You provided your answer to your own question. If FTs return home when they retire to enjoy the greater purchasing power of their savings in their homeland, we wouldn't have to worry if they have enough for retirement.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Tell me, assuming the average age of these FTs and or eventual New Citizen Converts are 20 somethings to 40 somethings, wouldn't they in the near decades become another group of aged locals which our gov is so fearful of being liable to?
And should we be foolishly naive to BELIEVE that their offsprings WILL stay and support them while contributing here?
I tell you, if they can fly here from their original country, they can too fly away to greener pastures after discovering the true colors of our system here.
Precisely! We don't have to worry about their retirement if they are going home after they have made enough!!Originally posted by oxford mushroom:You provided your answer to your own question. If FTs return home when they retire to enjoy the greater purchasing power of their savings in their homeland, we wouldn't have to worry if they have enough for retirement.
By going to Malaysia, they need to understand the Bahasa Melayu which a lot local never knew how to speak n also proficient in writtng them.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Which is what a lot of locals are doing, or are saving up to do:
>> empty savings and CPF move to Thailand or Malaysia to retire or even earlier
Originally posted by ShutterBug:Precisely! We don't have to worry about their retirement if they are going home after they have made enough!!
So what good are PRC FTs??
Just let them use SIngapore as a stepping stone leaving many jobless??
Originally posted by ShutterBug:First of all, let me repeat this one more time; Singaporeans CANNOT take TOO LOW a salary simply because living costs for a typical Singaporean is not cheap. They can and they have lowered their expectations to date, but any lower they won't be able to make ends meet in the domestic end.
As for the many PRCs here, I have only heard and seen their poor characteristics (as have many Singaporeans attest to this), as well as the many headlines in the local papers over the years about them being murdered or having cheated people both locals and of their own kind (dogs eating dogs). So in effect, their actions are what's STEREOTYPING them.
I have nothing against ANY race. I have friends of all races, but none are Chinese from China. This isn't about race, this is about our own gov's blind faith in China and their people, resulting in much hardship of the locals here.
Ugly people are indeed everywhere, but this isn't about ugly people. It is about the commonly known CHARACTER TRAITS of PRCs here in Singapore which many despise.
Let me tell you, what I hear from a PRC here who's working for a well known mobile phone company; he's recently married, his wife is a local SIngaporean. He's sending money home to China where his parents are, to accumulate enough wealth so that he can eventually leave Singapore and set up his own business in China with his Singaporean wife.
We are being used as a stepping stone through and through, while many locals are at wits end without a job to support their own families on their own soil!
I run my own business, and ALL of my staff are locals above 35 years of age. I turn away all foreign applicants. For this, my employees never short-change me in terms of work performance and loyalty. Even on MC they still return to office - I had to chase them home instead.
I RESPECT China nationals who are TRULY a specialist, professionals in a field of work that is complex and that not many (or at all any) locals can perform as or in.Originally posted by play_n_play:why u hate maybe dislike the china chinese so much? they have the same root as yours. i agree some of them r not good, but look likes u openly discriminated or looked down to them.
let's say if the FT are american chinese, australian chinese, r u still barking them?
no every people is perfect, not every country is perfect. once u can tolerate other's demerits, u would successful and I am sure u won't complain, blame, u will be happy everyday. good luck to u!
YES, you can call me STUBBORN.Originally posted by play_n_play:only one word can descibed u, "stubborn"...
local dun have cheaters? local dun have criminals? local dun have trash?...
even in Sweden/Denmark/Norway/Denmark (btw, i have been there several times), around 80% of the adults have at least college degree, there is still social problem.
How much is enough for them in ur opinion? At least they the Chinese nationals willing to suffer hardship compared to locals.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Precisely! We don't have to worry about their retirement if they are going home after they have made enough!!
Which era of locals are you refering to who shuns hardship?Originally posted by will4:How much is enough for them in ur opinion? At least they the Chinese nationals willing to suffer hardship compared to locals.
Originally posted by ShutterBug:YES, you can call me STUBBORN.
I STUBBORNLY support local workers and employ them.
Wrong to defend my fellow country men and women?
I remembered there is an article of one US citizen complaining he cannot get to work as a scientist because of the influx of Indian n Chinese scientist.Originally posted by play_n_play:u r right to defend them...i agreed with u.
but the fact is now, the world is already slowly and slowly globalized. i dun think u will see any company here, the staff r purely singaporean.
because of my job, i always travelled a lot, US, Taiwan, HK, EU, Japan, Korea...
u could see a lot of foreigners working there...
personally, i dun think we can prevend this to happen...
