well said.Originally posted by ShutterBug:You know, this matter of IMF meeting here and our gov's fear of activists creating a scene here is like; they (our gov) wants to swim, but don't want to get wet. (!!)
I mean, our home forces are so well equiped and well trained. I do not doubt the abilities of any of our home forces to HANDLE any riots or rowdiness that these activists may or may not cause.
Good grief man, if they don't wanna get wet, DON'T friggin swim!
Precisely!Originally posted by R3SsH|n:let them come in lor...let those riot police do something...
even if singaporeans chup ji kee...it won't be many oso...so why not take the risk and try it out?
if the spf managed to defuse the situation of a violent protest...wouldn't that show the world how safe we really ar?
dammed if you do, dammed if you don't ....Originally posted by R3SsH|n:let them come in lor...let those riot police do something...
even if singaporeans chup ji kee...it won't be many oso...so why not take the risk and try it out?
if the spf managed to defuse the situation of a violent protest...wouldn't that show the world how safe we really ar?
all the gates and precautions taken definately will help in maintaining security...plus suntec convention is seperated with those shops by barricades already...Originally posted by Fatum:dammed if you do, dammed if you don't ....
but,
which one sounds better ? ...
simply be kiasi about it and bar potential trouble-makers from entry, and take some international flak for it ...
or
let them riot, loot nike boutiques, burn down mcdonalds, and have the SPF come in and crack a few heads and haul people away in cuffs on international live TV a la seattle ... and catch flak for police brutality (a la Genoa), and face compensation complaints from suntec tenants ? ... and gain a reputation for "police brutality" ? ...
mind you ... the international press doens't have to deal with the damages ...![]()
we are not turning away people completely ... we're selectively turning away known trouble makers ....Originally posted by R3SsH|n:all the gates and precautions taken definately will help in maintaining security...plus suntec convention is seperated with those shops by barricades already...
i still think they should be given a chance to express themselves...not turned away completely out of singapore.
possible ways of taking parts can be issueing written statements mahz...those who get turned away can issue written statements and express whatever views they have..maybe can distribute them as news paper articles during the IMF period...
if not prepare a room with a camera for them to speak out...without thousands of people looking on and prevent the speakers from provocating the crowd..and lead to a riot...
there are always alternatives...using elitism and "choosing" who can speak is not a good way to announce yourself to the world...
Initially, before WB said anything in protest, 28 activists were reportedly TURNED AWAY. Only when WB started making noise loudly, did they start becoming detailed.Originally posted by Fatum:we are not turning away people completely ... we're selectively turning away known trouble makers ....
would you agree on letting in say, a known Osama's associate into town, should he claim that he wants to protest against the world bank's policies ? ...
does his right of expression supersede our right to order and security ? ...
singapore has so called home ground advantage...Originally posted by Fatum:we are not turning away people completely ... we're selectively turning away known trouble makers ....
would you agree on letting in say, a known Osama's associate into town, should he claim that he wants to protest against the world bank's policies ? ...
does his right of expression supersede our right to order and security ? ...
I have a feeling our gov doesn't want to spend money in deployments like this.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:singapore has so called home ground advantage...
they can literally control every aspects of the meeting...including how they speak and when they speak...if they are really worried about the potential protesters going to toa pa yoh hdb hub and expressing their views...they can get 24 hours survillence on these people...with the effort and manpower thrown into the meeting...i am sure manpower is sufficent for a small group of nearly 30 potential protester....
in a controlled enviroment...the organisers should be able to minus out all possible ways of threats to the order and security...its their job anyway...
yes .... it's their job anyway, ... it's the goverment's job to keep us safe, it's the goverment's job to organize this meeting nicely to earn brownine points with the world, it's the goverment's job to please everybody from the tenants of suntec to some foreign protester ...Originally posted by R3SsH|n:singapore has so called home ground advantage...
they can literally control every aspects of the meeting...including how they speak and when they speak...if they are really worried about the potential protesters going to toa pa yoh hdb hub and expressing their views...they can get 24 hours survillence on these people...with the effort and manpower thrown into the meeting...i am sure manpower is sufficent for a small group of nearly 30 potential protester....
in a controlled enviroment...the organisers should be able to minus out all possible ways of threats to the order and security...its their job anyway...
ermmm ....Originally posted by ShutterBug:I have a feeling our gov doesn't want to spend money in deployments like this.
Like I've said, if they don't want to get wet, don't swim lah!
haha...you sound like a paranoid parent...Originally posted by Fatum:yes .... it's their job anyway, ... it's the goverment's job to keep us safe, it's the goverment's job to organize this meeting nicely to earn brownine points with the world, it's the goverment's job to please everybody from the tenants of suntec to some foreign protester ...
london has the most advanced survillence systems on the planet, they have enough cameras to watch everyone and everything, to keep everybody safe .... that's what they must have been thinking before the london bombings eh ...
I do support their claims of KNOWN TROUBLEMAKERS, and barring them from entering to create the same. However, this world is filled with heck of a lot of UNKNOWN TROUBLEMAKERS. Then what? Ban the world?Originally posted by Fatum:ermmm ....
I don't get it bro ....
you were talking about foreigners causing social problems in another thread here ... fine, I agree, there are some parasitic sort around ...
but you think it's okay for known trouble-making foreigners to come and wreck havoc and riot at this meeting ? ...
*scratches head ...![]()
perhaps I'm just a kiasu and kiasi Singkapolean ...Originally posted by R3SsH|n:haha...you sound like a paranoid parent...
anyway the decision is taken...so no point debating over this...
i still believe though...there are other ways of expressing their views...no necessary to send them back...![]()