Another potential Wayang and TKSS session in the making....Originally posted by dragg:National Neuroscience Institute head Lee Wei Ling in a letter to the Straits Times, raised the issue of a generation of greying disabled here who have nowhere to turn when their parents die.
Dr Lee wrote that money should be put into caring for such disabled folk.
She told the Straits Times yesterday, "We are pumping billions of dollars to be a vibrant, cultured and hip society. But isnt it more important to be a caring society where we make a conscious effort to help our less fortunate citizens?
"How can we consider ourselves a civil and cultured society when we close our eyes to the parents who spend the latter half their lives in anguish?"![]()
isnt Dr Lee the sister of our current PM?
"Quickly divert topic if you know you might be embroiled in a charitable organisation scandal" syndrome.Originally posted by charlize:Ever noticed that she's starting to become very prominent to the public now?
Writing in to forums and all that.
Hmm.
Note the title: "DON'T SALVAGE LIVES THAT WILL WEIGH ON FAMILY"Don't salvage lives that will weigh on family
THE article, 'Parents of the disabled have a long list of woes'' (ST, Sept 13), serves as a launching pad for me to write to ST Forum on a topic I have felt very strongly about for a long time.
Of the long list of woes, one dominates that of all elderly parents: 'Who will look after my child after I pass on?' Many parents have expressed this concern to me.
In other cases, I have reminded younger parents to cease their globe-trotting in search of a miracle cure and set aside funds to provide for their disabled child while not neglecting their other children.
For those who can afford it, I advise them about setting up a trust fund. But many do not have enough money to provide for their disabled offspring for as long as the patient will live.
I understand the parents' pain and burden because I see it so often. It is one of the reasons I have written to ST Forum more than once about not salvaging lives that will be a burden to their family and society.
My conviction was further strengthened last Tuesday when a patient in his 50s, who I have seen for more than 15 years, came for his annual check-up with his sister.
Surprised, I asked what happened to the father who was the one who brought the patient every time.
'He passed away' was the sister's answer.
'But he looked in good health when I saw him last year.'
'Actually, he jumped and killed himself. He meant to take my brother with him but could not do so.'
I was greatly saddened. The father had asked me for help to find a nursing home for his son two years ago. I gave him a list and he phoned each of them, promising to will everything to the home which would promise to look after his son.
He had a landed property which he lived in, but that too would be willed to the home when he died.
Last year, he told me sadly that all the homes wanted money upfront and turned him down.
As medicine advances, more and more brain-damaged patients will be salvaged. We doctors are playing God all the time though we pretend we should not.
We are trapped between the old days when many of these disabled patients would die because medicine could do no better, and a rational era (which may never come) where doctors and families can come to a rational decision that 'enough is enough'.
As a First World country where millions of dollars are being poured into making us a cultured and vibrant society, could a few million dollars be spared to build nursing homes for disabled patients whose parents are getting too old to look after them any longer?
Dr Lee Wei Ling
Originally posted by Aveme:She dun know meh?
Ask her go ask our health minster Kwah who would like our elderly to be shipped to cheap foreign land to die there?