanken:This is a perfect example of the warped thought processes that people like X-man possess. Instead of attending to the matter at hand, he goes into irrelevant issues (education, white horse and so on) to attempt to mask the fact that he really can't cope with the matter at hand. Unfortunately, of course, if someone decides to stay with the matter at hand instead of taking the spotlight off his inadequacies, then he's stuck and feels he has no recourse but to escalate the matter.
In fact, he's gone so far off the rails as to support my point. Atobe suggested that Singaporean English is not of a high enough standard to include the use of "xenophobic", and I pointed out that I hold a higher view of local English standards than that. Our friend here seems to support the point, claiming that "We know how to use proper english too".
No, tqw, thank you for illustrating my point so clearly.
You are right man, brudder!Originally posted by tqw:Of couse irrelevant lah. I no longer talking about the X-man. I am talking about you and your knn atittude mah.
True what, people must know when to use Singlish and when to use proper english what. Talking with friends or fellow singaporeans its more comfortable using singlish right?
Of course when talking to foreigners or westernised idiot like you, use singlish I scared you don't understand, so use proper english lor
So you now saying singaporeans don't know how to speak english ah? Ehh, so hao lian one you
I actually do feel inadequate compared to you leh, You got 5380 posts already. Me only so few. So paiseh
And your nick gengouken or whatever so long, mine only 3 letters. Again so malu
See like that, true hor, you better than me
But again, do you realise that everyone is different in their thinking? That is what defines us as individuals. Everyone is brought up differently and so are the values taught by our parents. Why can't you be more accomodating to others and less insistent that you and only you are always right? And just beacuse there is a view that differs, you start getting all puffed up and insulting.
Look back and see the insults you have dished out just because some here said you were wrong. Isn't it justifiable that others have as much right as you to have their own opinion and beliefs?
And stop trying to hide your insults with you big words and strong command of the english language. You may have a great education, but don't ever assume the rest of us don't have one.
Well said , manOriginally posted by tqw:Of couse irrelevant lah. I no longer talking about the X-man. I am talking about you and your knn atittude mah.
True what, people must know when to use Singlish and when to use proper english what. Talking with friends or fellow singaporeans its more comfortable using singlish right?
Of course when talking to foreigners or westernised idiot like you, use singlish I scared you don't understand, so use proper english lor
So you now saying singaporeans don't know how to speak english ah? Ehh, so hao lian one you
I actually do feel inadequate compared to you leh, You got 5380 posts already. Me only so few. So paiseh
But again, do you realise that everyone is different in their thinking? That is what defines us as individuals. Everyone is brought up differently and so are the values taught by our parents. Why can't you be more accomodating to others and less insistent that you and only you are always right? And just beacuse there is a view that differs, you start getting all puffed up and insulting.
Look back and see the insults you have dished out just because some here said you were wrong. Isn't it justifiable that others have as much right as you to have their own opinion and beliefs?
And stop trying to hide your insults with you big words and strong command of the english language. You may have a great education, but don't ever assume the rest of us don't have one.
Btw, respect is given when respect is due. You want to talk about my lack of respect? Go take a look at the amount you give others here first.
Tsk tsk. Didn't you see that I replied in Hokkien earlier? Rest assured, if Singlish is your normal mode of communication, I can accommodate you.Originally posted by tqw:Of couse irrelevant lah. I no longer talking about the X-man. I am talking about you and your knn atittude mah.
Btw, respect is given when respect is due. You want to talk about my lack of respect? Go take a look at the amount you give others here first.
Ah, once again you show that you can't stand on your own. If you want to come back for more, don't blame me for not letting things drop because you're the one driving it.Originally posted by Anycall:Well said , manTwo thumbs up
I think we should call Gedanken "Mr Buxton"! They are quite similar!Originally posted by Anycall:Well said , manTwo thumbs up
Sorry, there aren't any. Your behaviour combines that of Buxton and the Xenophobic man. Bye.Originally posted by Gedanken:Only if we acknowledge that there is a whole bunch of Xenophobic Men present.
Oh, do tell, do tell. How so?Originally posted by sourketchup:Sorry, there aren't any. Your behaviour combines that of Buxton and the Xenophobic man. Bye.
I think he was quoting me not you leh. Anycall agree with what I said also you not song ah. Tsk tsk.Originally posted by Gedanken:Ah, once again you show that you can't stand on your own. If you want to come back for more, don't blame me for not letting things drop because you're the one driving it.
Well, whaddaya know. You're finally starting to make sense.Originally posted by tqw:Aiyoh, I think eveyone else better go to other threads and express their views loh. I so sorry I forgot you THINK you own this thread and this forum
But I thought the thread starter was dragg mah? Sigh, I think I pah jiao already.
Since this thread only can accomodate your views only so go ahead and converse with yourself lah ok? Enjoy hor![]()
Yup, I really hope Gedaken has learnt how to be more humble and polite and hopefully less sarcastic.Originally posted by Atobe:Gedaken, I see you have been well 'entertained' over the last 24 hours, and the 'xenophobia' seems to be spreading.
Guess it is best to let human nature takes it course, and hope that some lessons in patience, tolerance, humility and politeness will evolve from here on.
Cheers to everyone who has put their thinking cap on, and contributed in form or another.
Originally posted by sourketchup:Running up a 'dead end' street can only bring you to face a 'dead end' wall - where do you intend to go in pursuing your own shadow ?
Yup, I really hope Gedaken has learnt how to be more humble and polite and hopefully less sarcastic.
One can only hope.
Is it not ironic, that in the midst of debating how Mr Xenophobic in the story may have given Singaporeans a bad name, that one contributor has also behaved in a bad manner by giving sarcastic and insulting remarks? Do look at his "sparring" with the other contributors to get a feel of his courtesy and humility, or lack thereof.Originally posted by Atobe:Running up a 'dead end' street can only bring you to face a 'dead end' wall - where do you intend to go in pursuing your own shadow ?
What do you hope to see at the end of a dead end - except to see your shadow chased onto the wall at the 'dead end' ?
The only way to move ahead is to run along any path that leads to two directions, and offer yourself a choice.
Each of us enjoy our own choices made, and everyone of us have our own logic that we defend ardently, while some prefer to hold their positions too unbendingly for the sake of pride.
Pride blurrs one's clarity and leads to 'xenophobia'.
[/i].
Singa the courtesy lion is enuf to make anyone turn rabid.Originally posted by Gedanken:From the responses here, it looks like the garbament wasted our money on lame courtesy campaigns.
oh yes. but one must admit they are quite creative in coming up with excuses for their inability to use anything even remotely resembling englishOriginally posted by r3plica:this thread clearly reflects the kind of society we have and the kind of people we are...
Originally posted by sourketchup:As was mentioned, never walk into a 'dead end' street - even in the brightest day and whether walking, driving, or debating.
Is it not ironic, that in the midst of debating how Mr Xenophobic in the story may have given Singaporeans a bad name, that one contributor has also behaved in a bad manner by giving sarcastic and insulting remarks? Do look at his "sparring" with the other contributors to get a feel of his courtesy and humility, or lack thereof.
Some of us have tried to point that out to him, which unfortunately, elicited a more extreme and unpleasant response.
Your above passage should be addressed to him.
300,000? must be from Potong Pasir and Hougang.Originally posted by dragg:extracted from straits times forum.
There are about 4.3 million people in Singapore. 'Four million smiles' leaves about 300,000 unaccounted for.