To prove that no matter how we vote the opposition, the ruling party will still rule.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Question.
Why do u say that our govt has led us to greener pastures, yet vote for the opposition?
I m neither a supporter of CSJ nor PAP,but this matter has brought shame to us as Sporean in the int'l scene.Originally posted by Urroh:CSJ had chances in elections in Singapore. Two opposition party was elected into Parliament so do say say CSJ had no chances. How can you call a government elected a dishonorable goverment? I dun think we are brain washed.
He also show himself as the laughing joke of the opposition in SG and a disgrace to the opposition.
Singaporean govt is always look up to in the world and Singaporeans are not sheeps to the slaughter. It is just we had the faith in our govt to led us to fresher pastures.
If the govt was elected by its people why not put faith in them to led us to the better life.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Question.
Why do u say that our govt has led us to greener pastures, yet vote for the opposition?
Hallo,pls answer me whether Spore is a democracy country by constiution???Originally posted by iceFatboy:to me, it is rather ironical that the opp parties are cornered off in the speakers' corner... well, that is the proper avenue for voicing..so use it.
the authorities have already rejected chee's initial proposal to have this march, so in one way, he is already challenging, and then to turn it over to say it is police intimidation is rather childish.
I believe modern singaporeans who are not directly impacted by what our forefathers have built, may want to question why certain things are done in certain way, and why so many frameworks are in place.
And I urged all, before we rush headlong into a wall, do see what these people are trying to achieve. Personally, do we really want to be like the US, the freedom of speech, total freedom? I fear that day. Where the political arena turns into a circus like Taiwan, the instability of Thailand.
Do we really need to feel pain to fear pain?
While most of us are influcened by US riches through the TV, do try to look at the other side of the coin.
I am no expert in this, but I feel that no matter, we need to have a balance and be objective.
Control is still needed, not direct but indirect, have you ever envision Singapore to allow pole dancing, well, it is happening..
Give it time for the authorities to get it right...
While I look at such distractions, i look at the safety that I have, the food that I can eat, the water I can drink from my tap, yes it is expensive, but looking around the region such as other SEA countries. I choose Singapore as my home anytime, even with my eyes closed.
Singaporeans will not question why we do not have freedom of Speech and rights to protest as pple will know we live in a racial harmony country where it takes just a spark to incite racial riots although we had moved along since then. If strikes are to stifed a country then everything will stopped and slow down causing our economy to suffer, foreign investors will not invest. Our country will suffer a decline.Originally posted by foomwee88:Hallo,pls answer me whether Spore is a democracy country by constiution???
If yes, where r our rights of protest n freedom of speach in Sinkgapore???
If our gov is corrupted,wat r our recourse???
To buy votes n fix the opposition, can these be allowed to happen in a democracy country ???
Stop laughing and post something constructive.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Oh my God Urroh you got me laughing so hard I'm in tears!![]()
What is the definition of a Democracy country??? Pls check the consitution n dont make us laugh!!Originally posted by Urroh:Singaporeans will not question why we do not have freedom of Speech and rights to protest as pple will know we live in a racial harmony country where it takes just a spark to incite racial riots although we had moved along since then. If strikes are to stifed a country then everything will stopped and slow down causing our economy to suffer, foreign investors will not invest. Our country will suffer a decline.
Singapore is a small country, without natural resources, it takes just a small error to unravelled the hard work of our forefathers.
As i had said our govt is corrupted, you can voted them out in the next elections or the president will dissolved parliament.

[/b][/b][/quote]Who making you laugh? You go think for yrself la.. every country is different, if we follow other country standard of democracy, You and i will not be living in such peace and strifefree country. Sometimes pple does not be thankful for what they had got. You want to live in a country where there is no peace, strikes and riots?Originally posted by foomwee88:What is the definition of a Democracy country??? Pls check the consitution n dont make us laugh!!
Yes,we can throw a corrupted gov out during election but during the period of gov,how leh???
Pls ask yrself why Ah Bian'gov in TW cant be voted out when he is elected n controlling of all the enforcement of laws n investigation of civil officers.
