Yeah! Govt keep telling us that there are still a lot of taxis waiting for us to drive! Singaporeans are just too picky! I mean, what's wrong with being a road sweeper earning less than $1k gross after spending thousands of dollars on uni studies? We have to heed the govt's advice and stop being picky and take up jobs like sweeping roads, driving taxis and being security guards.Originally posted by Gordonator:this trend might not be true for all Singaporean youngsters, but one cannot deny the fact that jobless youngster are indeed on the rise. not because companies don't wanna hire them, they just can't be bothered to even want to find a job.
even if they managed to find a job, some couldn't even sustain it long enough and ended up quiting or getting fired, due to poor performance or simply too picky when doing work.
take for instance, my friend's brothers after NS instead of finding a job, just stay at home all day playing world of warcraft.
these are my personal observations and thoughts after reading various case studies in the papers.
what do u mean i talk nonsense? yes this case study certainly doesn't apply to all youths but do u know that there are indeed people out there who continues to feed off their parents even in their late 20s or even early 30s.Originally posted by Jerina:Threadstarter, you talk nonsense-lah.
I'm an undergrad graduatg next June, and ALL my friends are already worrying abt gettg jobs already. No one seems to like the idea of feedg off their parents.
However, we shld not be sour grapes- if someone's parents continue giving him or her money even when he or she is workg, it's their business.
Its not about being picky. Its about paying bills. Do u noe how expensive izzit to study here? After grad, they gotta pay back the loan every mth. If undergrads earn less than 1k a mth wat are they gonna freaking live on? Mind u the interest rate now is 6.5% per mth. Some parents out of pity or to help out their kids try to give them a sum of 'pocket money' to offset their loan but of course there are others who are rich enough to bum around until they feel like working. Those are the lucky ones. The majority have to work their ass of juz to pay off their loan. Then the issue of getting married and getting a place to live as well. If they dun earn much, how the heck are they going to pay for all these?Originally posted by SilverPal:Yeah! Govt keep telling us that there are still a lot of taxis waiting for us to drive! Singaporeans are just too picky! I mean, what's wrong with being a road sweeper earning less than $1k gross after spending thousands of dollars on uni studies?We have to heed the govt's advice and stop being picky and take up jobs like sweeping roads, driving taxis and being security guards.
Sometimes its about what you want in life. Today an interviewer asked me, will you take any job as long as they offered you a higher pay than what you are getting now? My answer, of course not. I have to plot my career path and not simply jump around because its a few dollars more. Am I picky? I don't think so. I've rejected more than 6 jobs because they are offering me $1.6k and I feel its too low. Am I picky? I'm still frantically looking for a job and despite that I am still rejecting job offers.
Sometimes we have to think of the future, not just grabbing any jobs and feeling happy about it. If I have taken up the 1.6k job. can you imagine how long will it take for me to reach the starting pay of my peers? I'm in the IT line and my peers all get more than 2.4k starting pay. How long will it take for me to rise from 1.6 to 2.4? By the time I reach 30, I still don't think I have reach 2.4k if I had taken those jobs.
Perhaps, if we put in more thought, we realise that there are reasons behind things people do.
i think it happens to lower income groups too.Originally posted by BillyBong:Are graduates the only ones to blame for poor ethics and lack of hunger?
With parents willing to indulge them, one can only imagine that such a deficiency works both ways - the apparent willingness of parents to allow their children to take things easy while their children continue to live the life of a leech.
Those working in lower income groups will surely not fall under this catagory, where gross family income is barely enough to scrap by.