As for the new generation of locals, they still young n need to compete with others n if they migrate, they still need to compete. U remember there is thisOriginally posted by ShutterBug:Which era of locals are you refering to who shuns hardship?
The newer generations? The pre-1965ers? Which?
If you say the new gen, I agree. But don't come and tell me pre 1965ers.
Maybe if you ask your parents whether they are familiar and comfortable with hardship or not you can confirm this claim of yours?
You do have a point about globalization. I don't shun globalization, as much as I don't shun the exclusive use of local manpower.Originally posted by play_n_play:u r right to defend them...i agreed with u.
but the fact is now, the world is already slowly and slowly globalized. i dun think u will see any company here, the staff r purely singaporean.
because of my job, i always travelled a lot, US, Taiwan, HK, EU, Japan, Korea...
u could see a lot of foreigners working there...
personally, i dun think we can prevend this to happen...
Very easy, all these new and younger gens are like that because of what? The GLORIOUS Education System here. Recently our almighty PM says that enhancing the education system will bridge income gap. If this is the case then how come everyone who is now 40 need to upgrade? That means the education system has been half-baked all these while till even today!!!Originally posted by will4:As for the new generation of locals, they still young n need to compete with others n if they migrate, they still need to compete. U remember there is this
forumer critizing the local everything also complain, NS had became soft compared to NS in China.
Originally posted by ShutterBug:You do have a point about globalization. I don't shun globalization, as much as I don't shun the exclusive use of local manpower.
To some extent, as and when my operation requires better talents from a foreigner, I WILL do so hire one. But meantime, I'd stick to local employees.
I'm not here to talk about preventing globalization. I'm talking about deprived citizens.
Values is to be taught by parents n if they continued to pamper their children, for how long can this continue? The children eventually grew up n u heard of thisOriginally posted by ShutterBug:Very easy, all these new and younger gens are like that because of what? The GLORIOUS Education System here. Recently our almighty PM says that enhancing the education system will bridge income gap. If this is the case then how come everyone who is now 40 need to upgrade? That means the education system has been half-baked all these while till even today!!!
Million dollar salaried gov cannot forsee such a situation 30-40 years down the road for our economy? They must be busy counting their own money!
Schools now treat students like Little Emperrors. Cannot shout at them, cannot touch them (don't say beat them). How to teach them VALUES like that? Obviously, over the decades of PAMPERING by the education system, most come out with heads and nose pointing at the sky.
Characterbuidling all starts at home and in schools. If parents are so protective of their child, everything must be good for them, guess what? This is what becomes of new generations!
Locals are far more hardworking now (not like before 5pm only their shadows also can't see) - because of the multitude of FTs and the ordinary Foreign Workers. This is good. I like that.Originally posted by play_n_play:that if two persons apply the job and both of them are capable, one is foreigner, the other is singarean...
i agreed with u, give the offer to the singaprean...
THIS is the problem.Originally posted by will4:Values is to be taught by parents n if they continued to pamper their children, for how long can this continue? The children eventually grew up n u heard of this
this strwberry generation in Taiwan when the young people prefer not to work n lived off their parents. How these young people can compete in here with other foreigners in this globalization period? I remembered one of colleauges went for modified BMT kena asked to do leopard crawl by his sergeant, cannot tahan asked his father complained to OC.
If precisely like this continued, foreign students coming into Spore will hihly appreciated by the govt. If I am not wrong, secondary school students n JCOriginally posted by ShutterBug:THIS is the problem.
It all starts from the parents!
Last time, when parents bring the children to school, they tell the teacher; "Eh, if naughty don't behave ah, cane him/her!"
Now it is THE OTHER way around!
God BLess Singapore!!!
I don't think so - young ones are our gov's treasure.Originally posted by will4:If precisely like this continued, foreign students coming into Spore will hihly appreciated by the govt. If I am not wrong, secondary school students n JC
students also foreigners from the region.
Some poly lecturers n NUS lecturers also from China.Originally posted by ShutterBug:I don't think so - young ones are our gov's treasure.
But still, if they choose to idolize foreign blood right down to young generations, then one fine day crap will hit the fan for them.
It's good if we don't have to worry about their retirement...they won't be a burden to us when they can no longer work.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Precisely! We don't have to worry about their retirement if they are going home after they have made enough!!