Next question to u, why we r behind HK n Taiwan where they r really practicing democracy???Yr argument is the same as a mindless sheep who recite wat the Gods siad w/o analysis.
Originally posted by Urroh:Who making you laugh? You go think for yrself la.. every country is different, if we follow other country standard of democracy, You and i will not be living in such peace and strifefree country. Sometimes pple does not be thankful for what they had got. You want to live in a country where there is no peace, strikes and riots?
Are we really behind HK and taiwan? Proof?
I do think that you are the one speaking without constructive evidence. I also can say and point to other country democracy as the best la good la, but is it suitable for Singapore?
Do you think Taiwan Ah bian Govt will be there for another elections? Seriously there no way to stop a govt from stepping down from their term of office unless willingly. You cant hold elections at any whim or prims so since do not vote for the wrong govt or else you will suffer,
I thought the definition of democracy is the same in every country? i.e a form of government in which the people have a voice in the exercise of power,Originally posted by Urroh:Who making you laugh? You go think for yrself la.. every country is different, if we follow other country standard of democracy, You and i will not be living in such peace and strifefree country. Sometimes pple does not be thankful for what they had got. You want to live in a country where there is no peace, strikes and riots?
Are we really behind HK and taiwan? Proof?
I do think that you are the one speaking without constructive evidence. I also can say and point to other country democracy as the best la good la, but is it suitable for Singapore?
Do you think Taiwan Ah bian Govt will be there for another elections? Seriously there no way to stop a govt from stepping down from their term of office unless willingly. You cant hold elections at any whim or prims so since do not vote for the wrong govt or else you will suffer,
I think that you are the one who are talking without thinking, without evidence or analysis. You are just ridculing for the sake of it. You are like a man who spouts rubbish without thinking.Originally posted by foomwee88:Next question to u, why we r behind HK n Taiwan where they r really practicing democracy???Yr argument is the same as a mindless sheep who recite wat the Gods siad w/o analysis.
Originally posted by 4getmenot:Aiyah i talking about singapore govt la and for the Peace of My Country, knn want another system go to that bloody country la. You cant impose their system into our country as we will collapse.
I thought the definition of democracy is the same in every country?[b] i.e a form of government in which the people have a voice in the exercise of power,
Y is united states still the number migration choice even when they are far more protests, strikes than other countries?
"Seriously there no way to stop a govt from stepping down from their term of office unless willingly. You cant hold elections at any whim or prims so since do not vote for the wrong govt or else you will suffer"
Haven;t you heard of peoples' power? i.e Indonesia..Phillipines..South Korea just to name a few..[/b][/b]
And you are sure that a change in the system such as making our country more democratic and letting more freedom of press will in turn collaspe our contry?Originally posted by Urroh:Aiyah i talking about singapore govt la and for the Peace of My Country, knn want another system go to that bloody country la. You cant impose their system into our country as we will collapse.
Aiyah since you hate sg govt so much, join the CSJ group and post ur pics. Go and join in our local People Power.
And i mean Seriously is by Legal Means through Voting And Elections. Pls do not get my context Wrong.
Originally posted by foomwee88:Originally posted by foomwee88:Urroh!!Urroh!!!Urroh!
I m hopimg u r not blind n telling us u cant read the below link.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/225591/1/.html![]()
Pl dont just recite watever the sg gov said which r fiction and not fact!!!
Activist NOT EQUAL terriostsOriginally posted by foxtrout8:u know nothing abt violent riots do u?
Originally posted by Urroh:R u so absent minded? u r asking me 2 show proof that our economic is behind HK n TW eventhought they r more democracy than Spore!!! worst still,u mentioned that by allowing protest ,our economic will be destroyed, I really cant understand,HK ,Taiwan n Korea,these countries had shown this is not the case.
[b]Originally posted by foomwee88:
Next question to u, why we r behind HK n Taiwan where they r really practicing democracy???Yr argument is the same as a mindless sheep who recite wat the Gods siad w/o analysis.
Nb.. We are talking abt democracy, you show me the links about economy for what?
Anyway i speaking from my own mind. You are just attacking for the sake of it.
