What i was trying to pinpoint is that since the influx of foreigners is inevitable,The govert can use incentive and higher pay packages to make it much appealing for those who fidn it tough to look for jobs to enlist into the army willingly,and not pull some desperate 18 yrs old kid into the NS.Originally posted by reyes:bro, frankly i dont understand what you trying to say.
encourage more FT so more singaporean men can join army to creat jobs for men?
during NS, why not much NS men join regular forces leh? and pay in many army formation are already high enough.
army has not shortage of regular forces and i still believe NS should be made compulsary for all men for a small nation like singapore.
you might feel NS is a waste of time, but when you start having kids and your kids walk down the streets and return home safely everyday, you start appreciating the job you have done 10 years ago and feel proud about yourself.
we should get FT to do NS and not FT to do our jobs so we can join army.2.5 years in NS and 10year ICT is enough bro.
yahOriginally posted by olala:What i was trying to pinpoint is that since the influx of tourist is inevitable,The govert can use incentive and higher pay packages to make it much appealing for those who fidn it tough to look for jobs to enlist into the army willingly,and not pull some desperate 18 yrs old kid into the NS.
Times are different,U dun make some stupid law and pull a kid into the military,not to mention the FUK up PAY.
Currently,the revenue and reserve our nation have i believe dosent requries the govertment to continue holding on to such regulation.
they can afford to hire full time personel
I see the positve effect than NS will have...both socially and as well as self charecter building.however,This isnt the point which I'm Talking abt.Originally posted by nanren4ever:time may have passed, everything may have changed, but 1 fact still remains. We cannot depend on anyone else, but OURSELVES to defend the nation.
Originally posted by nanren4ever:time may have passed, everything may have changed, but 1 fact still remains. We cannot depend on anyone else, but OURSELVES to defend the nation.
As long as you would serve or be willing to fight for your new home, by all means.. no one will say a bad thing.Originally posted by Coquitlam:Freedom of choice....best way is just go overseas...then don't need to serve...better yet...renouce citizenship....but make sure you get the passport over the other side first.....then can withdraw all your cpf...cos you no longer a citizen....to me I live by one simple principle.....if you can't beat them...quit...
my motto is to each his own...if our forefathers left their lands for a better life(and they were no considered disloyal), then we can do the same to...to each his own....we become the new generation of emigrants....
i do agree that some are cowards running from one naation to anotherOriginally posted by LazerLordz:As long as you would serve or be willing to fight for your new home, by all means.. no one will say a bad thing.
and then there are those who run away from nation to nation.
just a simple question here.Originally posted by nanren4ever:time may have passed, everything may have changed, but 1 fact still remains. We cannot depend on anyone else, but OURSELVES to defend the nation.
Can you be sure that the number of willing volunteers can support the defence policy and current armed posture of Singapore today?Originally posted by olala:i do agree that some are cowards running from one naation to another
But why cant the govt let us voluntarily serve on our own than pull the males in?
even those who are untrained,when face to protect their love ones will take up the guns rite
Originally posted by LazerLordz:
Can you be sure that the number of willing volunteers can support the defence policy and current armed posture of Singapore today?
I don't think defence is something we can afford to mess around, even the bloody liberal inside me thinks that it's a no-argument situation. Military operations around the world are on the upswing, personal safety index is dropping like flies in winter and I think no nation with conscription today will end it totally.
What I would like to see is a more robust and mature system to channel different citizens into alternative non-military national service, for example consicentious objectors and the like; through careful verificiation of these people, making sure that they are not kengsters who convert to siam NS. Plus making sure these numbers do not impact adversely on our military readiness status.
This is something that can be done, if we actually bother to work on it.
So that's why we need a more robust political system that is attuned to civil society reform and lobby groups.Originally posted by olala:
Might be aheived if the govt bothered to work on it
But any attempt in reform?i see none
and can we not forget the fact that the govt taking care of FT are making us feel out of place?
where shld our loyalty then stem from?
U meant an more IRON FIST?Originally posted by LazerLordz:So that's why we need a more robust political system that is attuned to civil society reform and lobby groups.
What is going on now, is just the govt talking. They are just one factor in a State.
Loyalty is to the place you grew up, the memories that you have of your childhood, your first love etc. It's never solely about the stuff they dish out to you on NDP parades.
What do you feel when you arrive home after a long day? A sense of relief? The fact that you and your family live in peace? I guess it's one of those intangible things in our little individual story.
National history does not equate to personal history, it's just one part of it.
Lol. Not IRON FIST.Originally posted by olala:U meant an more IRON FIST?
yes memories,childhood and family do play a part however,if the govertment arent gonna improve the situiation to make the ppl feel in palce,are we obliged to stay on and serve?[and i mean basic need of the ppl]
Wuldnt it be better to flock to a nation where humans rights are respect and with loyalty,we'll serve the country willingly?
An effiecient govertment in the begining dosent means a smooth journey for the nation,leaders do make blunder and the evidences are showing.
self-defeatist.Originally posted by foomwee88:Useless talk,wat we had served is this bunch of FTs la!!!
Let them take over loh ,we surrender to these FTs!!!
No it is notOriginally posted by mhcampboy:Aiyah. The bottomline is, Olala is just feeling farked up that he will need to go NS soon...
Thats why he kpkb so much...![]()