the analogy's not exactly accurate.Originally posted by elindra:Erhmm that is like saying that you bought a house at a high price because the government have planned a town centre and MRT near that house.
However, due to unknown reasons, they decided to relocate their plans.
You can't expect compensation for that.
I'm talking about a house not a HDB flatOriginally posted by hisoka:the analogy's not exactly accurate.
this is a case of chasing the customers away.
and i do expect some noise made if the government did do the relocation thing after officially anouncing and confirming the plans. afterall they did inflate the prices, so at the very least a good explaination should be given
Yes you have to give back to govt eventually!!! The govt will riase the development charge.Originally posted by Fatum:you buy a house, prices go up, you sell it for a good profit, do you give some to the developer or the goverment ? .....
so why expect to be compensated then when you're loosing money ? ...![]()
approval is not the same as direct intervention.Originally posted by Fatum:so by this logic, if the goverment approves a new shopping complex somewhere near the area, and sucks up all the business from suntec, it, or the new shopping complex would be liable for damages ? ... if a new MRT line sucks away traffic from a certain neighbourhood, LTA should pay for business losses ... I have a bit of trouble thinking thus ...
perhaps Singaporeans should sue the Malaysian goverment for the CLOBE shares fiasco then, eh ? ...
this is business, you assume the risks, and you reap the profits ...
Is our govt our parents? Are they responsible in leading us to the right path and to up bring the right spirit of our society?Originally posted by elindra:![]()
How can you say you are a victim when you are the one who made the choice to buy?
You and only yourself made the decision, so how can you blame someone else if it is a bad decision?
to be sure we are on the same page,Originally posted by elindra:I'm talking about a house not a HDB flat
That is private property and going by market prices
If the market price goes up, it is inflated due to expected ammedities which market forces.
Anyway I did post that Fatum gave a better example.
both achieve the same outcome, agree ? ...Originally posted by hisoka:approval is not the same as direct intervention.
in your case its commercial competition. the shopping complex is just approved to go not made by or initiated by them.
a direct action to chase away customers or prevent access to your shop by a non-commercial entity is grounds for concern....
I just find it ludicrous that people actually expect the government to stop them from gambling? What happened to self responsibility?Originally posted by Lowclassman:Same old story...when the casinos started. Gamblers bet until broke and commit suicides.
You and only yourself made the decision, so how can you blame someone else if it is a bad decision?![]()
if you go (hypothetically) rape someone, you think the judge or the public will say that the girl was dressed sexily infront of you and you couldn't resist ? ....Originally posted by Lowclassman:Is our govt our parents? Are they responsible in leading us to the right path and to up bring the right spirit of our society?
Same old story...when the casinos started. Gamblers bet until broke and commit suicides.
You and only yourself made the decision, so how can you blame someone else if it is a bad decision?![]()
same outcome but different methods and causes. i mean you can't say murdering some one in cold blood and an accident beingt he same although both have the same outcome.Originally posted by Fatum:both achieve the same outcome, agree ? ...
I think my logic still stands, this is business ... when the delegates start thronging the area and business goes up, perhaps the goverment should "tax" them more for bringing in the business ? ....
but the one thing I find this thread troubling is the readiness of Singaporeans to look towards the goverment for solutions, it's something "uniquely Singapore" I tell you ... when the going gets tough, others buckle down and get going, Singaporeans whine and complain about the goverment ... it's not the signs of a resilent people ....![]()
Yeah loh..just hope that your next generations might fall into this and blame themselves hor.......Originally posted by elindra:I just find it ludicrous that people actually expect the government to stop them from gambling? What happened to self responsibility?
Yes, I would say that if they decide to gamble and lose their pants and decide to kill themselves, it is their own decision and can blame no one.
if you're talking about income taxes proportional to their profits, then when they make less, they'll get taxed LESS then eh ? ....Originally posted by hisoka:same outcome but different methods and causes. i mean you can't say murdering some one in cold blood and an accident beingt he same although both have the same outcome.
if the delegates start thronging in and business goes up, the government DOES tax them more........
in this case i think its justified becuase they are the cause of it. think about it, if you cause the trouble while i may have to find otehr ways thru, i would still hold you responsible if i can.
I'm actually pretty unhappy reading abotu the extra erp charges and the inconveniences to pple too but thats another topic and some of it can't be helped i guess
What if the girl strip infront of me?Originally posted by Fatum:if you go (hypothetically) rape someone, you think the judge or the public will say that the girl was dressed sexily infront of you and you couldn't resist ? ....
can you then go sue the girl for placing temptation in front of you ? ....![]()
Sure you can sue, but that doesn't mean you will win it.Originally posted by Fatum:if you go (hypothetically) rape someone, you think the judge or the public will say that the girl was dressed sexily infront of you and you couldn't resist ? ....
actually i'm not sure about that either.Originally posted by Fatum:if you go (hypothetically) rape someone, you think the judge or the public will say that the girl was dressed sexily infront of you and you couldn't resist ? ....
well ... you know that "honey pots" and stings are perfectly legal and widely used in most countries eh ? ...Originally posted by hisoka:actually i'm not sure about that either.
if you think abotu rape maybe but if you change the topic to money...
lets say if in entrapment, you put 1 million on the floor to see who keeps it and arrests the person.
i'm not sure if the blame lies totally on the person. i think the person who put that 1 million bucks to tempt pple are to be blamed at least partially.
jsut my opinion though.
i'm not so sure about the spike with so many thigns provided esp for the food outlets and certain stores....Originally posted by Fatum:if you're talking about income taxes proportional to their profits, then when they make less, they'll get taxed LESS then eh ? ....
but we're being anal here ...
I get your point, I just don't think it's that valid, especially when there'll be an anticipated spike in retail sales when the meeting starts in full swing ...
I'm more worried about the more "macro" point I bought up ... it's something more serious, this dependence on the goverment for assistance and complaint is definitely not healthy ....
agree ... I sometimes think that the goverment is a victim of it's own success too, that the people have such a mindset is because the goverment have traditionally been the only source of solutions and we know nothing else ... perhaps I should start a topic on that ....Originally posted by hisoka:i'm not so sure about the spike with so many thigns provided esp for the food outlets and certain stores....
yeah the macro point's worrying, but sometimes i think alot of that is becuase the government is responsible in a sense. like the foreign talent thingy while pple need to be more independent and find ways around, the gov does deserve blame for its policies. wont talk abotu it here as per out-of-topic norm.
the problem is with temption its sort of a grey area where the fualt lies on. the temptor or the tempted.Originally posted by Fatum:well ... you know that "honey pots" and stings are perfectly legal and widely used in most countries eh ? ...
I'm not sure I remember correctly, but you were a fellow com science chap too right ? ... "honey pots" are everywhere in today's online systems, are they not ? ...
but yeah, I guess with money, it's a bit of a grey area ...
exactly ! ...Originally posted by hisoka:
the problem is with temption its sort of a grey area where the fualt lies on. the temptor or the tempted.
the money was just a mroe extreme example i guess..honey pots are legal but then the pple who fall in are prob keen to commit the crime anyway![]()
like tt i oso can say we own LKY no sh!t...Originally posted by foomwee88:My brothers n sisters!!!
U r very naive!!!!
Spore gov doesnt owe u a living!!!