Not freedom of Speech anymore ah?Originally posted by ShutterBug:I ask you; what is MOST precious to every living thing??
I tell you - FREEDOM. And I mean freedom of living your life, walking around, going to work, coming home to your family and hobbies of interests.
Knowing this, now imagine; he who dares risks having his living freedom taken away - such as locked up and away in some dark cell for infinite number of years - who the hell on earth isn't fearful of such a prospect? Except of course, our iron man CSJ.
He is wrestling with a Dragon. Slip and fall off the Dragon's back, he will be fritters....
err.. actually, living freedom also encompasses Freedom of Expression, fyi.Originally posted by Urroh:Not freedom of Speech anymore ah?
Faster lock him up la, an embarrasment to Singapore. Did you ever see SDP newsletter before? All Rubbished, For yr info, i still have a copy of his party's newsletter published eight months before the election.![]()
Just as i tot you miss that..Originally posted by ShutterBug:err.. actually, living freedom also encompasses Freedom of Expression, fyi.
heheheee...Originally posted by Urroh:Just as i tot you miss that..![]()
Free Speech comes with great Responsibility but one wrong sentence will kill lives.Originally posted by ShutterBug:heheheee...
no lah... some confidence in the people of SG must be accorded, as we are all largely educated enough to cherish peace and harmony...hence peaceful public speeches is very possible.
Do away with the silly permit to speak thing lah.. so kiasu leh...
I wonder who the immature one is?Originally posted by Urroh:Free Speech comes with great Responsibility but one wrong sentence will kill lives.
So i wonder if it is really feasible to disallow permits.. I dun think our society are that mature..
Through decades of observations, I believe that the day when our gov stops being so KIASI and KIASU, people in our society will no longer be KIASI and KIASU.Originally posted by Urroh:Free Speech comes with great Responsibility but one wrong sentence will kill lives.
So i wonder if it is really feasible to disallow permits.. I dun think our society are that mature..
2.Like Chinese says,Officials love people like their children.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Explanatorily;
We are like "children" and they are like our "parents". As such, isn't it natural that children will emulate the actions and mannerisms of their parents?
6 yrs ago,Taiwanese woman n grls also said the same thing,but u c they r all out to get rid of Corrrupted Gov Ah Bian now.Originally posted by Rock^Star:I see a war going on.
Well, face it everyone, majority of Singaporeans don't care what democracy is.
Baby boomers? You care? How many?
What abt the uncles who "jiak bak dang see" at coffeeshops? Do they know what the fcuk is democracy?
What abt aunties and homemakers? Do they bother?
Students in JC/Poly/Uni, how many are politically concerned/active or just plain apathetic? U ask the ah lian or ah beng at Bugis or West Mall coffeebean, u think they can answer u?
In Singapore, a lack of democracy can be easily excused as we are such a safe country. As a matter of fact, who really cares?
Chee is fighting a lost cause. Like I mentioned before somewhere, "He is a political martyr born in an untimely era".
Those of us who care, do not form the critical mass now, therefore we have to disseminate and spread awareness in our youth and our peers in our own way.Originally posted by Rock^Star:I see a war going on.
Well, face it everyone, majority of Singaporeans don't care what democracy is.
Baby boomers? You care? How many?
What abt the uncles who "jiak bak dang see" at coffeeshops? Do they know what the fcuk is democracy?
What abt aunties and homemakers? Do they bother?
Students in JC/Poly/Uni, how many are politically concerned/active or just plain apathetic? U ask the ah lian or ah beng at Bugis or West Mall coffeebean, u think they can answer u?
In Singapore, a lack of democracy can be easily excused as we are such a safe country. As a matter of fact, who really cares?
Chee is fighting a lost cause. Like I mentioned before somewhere, "He is a political martyr born in an untimely era".
Democracy can give you opportunities that were taken away from you and given to cronies... so that you have to work for exploitation wages... pay for housing that takes 3 times the actual time... what is $30/month connection compared to those?Originally posted by qooorange:Can democracy give me 100Mbps home connection at $30/month?
don't have to wait for that one, you can go to Geylang, Orchard Towers and Joo Chiat or Crazy Horse if you want to see...Originally posted by kopikid:democracy will give u alot more then that....
if theres democracy in singapore u wont want to see a computer instead u would go to a titty bar.![]()

Mind yr head!!!!Mindless sheep!!!Originally posted by Urroh:Not personal? Funny? Not an Insult. Then what is it that you post above. Although it is a forum but you better mind yr words. Do not start flamewars or i will not hold back. Now back to serious discussion.