Which can only mean those 'utterly shameless' few are in the middle-upper earning income bracket.
i agree to wat u said.... they are just lazy ... too lazy. i guess some or most of them don even know how to mop or sweep the floor. everyday sit at home play games and rot. Saying very tired, long working hours, too far or watever is just excuses tat they made in order for them to stay at home. Sometime is oso the parents fault. they have to force them to work abit..... they cant let their childrens to be like this.... why cant the youngs let the old to rest abit..... they just cant go n find a part-time( for at least) job....Originally posted by Gordonator:there seems to be increasing no. of young people who still continues to take money from their parents eventhough they have graduated from university or national service,with no intention of finding a job.
from my observations, many youths refuses to find a job and often use excuses like job too tiring, salary too low, long working hours, workplace too far, not interested in doing a job related to their studies etc.
another reason is because many of them grew up with a golden spoon in their mouth. parents dotes on them too much and gave them whatever they want, thus they often took things for granted and have this mentality "why should i work when my parents can still support me?"
this unhealthy mindset makes them believe that as long as their parents continues to give them money, they don't see the need to find a job and will usually just waste their time away playing games at home, unwilling to walk out of their little comfort zone.
feel free to comment.
you know something?Originally posted by SilverPal:Yeah! Govt keep telling us that there are still a lot of taxis waiting for us to drive! Singaporeans are just too picky! I mean, what's wrong with being a road sweeper earning less than $1k gross after spending thousands of dollars on uni studies? We have to heed the govt's advice and stop being picky and take up jobs like sweeping roads, driving taxis and being security guards.
Sometimes its about what you want in life. Today an interviewer asked me, will you take any job as long as they offered you a higher pay than what you are getting now? My answer, of course not. I have to plot my career path and not simply jump around because its a few dollars more. Am I picky? I don't think so. I've rejected more than 6 jobs because they are offering me $1.6k and I feel its too low. Am I picky? I'm still frantically looking for a job and despite that I am still rejecting job offers.
Sometimes we have to think of the future, not just grabbing any jobs and feeling happy about it. If I have taken up the 1.6k job. can you imagine how long will it take for me to reach the starting pay of my peers? I'm in the IT line and my peers all get more than 2.4k starting pay. How long will it take for me to rise from 1.6 to 2.4? By the time I reach 30, I still don't think I have reach 2.4k if I had taken those jobs.
Perhaps, if we put in more thought, we realise that there are reasons behind things people do.
Originally posted by SilverPal:Question is: Can a foreign worker do that same job and is he willing to accept 1.6k for it? Perhaps that is precisely why we need more FTs.
[b]
b]
neither do iOriginally posted by dragg:how come i dont have parents feeding me with money?
not quite possible...Originally posted by singaporesodapop:Singapore should start raising their children the American way. Here in the U.S., we support our kids till 16 or 17, and then they're on their own after that!
No more whining to Mommy and Daddy-- either get a job or get a loan, because no one is going to give you free room and board.
they sld reject the money, i'm not sour grapes, but my parents sometimes still give me money to buy those groceries, but i had not taken any single cent when i started working.Originally posted by Jerina:Threadstarter, you talk nonsense-lah.
I'm an undergrad graduatg next June, and ALL my friends are already worrying abt gettg jobs already. No one seems to like the idea of feedg off their parents.
However, we shld not be sour grapes- if someone's parents continue giving him or her money even when he or she is workg, it's their business.
Hi, I know its not about being picky. I myself was faced with this situation. Of course I was being sarcastic about it. It seems like everyone likes to slam graduates for "being picky" and "not wanting to get their hands dirty". These same people do not weight the opportunity cost of taking up those jobs and of course throwing your career into a ditch by getting such a low pay.Originally posted by Xtrider:Its not about being picky. Its about paying bills. Do u noe how expensive izzit to study here? After grad, they gotta pay back the loan every mth. If undergrads earn less than 1k a mth wat are they gonna freaking live on? Mind u the interest rate now is 6.5% per mth. Some parents out of pity or to help out their kids try to give them a sum of 'pocket money' to offset their loan but of course there are others who are rich enough to bum around until they feel like working. Those are the lucky ones. The majority have to work their ass of juz to pay off their loan. Then the issue of getting married and getting a place to live as well. If they dun earn much, how the heck are they going to pay for all these?
