Originally posted by monoslayer:*look at campy again*![]()
oops! u r here! *runs away*Originally posted by mhcampboy:![]()
shouldn't it be the other way round.Originally posted by browniebaobao:some of them think this way..
'they gave birth to me, they must provide for me wat'.
Originally posted by MohamedF:Omigod, do you seriously believe that?
[b]This is not America where people graduate tio can get good job, bills fairly easily paid, house easily found and life is fairly good. This is Singapore where our jobs are at risk by foreign talents, bills just keep rising every month don't know why, house is super X considering its a stupidly small space and life is hectic.
b]
Originally posted by Gordonator:Yes, I think it i s utterly shameless to ask for money after graduation...they are not hungry enough to want to work because their parents oblige them
yes i agree, there's no wrong in your sentences above. but the discussion here is about [b]after graduating " (from university, or simply NS for those with no intention of further studies)[/b]
I agree with you. Cannot really trust the printed media in S'pore. It says what the govt wants to say or propaganda. Remember the censorship of Mr Brown?Originally posted by JackOT:I don't think the topic is true. Unless show me some statistics, otherwise it's just a wild guess.
Might as well say, nowadays Singaporeans don't feed their elderly parents. Or just say Singaporeans stop giving allowance to their children when they hit 16.
Anyway, I don't think it's true and hope the others will not be misguided by the wrong info. I am 24 and so are my friends, we are either studying, trying hard to find a job or already working. I don't see any of them not trying.
Originally posted by the_fallen:This is parents' fault sometimes. Or even the society's fault at large.
[b]Disclaimer:
it might be a bit offending but it's just my 2 cents of thoughts...
if you get offended easily, then dun read.
it's the culture.
look at the way we are living now
govt has to provide ppl for almost everything
from shelter-house to medical bills, even savings for retirement govt also has to worry for us, that ppl wun prepare for a rainy rain.
what has changed over the years from independence to now.
in the past way back,
our forefathers work hard to provide for everyones' needs like basic food and shelter.
slowly over time, it evolved into govt and our parents resort to falling back on a safety net - inherit our parents hard earned money. living in the comfort zone
we lost the ability to think and prepare for crisis. only sit there waiting for things to happen then react, by that time, it will be too late
now let's look at the current kids/teenagers
what do they know to do?
lets take a look
1-study-get into schs-study get good results -step into society
2- keep saying life's short- enjoy it, not thinking of the consquences behind it so the go clubbing, smoking, ktv, hanging out with friends.
3- what ever they wanna get, either they ask their parents, or try means and ways to get..
4- now looking at kids 7yrs old and below also have a hp already..they were just given the hp, but they dunno how valuable the piece of object is in their hands.
5-not alot of teenagers/kids work...lame reason=stress then go back comfort zone enjoy, depend on parents...
in short is
when 1 lives in comfort zone, generations will only get lazier and lazier losing ability to think and fend for themselves..
last time, its one sole bread-winner supporting whole family.
now its 2 parents supporting their kids, and kids dun even know how to help their parents and why they need to support their parents.
we are just too dependent on the person supporting us..[/b]
I think if u read the ST, it also happening in Taiwan youngster.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Yes, I think it i s utterly shameless to ask for money after graduation...they are not hungry enough to want to work because their parents oblige them
wah liddat,u mus have 10 kids horOriginally posted by Gordonator:shouldn't it be the other way round.![]()
Are graduates the only ones to blame for poor ethics and lack of hunger?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Yes, I think it i s utterly shameless to ask for money after graduation...they are not hungry enough to want to work because their parents oblige them
Any empirical evidence? Statistics? Sources of those statistics? Power/level/confidence of the statistical test? How was this inferred from the data? Blind/doubleblind used?Originally posted by Gordonator:there seems to be increasing no. of young people who still continues to take money from their parents eventhough they have graduated from university or national service,with no intention of finding a job.
What is ur gf studied in? What work is she trying to get?Originally posted by matleep:Sometimes, it just seems easier for us to tell graduates to find a job to do. I got a uni grad friend, who is even prepare to work for 1.6k job, all because she finds it hard to secure one. Another one would be my gf, who sent out letters after letters and yet not much interviews. I am kind of tired trying to encourage her liao.
which america are u talking about... the america i know doesnt have good jobs for all graduates and a "fairly good life" for everyoneOriginally posted by MohamedF:This is not America where people graduate tio can get good job, bills fairly easily paid, house easily found and life is fairly good. This is Singapore where our jobs are at risk by foreign talents, bills just keep rising every month don't know why, house is super X considering its a stupidly small space and life is hectic.
Thus it is why people stay with their parents and sometimes litch of them.... This will all change if these children get married.... Get divorced then back to square 1....