I do not believe many singaporeans discriminate foreigners and somehow think that they're superior just because they're standing on their own land. If you care to analyse, you will notice that only those who think they are unfairly treated after making sacrifice are voicing out their dismay especially those who had been conscripted or will be conscript to serve NS. I do not see majority of the woman or the rich protesting against FT policy.Originally posted by jenn_y:yeah. life's pretty dull after a year (in vancouver). now that i've distant myself from singapore a lil (or a lot), i think singapore's a really diplomatic communist country. hehe.
actually i dun really like politics lah, but the threadstarter's title seem to be one of the many other that is suggestive of discrimination towards foreigners... once a foreigner myself (tho assimilated into the local culture at a very young age), i just felt i had to make a voice... though it's apparent that i'm quite a complete idiot for politics. many singaporeans just...discriminate foreigners just because they are innately different and somehow think that they're superior just because they're standing on their own land. it's one thing to be patriotic but another to be racist.
but it's good to see that there are singaporeans who do use their brains when making judgments.
That is indeed the case. Shall we require first generation PRs serve some form of national service too? But to be fair, we must require that of Singaporean women as well. They need not all serve in the army. They can be deployed in the Civil Defence, in hospitals, hospices, prisons, social work departments etc, as long as they serve two years of NS like all the men.Originally posted by Kyo23:I do not believe many singaporeans discriminate foreigners and somehow think that they're superior just because they're standing on their own land. If you care to analyse, you will notice that only those who think they are unfairly treated after making sacrifice are voicing out their dismay especially those who had been conscripted or will be conscript to serve NS. I do not see majority of the woman or the rich protesting against FT policy.
Between singaporean and foreigners, there are nothing innately different except that the sg guy have to sacrifice 2.5 years of their life to serve the nation.
you're very right in saying that. i'm only in high school lah, haha.Originally posted by play_n_play:did u find a job in canada especially in vancouver, a tourist city?
i have been there several times. basically i think canada is only good for kid or retirement.
"I do not believe many singaporeans discriminate foreigners and somehow think that they're superior just because they're standing on their own land. "Originally posted by Kyo23:I do not believe many singaporeans discriminate foreigners and somehow think that they're superior just because they're standing on their own land. If you care to analyse, you will notice that only those who think they are unfairly treated after making sacrifice are voicing out their dismay especially those who had been conscripted or will be conscript to serve NS. I do not see majority of the woman or the rich protesting against FT policy.
Between singaporean and foreigners, there are nothing innately different except that the sg guy have to sacrifice 2.5 years of their life to serve the nation. Do you see such differences in canada?
Anyway, i do not think singaporean have a choice politically. Why not learn to adapt to this harsh changing environment and learn to survive like the foreigner. If they can work their heart out in singapore at low pay, the local can do the same and be extreme. Why start a family here in singapore when the environment is only suitable for gold digging?
Just my 2 cents of opinion here
I hope i can answer you this question. To ask for the impossible would be to pay the men close to the regular market rate for their sacrifice. It is still consider a sacrifice because not everyone want to start a career in the army. but since it was already deemed impossible, I believe the sg men have to take it hard down their throat with whatever pathetic compensations that the government throw at them e.g. NS Bonus.....and stop complaining but to accept the facts. Next life wise up and be borned in other country to come back as FT to fight for the gold only, problem solved. At the same time be wise not to procreate in this land and bring misery to the next generation.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:That is indeed the case. Shall we require first generation PRs serve some form of national service too? But to be fair, we must require that of Singaporean women as well. They need not all serve in the army. They can be deployed in the Civil Defence, in hospitals, hospices, prisons, social work departments etc, as long as they serve two years of NS like all the men.
[/quote]
This statement seem fair but will it be possible to implement such conscription in the first place. I believe this idea had been brought up several time but alas all in vain or else we will see our women folk conscripted and hence complaining here and at the same time most of the PRs packing up to go home. Anyway, most importantly such policy are not going to be controlled by you or me. Everything in singapore has to be the doing of the government because singaporean got no choice politically as i told you. Like what most singaporean would say, "tok so much also no use"
[quote]
The alternative is to compensate the men for the 2 years of NS and the many years of reservist. But as someone asked, what is adequate compensation? 20% discount for attendances at government clinics and hospitals?
Well, each to his/her own experience. Your "A LOT" meaning within singapore or canada? 1000 or 100000? Well this is very subjective and hence we shall not dispute over such meaningless topic.Originally posted by jenn_y:"I do not believe many singaporeans discriminate foreigners and somehow think that they're superior just because they're standing on their own land. "
trust me - i speak from first hand experience - there are A LOT. maybe you just haven't met them, i duno.
We must also understand that government can only provide guidelines to employment and the better part of the decision making in hiring still lies on the employers...if not ironically the other Singaporean or your boss who will decide who to hire, for office political? for personal? for departmental? benefit or requirement.Originally posted by seancannot:I really do not understand... in my industry there are too many FT ... as a result our pay has dropped because the FT are willing to take a lower pay and us local are competing with FT for jobs.... try to get a job now there are so many unemployed ....
In cetain sector it is true we are short of labour such as cleaner can you survive on a $650 permonth pay.... to wash toilet in SG...
I really dun understand now I have problem getting a job and they want to import more FT to compete with me...
Do you know in the industry now there are so much outsourcing and garment themselving are head freeze .... the garment want me to eat shit is it ...
I give 2.5 of my best year to the nation for $200 per month ... everyyear i give another 2 to 3 weeks ... I have to work extra hard before and after reservist to clear my bad log stay until 1 ,2 am in the morning ... I really dun understand FT do not have to go thru all these is it fair... during my reservist my boss blame me for not clearing my work before reservist get blast by customer for not attending to them ... $500 is all I get for prgressive ... the kind of recongnition garment give to me ...
I really dun understand !! really
The Gahmen will take a look at u all and say," Wah! U all so free ah? Everyone all go NS, who's going to do the REAL work...?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:That is indeed the case. Shall we require first generation PRs serve some form of national service too? But to be fair, we must require that of Singaporean women as well. They need not all serve in the army. They can be deployed in the Civil Defence, in hospitals, hospices, prisons, social work departments etc, as long as they serve two years of NS like all the men.