You mean foreign workers. Yes we need them.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Question is: Can a foreign worker do that same job and is he willing to accept 1.6k for it? Perhaps that is precisely why we need more FTs.
home made sandwiches!Originally posted by ejb:they sld reject the money, i'm not sour grapes, but my parents sometimes still give me money to buy those groceries, but i had not taken any single cent when i started working.
if i can survive with 1.3k at starting+save for my part-time studies(26k somemore), i dun see why others ppl getting higher that me can't.
i feel it's because they want good life, good enjoyment, they wan money to spend. they wan to go expensive cafe, go expensive plc to dine in. If u r rich, so be it.
they think after they found a job, they sld be enjoying, indulging in expensive restaurent, fine wine, enjoyments.
when i'm starting my 1st job, i eat at market for my meal, pack sandwich(cheaper) from home as lunch. tats how i see most sld do, if u r not rich, b prepare to sacrifice till your situation gets better.
Americans WORK harder than us and deserve it ...Originally posted by MohamedF:This is not America where people graduate tio can get good job, bills fairly easily paid, house easily found and life is fairly good. This is Singapore where our jobs are at risk by foreign talents, bills just keep rising every month don't know why, house is super X considering its a stupidly small space and life is hectic.
Thus it is why people stay with their parents and sometimes litch of them.... This will all change if these children get married.... Get divorced then back to square 1....
What some of us here have is a different policy slant.Originally posted by SilverPal:You mean foreign workers. Yes we need them.
I believe another forumer has stated the differences in accepting pay between foreigner workers (not talents) and locals.
Basically, a local spent his/her whole life studying, chalking up debts. I have a degree which cost me approx $25k SGD (after govt subsidy). If I earn $1.6k SGD, after CPF that would be $1.28k (approx). After giving to my parents, say $500, I am left with $780. Assume MRT fare $10 per week, I am left with $740.
What about food? lunch will cost $3 and dinner $5, that would be $160 per month, not counting weekends (eat free with parents). That leaves $580.
Have not counted in rent, electrical, pub (because living with parents). With $580 to spend on clothes (needed for work) and insurance, what kind of spending power will I have? Since I am in the IT line, I actually need to spend on courses and certifications, $580 won't even get me a basic certification.
Now convert this $580 SGD into rupees, renminbi or ringgit. See how much more spending power the foreign workers get? And I assume they spend the same as us, which is not exactly true. Many of them are willing to share a room, with 6-7 of them squeezed into a tiny flat, thus saving on their rent. Also, they buy their clothes and other necessities from their home countries (which doesn't amount to much anyway, so it doesn't really count). After 2-3 years, they bring their SGD savings back to their home countries and live a good life.
Most singaporeans do not have a problem with foreign workers, they do have a bone to pick, however, with foreign talents who come to singapore to do the same jobs as locals.
What kind of answer u gave to those interviewers when they asked u how come accept a low salary? How many interviewers posed such questions to u?Originally posted by SilverPal:Hi, I know its not about being picky. I myself was faced with this situation. Of course I was being sarcastic about it. It seems like everyone likes to slam graduates for "being picky" and "not wanting to get their hands dirty". These same people do not weight the opportunity cost of taking up those jobs and of course throwing your career into a ditch by getting such a low pay.
When I first graduated, I was faced with the prospect of remaining unemployed or getting a low pay. Of course I rejected the diploma pay as my degree is expensive and I actually have to pay back my parents and also make ends meet. I finally succumb to a low pay and right now, I have problem finding jobs. Interviewers ask me why I chose to work for such low pay and there is just no satisfactory answer. Also, being so cheap, it will be a long time before I am able to even reach my peers' starting pay, which by then, they will no longer be drawing a starting entry level pay.
So its not always about being picky. Its about pragmatism. If I choose to start with a low pay, how long will it take for me to rise back to a reasonable (not high, mind you, average only) pay?
Jobs like sweeping roads and driving taxis, if they don't bring in enough to pay the bills, why would anyone take up those jobs? Hence, if the foreign workers want those jobs, I say give it to them.
Right now I'm stuck wondering how long will I take for my career to take off after accepting such a low pay.
U mean finding work in US is tougher than here?Originally posted by mistyblue:There are strong incentives to work hard.
Yeah, maybe the americans I know had to work hard. Their job market is tougher than Sg.