If their parents willing to help by paying the monthly loan, all the more they should go to find work even if the salary never less than a thousand.Originally posted by Xtrider:Its not about being picky. Its about paying bills. Do u noe how expensive izzit to study here? After grad, they gotta pay back the loan every mth. If undergrads earn less than 1k a mth wat are they gonna freaking live on? Mind u the interest rate now is 6.5% per mth. Some parents out of pity or to help out their kids try to give them a sum of 'pocket money' to offset their loan but of course there are others who are rich enough to bum around until they feel like working. Those are the lucky ones. The majority have to work their ass of juz to pay off their loan. Then the issue of getting married and getting a place to live as well. If they dun earn much, how the heck are they going to pay for all these?
Forgive me for being naive but I have no idea what you just said.Originally posted by LazerLordz:What some of us here have is a different policy slant.
I am concerned about service duplication first and foremost, because I am a center-left , therefore social nets are a vital component of my arguments.
Gave some bull shit about career path and it being a temp job. If you can think of something better, please let me know. I'm not exactly good with the interviews.Originally posted by will4:What kind of answer u gave to those interviewers when they asked u how come accept a low salary? How many interviewers posed such questions to u?
Originally posted by SilverPal:If those MNC want to know u last salary, it is fime in my opinion to tell them.
Gave some bull sh[b]it about career path and it being a temp job. If you can think of something better, please let me know. I'm not exactly good with the interviews.
This was asked by mainly the MNCs such as IBM. Most of the time I refrain from telling them my pay, but they usually want to know the pay.[/b]
Thanks for the advice. I'll let them know the next time they ask.Originally posted by will4:If those MNC want to know u last salary, it is fime in my opinion to tell them.
I heard if the longer the person not working, potential employers also
wondering what happned to the person.![]()
Originally posted by SilverPal:Hi, I know its not about being picky. I myself was faced with this situation. Of course I was being sarcastic about it. It seems like everyone likes to slam graduates for "being picky" and "not wanting to get their hands dirty". These same people do not weight the opportunity cost of taking up those jobs and of course throwing your career into a ditch by getting such a low pay.
When I first graduated, I was faced with the prospect of remaining unemployed or getting a low pay. Of course I rejected the diploma pay as my degree is expensive and I actually have to pay back my parents and also make ends meet. I finally succumb to a low pay and right now, I have problem finding jobs. Interviewers ask me why I chose to work for such low pay and there is just no satisfactory answer. Also, being so cheap, it will be a long time before I am able to even reach my peers' starting pay, which by then, they will no longer be drawing a starting entry level pay.
So its not always about being picky. Its about pragmatism. If I choose to start with a low pay, how long will it take for me to rise back to a reasonable (not high, mind you, average only) pay?
Right now I'm stuck wondering how long will I take for my career to take off after accepting such a low pay.
Hey, take heart, it doesn't necessarily take a long time. I have a friend whose salary jumped from $1k to $2.5k within a year. Just prove yourself!Originally posted by SilverPal:Sometimes we have to think of the future, not just grabbing any jobs and feeling happy about it. If I have taken up the 1.6k job. can you imagine how long will it take for me to reach the starting pay of my peers? I'm in the IT line and my peers all get more than 2.4k starting pay. How long will it take for me to rise from 1.6 to 2.4? By the time I reach 30, I still don't think I have reach 2.4k if I had taken those jobs.
i strongly believe it is the parents' fault. They have either spoilt their kids or failed to teach them the right values.Originally posted by Gordonator:there seems to be increasing no. of young people who still continues to take money from their parents eventhough they have graduated from university or national service,with no intention of finding a job.
from my observations, many youths refuses to find a job and often use excuses like job too tiring, salary too low, long working hours, workplace too far, not interested in doing a job related to their studies etc.
another reason is because many of them grew up with a golden spoon in their mouth. parents dotes on them too much and gave them whatever they want, thus they often took things for granted and have this mentality "why should i work when my parents can still support me?"
this unhealthy mindset makes them believe that as long as their parents continues to give them money, they don't see the need to find a job and will usually just waste their time away playing games at home, unwilling to walk out of their little comfort zone.
feel free to comment.
Yes, i think that is a good idea. Singapore kids will then learn to be independent and resourceful. I find many Singaporeans still very dependent on their parents even after they get marriedOriginally posted by singaporesodapop:Singapore should start raising their children the American way. Here in the U.S., we support our kids till 16 or 17, and then they're on their own after that!
No more whining to Mommy and Daddy-- either get a job or get a loan, because no one is going to give you free room and board.
Why should the employer care how much you have spent on your education? Foreign workers or talents...if the foreigner can do the same job for less, employers will take them. If we do not allow foreigners in, employers will move their business elsewhere.Originally posted by SilverPal:Basically, a local spent his/her whole life studying, chalking up debts. I have a degree which cost me approx $25k SGD (after govt subsidy). If I earn $1.6k SGD, after CPF that would be $1.28k (approx). After giving to my parents, say $500, I am left with $780. Assume MRT fare $10 per week, I am left with $740.
What about food? lunch will cost $3 and dinner $5, that would be $160 per month, not counting weekends (eat free with parents). That leaves $580.
Have not counted in rent, electrical, pub (because living with parents). With $580 to spend on clothes (needed for work) and insurance, what kind of spending power will I have? Since I am in the IT line, I actually need to spend on courses and certifications, $580 won't even get me a basic certification.
Now convert this $580 SGD into rupees, renminbi or ringgit. See how much more spending power the foreign workers get? And I assume they spend the same as us, which is not exactly true. Many of them are willing to share a room, with 6-7 of them squeezed into a tiny flat, thus saving on their rent. Also, they buy their clothes and other necessities from their home countries (which doesn't amount to much anyway, so it doesn't really count). After 2-3 years, they bring their SGD savings back to their home countries and live a good life.
Most singaporeans do not have a problem with foreign workers, they do have a bone to pick, however, with foreign talents who come to singapore to do the same jobs as locals.
Workers in poorer nations whose skills and labour are required by developed nations in Singapore come here to work because it is the only way they can improve their lives. Unless they leave their own countries for work, they will not be able to give their children a good education, provide decent healthcare etc.Originally posted by LazerLordz:What some of us here have is a different policy slant.
I am concerned about service duplication first and foremost, because I am a center-left , therefore social nets are a vital component of my arguments.
singaporeans should be protected from competition from those foreigners by the singapore government byt the simple fact that it is the singapore government and not some global body.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Workers in poorer nations whose skills and labour are required by developed nations in Singapore come here to work because it is the only way they can improve their lives. Unless they leave their own countries for work, they will not be able to give their children a good education, provide decent healthcare etc.
Why should Singaporeans be protected from competition from these foreigners? Foreigners also should have the right to a better life. If you lean towards the left, shouldn't you fight for the rights of workers in poorer nations to have a better life, rather than thumbing them down by practising protectionism?