Meetings with violent protesters will do well to stay away from Singapore. I don't want them either. But this will send a message to big MNCs who want to discuss serious issues without disruption by protesters...do it in Singapore!Originally posted by dragg:if that were the case i believe we wont have a chance to host the event a 2nd time.
The point is; WHO, signed the Agreement 3 friggin years ago???Originally posted by av98m:This thread troubles me.
I cannot believe that there are actually people who want demonstrations and riots.
The very same people will be blaming the gahmen if its their own cars/homes/businesses that get damaged or their loved ones hurt.
Or bitching if they get called up to help quell the riots.
Oh well.![]()
in layman term, if you cant accept the terms by IMF/WB might as well dont host....save time , $$$ and people and most important FACE.Originally posted by ShutterBug:The point is; WHO, signed the Agreement 3 friggin years ago???
And WHAT did the agreement they signed, obligated them to accept?? :- demonstrations by all listed CSOs.
They're like taking a hammer, and knocking their own heads with it.
Well, looks like they didn't save money, nor time, or people's conveniences and certainly not FACE.Originally posted by duotiga83:in layman term, if you cant accept the terms by IMF/WB might as well dont host....save time , $$$ and people and most important FACE.
Originally posted by anonymouscoward:Gahmen don't want to set precedence... wait all the peasants start protesting against Gahmen and shake up their peanut trees how?
IMF also another bastard. You think they really want the protesters here meh? 26,000 turned up because they know it's safe but IMF chief want to use this oppty to project that he's open to feedback from all activist (behind close doors, they are planning how to screw those people big time).... sounds familar right?
In a sense, I think Singapore being bombarded by other gaints like IMF is good for Singapore. Hopefully they will and can learn. U want to be international, U better learn to be international.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Our gov is going to make a "reputation" for themselves by insisting on acting 'Holier than Thou' towards international bodies like the WB...
Like I've said, their own actions defames themselves - no one needs to defame them.
U r right!!!Originally posted by anonymouscoward:Gahmen don't want to set precedence... wait all the peasants start protesting against Gahmen and shake up their peanut trees how?
IMF also another bastard. You think they really want the protesters here meh? 26,000 turned up because they know it's safe but IMF chief want to use this oppty to project that he's open to feedback from all activist (behind close doors, they are planning how to screw those people big time).... sounds familar right?
demonstration = damaged cars/homes/etc etc?Originally posted by av98m:This thread troubles me.
I cannot believe that there are actually people who want demonstrations and riots.
The very same people will be blaming the gahmen if its their own cars/homes/businesses that get damaged or their loved ones hurt.
Or bitching if they get called up to help quell the riots.
Oh well.![]()
we cant expect to have no problems forever.Originally posted by jacqn:the police only know how to plan and organise mock emergencies, so used to carry out according to plan. but come to real ones, do they still be as efficient?
Originally posted by dragg:we cant expect to have no problems forever.
in a way, this is a good chance to put training into practice.
Let's have a war then... or else our years of national service will be wasted cos we have no chance to put training into practice...
with proper planning i doubt the protest will lead to burning of houses, looting and whatnot.
Okay, how are we going to do that? Treat them to dinner at posh restaurants? Tell them to talk over things nicely? If that's the case, they won't be labelled as protestors already... These activists do not intend to talk over things nicely in the first place... they want to protest! they want demonstrations! and even if they do not start riots, they will cause lots of inconcenience and fear to us, Singaporeans!
afterall we are not suggesting that our govt admit 1000 or more activists.
So what is a safe number then? and which ones should we select to let in?
Based on input provided by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank (WB) this morning, the S2006 Organising Committee has reviewed the list of 27 CSO representatives whose entry was subject to interview by Singapore. The S2006 Organising Committee has decided to allow the entry of 22 of the 27 CSO representatives.
2 The Committee has also informed the IMF/WB that if the remaining five CSO representatives were to attempt to enter Singapore, they will be subject to interview and may not be allowed in.
3 The S2006 Organising Committee has conveyed its decision to the IMF/WB this evening.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:wahhh...finally give in liao.....so verdict our law hold no water is it? or double standards?
[b]Response To IMF/WB Appeal:
22 CSO Representatives Will Be Allowed Entry15 Sep 2006
Singapore 2006 Press Statement.
Originally posted by freakass:'Many forumers in sgForums always find fault with the Singapore government wihout really thinking....' - or are the critics of such sgForumers doing their bit to support the Singapore Government - with their eyes blindfolded, ears stuffed, and mind hollowed ?
I realise that many forumers in sgForums always try to find fault with the Singapore government without really thinking...
This article is based on the views of ONE reporter. I urge all of you to keep in mind the [b]POWER OF THE PEN. Reporters are very well versed in this. Some reporters can write that they saw a Tarantula spider in their chicken rice when in fact they saw only a small fruit fly...
To those of you who agreed that those activists should be let in, wait till they start a riot just outside your house.... set a fire to your main door.... overturn your car... kill your family members during the chaos etc etc etc.... Well, the Singapore police may be able to put a stop to the riot, but there will definitely be damage done once a riot starts...
Please bloody use your brains to think first before you talk, people...[/b]