It is a fact our democracy is suited for our fragile country.
I am older than you thought, more rational than you. Dun come here and insult pple. If a baby can post here i take my head off.Originally posted by foomwee88:R u so absent minded? u r asking me 2 show proof that our economic is behind HK n TW eventhought they r more democracy than Spore!!! worst still,u mentioned that by allowing protest ,our economic will be destroyed, I really cant understand,HK ,Taiwan n Korea,these countries had shown this is not the case.
U r using the outdated tactic 2 lie n bulloze yr unrational n not reality resonings!!!
How old r U? If u r baby then I can 4give U.
Originally posted by rookieboss:Interesting points you have there.. if the so called elite brainers in the gahmen have thought of those solutions b4 hand, we wouldn;t end up in the world papers for the wrong reasons... i too admire csj for what he is doing, but he's ONLY doing this not because of a publicity stunt THAT ALL SO MANY OF US THINK BUT BECAUSE THIS IS IN FACT ONE OF THOSE FEW RARE CHANCES THAT HE CAN SPEAK OUT HIS MIND AND LET THE WORLD AND THE PEOPLE TAKE NOTICE and be a witness to it to the system that we have in Singapore. Imagine if he had done it during the Food Asia Expo.. would it have made such an impact and a difference?? Did all of us really think that he would have lasted an hour in the open rather than 36 hour standoff he is staging if he had done it in another time and situation? All of us Singaporeans are so used to the rosy pictures that the media and tv paints bout our country that we fail to see the other side of reality... This has all passed down from one generation to another generation like an added gene that it is forbidden to speak out our minds even though it may or may not be right against our gah men. Any attempt to do so is accused of being disrupting the social peace and harmony of our society...social peace and harmony of the elite circle they mean? This constitutes a violation of a very simple and basic principle of what makes us who we are - Humans. CSJ is resorting to whatever means to get noticed and it is only right because this maybe he's LAST CHANCE TO BE HEARD b4 he get put away for a while. Then wat is going to happen next? I bet we'll see a next line of Chees anytime in the near future.. you can restrain us now, but maybe not our future generations. Open up now and be rationale or our gah men will have nobody to blame except themselves.
[b]Activist NOT EQUAL terriosts
Who is talking about violent riots? We are talking about activists- ppls who are voicing their side of the story- not terrorists (or so gahmen assume all ppls with different voice are terrorists and must be shut down and out! If our police can handle it better than HK can, wud it score again and other high profile meetings or huh-ha can take place here again.
The Gahmen shud have asked those scholars how can we make the meeting into positive light. Of course, as usual, these scholars care more about their promotion and pension than think of something smart. Some smart asses thou we put some OSIM (our SG poster boy product), lucky draws and BMW in Suntec and we can be famous.
With our police force ‘well-trained’ and ‘well spread’ across the tiny island and "spy' training (dun discuss this loud else yr neighbor will hear you and report u) and extreme brainwashing, the Gahmen shud have engage the "activists" into meaningful dialogue prior to the meeting and cut a deal where they can voice in peaceful manner. If across the line, no leniency wud be given. Send the msg to their activists’ embassies b4hand. This will win all sides of the argument.
Kaisu, Kaisi and no-brainer.
On CSJ thingyÂ…Â…Â…..
CSJ is pitiful but there is only so much pity we can show and admiration for his gunghu style. He chose to fight for free speech but pls, dun go head to head with the Gahmen. Think first lar. B4 him, so many gone headcrashÂ…..bankrupt or missing or who knowÂ….kept somewhere in Sentosa Island (by the way, is one of the most desirable property location).
He is such an intellect and shud opt for more effective manner. Use his skills to write essays, make use of the media (local or foreign)…and Singaporeans wud be more receptive towards him n his ideas. Dun go fasting or strike…..we “peaceful” and boring folks are brainwashed and programmed not to go against- at least out in the open. SAF also teaches us to shoot in the dark quietly, rite. We are not like the Taiwanese who have over time and history learnt to be stronger (I am not suggesting that they are doing the rite or wrong thing. That’s their biz. We have ours to care for now).