The reason for doing so was due to the fact that PM LHL had only 90 minutes to squeeze everything to be said in English, and too much that need to be said can only be said in short burst in undeveloped ideas, spoken in a light hearted manner.Originally posted by nanren4ever:I am less irritated with the speech made by PM Lee, but more with the fact that, for the next few days after his speech, the national daily has been publishing related articles. I mean come on lah, we get the hint liao, don't need to keep on harping on it everyday lor. And front page somemore.
This is because Spore ageing population is getting more. It is also 800 Sporean giving up their citizenship every year.Originally posted by charlize:Wah now everyday in the newspapers is about foreign talents, foreign talents and more foreign talents.
Singaporeans? Go back and have more babies lah.
I think it is more than these ppls reported, according to the overseas news we r no2 in the world to hve so many working population migrated which is about 2% if i can remember correctly?Originally posted by will4:This is because Spore ageing population is getting more. It is also 800 Sporean giving up their citizenship every year.![]()
LSL obviously thinks you need foreign talent in vice trade, not even Singaporeans going into it, what.Originally posted by the Bear:what do you think?
the PRC come into singapore, expecting us to bend over backwards to their boorish ways... while our gabrament treats them like they are some kind of great and valuable find, more precious than the lowly peons called citizens...
then come those who come in and work in the vice trade..
then come those who come in and seduce the locals and proceed to squeeze them dry..
what do you think? why do you think the local people don't like them?
When they lived on campus accomodation in NUS, PRCs have the most disgusting habits, like peeing on the bathroom floor, with urine stains everywhere, and their rooms stink so bad you can smell them just walking in the corridor.Originally posted by foomwee88:My Malay Frds asked me where he can get miam siam with clams?Any one knows any stalls in S'pore?Pls let me know! Thank in advance!
I am a chairman of a MC and received at least 10 complaints from the residents that these FTs espeically the Chinese Nationals,not only spitting and littering ans also creating a lot of nusiance in our cond.these at least 30 FTs including Prostitutes are staying in sub-divied rented compartment units.yet Our PM asked us to love them who are not only infringe our p life but bring bad influ 2 our children. We hve to sleep at 9 and wake up earlier to work the next am but these PTS are different , they walked with wood slippers when they returned to their units during hours of darkness. Can u imagnie how u wud feel like?
I am just wondering are these the FTs whom we can be entrusted with our future in Spore? They are engaging in low valued and /or immoral business to survive in spore and spend very little $ from what they had earned, can they help to elevate our economic???
It appears that some of the ministers like 2 visit PRC almost everymonth,can anyone tell me the resones?
LSL doesn't eat mee siam or satay bee hoon or whatever. Maybe just things like oysters and caviar..Originally posted by foomwee88:My Malay Frds asked me where he can get miam siam with clams?Any one knows any stalls in S'pore?Pls let me know! Thank in advance!
I am a chairman of a MC and received at least 10 complaints from the residents that these FTs espeically the Chinese Nationals,not only spitting and littering ans also creating a lot of nusiance in our cond.these at least 30 FTs including Prostitutes are staying in sub-divied rented compartment units.yet Our PM asked us to love them who are not only infringe our p life but bring bad influ 2 our children. We hve to sleep at 9 and wake up earlier to work the next am but these PTS are different , they walked with wood slippers when they returned to their units during hours of darkness. Can u imagnie how u wud feel like?
I am just wondering are these the FTs whom we can be entrusted with our future in Spore? They are engaging in low valued and /or immoral business to survive in spore and spend very little $ from what they had earned, can they help to elevate our economic???
It appears that some of the ministers like 2 visit PRC almost everymonth,can anyone tell me the resones?
I know for sure if I get the chance to go out of here, I won't come back.Originally posted by foomwee88:I think it is more than these ppls reported, according to the overseas news we r no2 in the world to hve so many working population migrated which is about 2% if i can remember correctly?
Dont 4 get,their family members will go with him/her at a latter date as well!!
We hve about 200,000 overseas Sporeans who may not come back at all as well. this is that why our sg gov is worrying!!!
Recently, CNA reported who are the top 40 richest peeps/ families in Singapore. Surprisingly LEE is not in..Originally posted by the Bear:you mean, like the suspicion that Ho Ching is a man?
but seriously, yah... a lot of things about his wife has never been clarified... and should be clarified as those things involve public monies...
No... My husband said it's loong peni s. heheheOriginally posted by seow:omg, dragon penis!!!
‘MAIHUM-GATE’ EXPLAINED: Coc.kle Hawker Tells Allcontinue from other thread..
The reason for the Prime MinisterÂ’s notorious and embarrassing gaffe during his National Day Rally speech has been revealed.
In his 2006 National Day Rally speech, the Prem Binister had intended to deliver a withering, cogently argued response to those who saw the GahmenÂ’s clampdown on Mr. Brown as heavy-handed. Instead, the argument was not only garbled, but he inadvertently revealed how out of touch he was with the average SingaporeanÂ’s experiences.
By saying, ‘mee siam mai hum’, he created the impression that either:
1. he had never eaten mee siam in his life, as mee siam never contains ‘humÂ’, or !&^⩽
2. he could not tell the difference between laksa or char kway teow (which does have co.ckles) and mee siam (which doesnÂ’t), which then raises questions about what he eats regularly, and how different his diet is from the average Singaporean;
3. he actually meant to say, ‘mee siam mai hiam’, which is possible. But by asking for no spice in a dish whose entire point is spiciness only suggests wimpiness;
4. he has never had to order food in a hawker centre in a long while, if at all, which again sets him apart from his constituents.
- all of which are not particularly flattering propositions.
However, the Prime Minister’s Orifice has managed to uncover the truth – that the Prime Minister’s ‘mee siam mai hum’ statement was not in fact a gaffe, but derived from personal experience.
Specifically, his experience during a pre-election walkabout earlier this year at Bukit Gorblok Food Centre in Hong Kan GRC, where he sampled the wares of Mr. Hum Kah Chan, a tze char hawker whose speciality is serving co.ckles with everything.
“Yah lor,” said Mr. Hum, whose stall is aptly named ‘Humpalang Hawker Food’. “Prem Binister come to my stall, so I offer him my today’s special, mah.”
Which was – you guessed it – mee siam with co.ckles.
“I put hum in everything,” he said proudly, with a hint of defensiveness. “Chicken rice with hum, nasi lemak with hum, bak kut teh with hum, prata with hum, even ice kacang with hum. I love hum. Hum, hum, hum, hum, lovely hum, wonderful hum.”
“The Prime Minister consumed the dish,” said Mr. Gerry Mandhir, an officer with the PMO. “And promptly had diarrhoea. Not the verbal variety that runs in certain geriatric members of his family, but from somewhere, um, lower down.”
Mr. Hum subsequently had his licence suspended for unhygienic food practices.
“What to do? The hum was pai,” said Mr. Hum ruefully, using the Hokkien word for ‘bad’, before chanting angrily, “Pai hum! Pai hum! Pai hum! Pai hum!”
Since then, the Prime Minister has had a phobia of foods containing !&^&les, and always asks that whatever is served to him does not contain the offending bivalves.
“This explains his statement. The hum was very harmful to him,” said Mr. Mandhir. “It was especially embarrassing because he was wearing white pants. You must understand – this incident is also why he just cannot stand the colour brown.”