Yup.. Stability will be gone. What i mean is prevention is better so as not to throw away the hard work of our forefathers.
Our country history has show us that the communists are the experts at this. In 1956, 149 days of strike are organised and Singapore economy at that time was crippled. You can see how many hours and money are lost through strikes. If the workers are to protest everyday, the country will suffer and you will suffer.
Originally posted by Atobe:Not surprised actually - they only paint pictures they want us to see...
The Singapore Press had only publised the heavy presence of the Singapore Police, and reported the supposedly poor attendance at CSJ's party at the Speakers' Corner.
Searching [b]'Google' will present a long list of foreign news sites, with some foreign press featuring photos of the event that are contrary to the facts on site:
Surprisingly - this time around - the Singapore Police prefer to keep their hands off, and seems to have used their best effort to restrain themselves from 'touching' CSJ, his sister and the other participants.
Could this extra caution and patience be the result of important guests from the First World Countries currently present in Singapore for the bigger event ?
Perhaps the Singapore Police was protecting CSJ and company from getting hurt if they ever reached Suntec City, as the Gurkhas are armed with live weapons, and are not trained in riot control but to use deadly force when the situation turned threatening.
Can the accompanying Singapore Police Constable have the authority to let the Gurkhas loose, as surely the Gurkhas will not act on their own initiative ?
Originally posted by Atobe:If there isn't any IMF meeting. Then it will be different situation in handling of CSJ by the sg police.
The Singapore Press had only publised the heavy presence of the Singapore Police, and reported the supposedly poor attendance at CSJ's party at the Speakers' Corner.
Searching [b]'Google' will present a long list of foreign news sites, with some foreign press featuring photos of the event that are contrary to the facts on site:
Surprisingly - this time around - the Singapore Police prefer to keep their hands off, and seems to have used their best effort to restrain themselves from 'touching' CSJ, his sister and the other participants.
Could this extra caution and patience be the result of important guests from the First World Countries currently present in Singapore for the bigger event ?
Perhaps the Singapore Police was protecting CSJ and company from getting hurt if they ever reached Suntec City, as the Gurkhas are armed with live weapons, and are not trained in riot control but to use deadly force when the situation turned threatening.
Can the accompanying Singapore Police Constable have the authority to let the Gurkhas loose, as surely the Gurkhas will not act on their own initiative ?
The chinese also says, fu4 yan2 mu3 ci2 , besides the strict father there is a kind mother. Sg PAP is like some father, as long as i give you money, a roof over your head, shut the F---k up!! where is the ci mu who listen??Originally posted by lionnoisy:2.Like Chinese says,Officials love people like their children.
Sg PAP has demonstrated this in past few decades.
3.i suggest u visit countries nearby and Taiwan.See how a democratic
and free countries look like.
You know, I have a feeling people in Malaysia are laughing their heads off..Originally posted by sgdiehard:The chinese also says, fu4 yan2 mu3 ci2 , besides the strict father there is a kind mother. Sg PAP is like some father, as long as i give you money, a roof over your head, shut the F---k up!! where is the ci mu who listen??
Now the SgFather realises the big problem ahead, and he needs the children to not to rely on him, start their own business, take care of the own medicals, but still expect the children not to have minds and ideas of their own???
what do you suggest we see in Taiwan?? i just came back from there, from what i saw i asked myself, 1. the president they elected became corrupt so now they can go on the streets to tell the president he should come down? can singaporean do that if we were in a similar situation in the future?? 2. my business meetings there were not in anywhere affected during these few days in Taipei, in fact, two of my associates went there after dinner with me with da pao for their wives there, alll businesses were as usual, is singapore society that matured??
the only thing I feared then was when they allowed another 200,000 green t-shirts to protest against the close to 1 million red t-shirts in the same city. But fortunately, nothing happened. If this were to happen in singapore, we would probably had M113, with live ammo, separating the two parties, if the parties were allowed to be there at all.
In a way, the sgPAP probably believes singaporeans were like the PRC chinese, like somebody here talked about the riots, the strikes, so the way they handle the people here is also like the PRC government, is it not??![]()