2.how do u know Gurkha have not been trained for anti--riot?Originally posted by Atobe:[color=darkred]
[color=darkred]Perhaps the Singapore Police was protecting CSJ and company from getting hurt if they ever reached Suntec City, as the Gurkhas are armed with live weapons, and are not trained in riot control but to use deadly force when the situation turned threatening.
color]
here they are certainly not armed to handle riot! don't know how many live rounds they carry, but with automatic rifles, it is shoot to kill, after the first warning shot in the air.Originally posted by lionnoisy:2.how do u know Gurkha have not been trained for anti--riot?
one of their their main mission is anti riots.This will reduce the accusation that Sg's Malay police kill/injure Chinese during riot or vice versa.
They can help to carry out anti riot impartially.Color of skin
to them is meaningless.
You siao Ding dong. You think i MM LEE or PM HSL or SM Goh ah?Originally posted by foomwee88:Mind yr head!!!!Mindless sheep!!!
So stupid argument!!! making nosense!!!
Wat democracy got 2 do with communists????
Dont just threaten!! sue me if u can!!! I can give u my full name n IC no via pm!!
I refer to FREEDOM as it is used commonly and naturally as in the phrase; "FREE as a bird". FREE like any creature warm blooded or otherwise. FREE as we are born naturally FREE. Free as in "Born Free".Originally posted by wisefool83:8 pages down the road, I've read and seen the following words the most, "mindless sheeps, brainwashed sheeps" The intensive use of such words can produce two forseeable effects
1) Pissing pple off and they deliberately support PAP just to piss you back
2) Induce guilt in pple and they support CSJ instead because they don't want to be mindless sheeps
Neither of these effects are desirable for a democratic system. The idea of a democratic system is to allow the citizens of a country to elect their leaders after rationale reasoning and deciding who can possibly best lead them. There are people who called over present government a bully and yet they are using emotionally bullying words. Are these people the ideal spokeperson for democracy and freedom?
Shutterbug said that Freedom is the MOST important thing for a person. What is the basis of such statement? Did you do a general poll and ask every single Singaporeans if he/she wants the type of freedom that Shutterbug had in mind? There is a difference in saying "Freedom is the most important thing to me" and "Freefom is the most important thing to every person" By saying the latter without asking every single person, you are imposing the idea of freedom on everyperson that you did not ask. Are you forcing people to be free? Freedom can also be interpretated differently by different people. The common notion of Freedom is used in the liberal sense which is freedom from interference. Which means the less restrictions the government places on you, the less things that government say you cannot do, the more free you are.
The other freedom in the republican sense is freedom from domination. Which regards people to be free as long as they are not dominated by foreign powers. So if Singapore is seen as a larger entity of human, as in we see ourselves as a collective person rather than a group of individuals, then all rules that our elected government places upon ourselves would be considered self-discipline.
There was a posting that mentioned that Singapore's election is not fair because they received 66% of the votes but held over 90% of the seats in Parliament. Hey, Bush received millions of votes less than Al Gore, look who's seating in the White house. In other states that practice MMP system, the ruling government normally hold less than 50% of the votes.
For those who think that the international community is able to pressurise PAP into submission, think again. Does the majority of the state actors really give a damn to freedom and democracy? United States, crusader of democracy, had in the very words of their Secretary of State, Rice, said that for the pass few decades, U.S. had traded democracy in the middle east for stability. She was refering to the U.S. participation in conducting a coup in Iran a few decades back to oust an Iranian democratically elected government and bring in the Shar because the former had an anti-U.S. stand. Iraq was a long time a good friend of the U.S. b4 the Gulf War and U.S. turned a blindeye to whatever autocity Saddam had committed.
The NGOs, although following their conscience, lack unity and power. The only type of NGO that can ever change the fate of a country is the media, whose primary purpose is not their conscience but to make a profit. No media in the world report the truth, they only report the facts in manner they think their readers would like to read.
Its ok and healthy for Singaporeans to have different stand in politics, choosing not to be involve in politics is also a choice. The important thing is that we respect each other's view and although we can criticise each other's viewpoint using reasons, we should refrain from emotionally bullying them into our own camp.
You can get all these from www.singporedemocrat.orgOriginally posted by Wolfgangs246:Sorry but does anyone here have a copy of that pamphlet he was giving out? I would love to have a copy. (Maybe frame it up on my wall next to pics of his 'escort') Also my pro-CSJ friends who are Singaporean but overseas are also interested in getting scanned copies of it for their perusal. IF anyone has it could you pls private msg me via this forums.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:here they are certainly not armed to handle riot! don't know how many live rounds they carry, but with automatic rifles, it is shoot to kill, after the first warning shot in the air.
It is a stupid OVER REACTION.Originally posted by Urroh:![]()
Singapore got police train to put down riots. Gukhas are for racial riots where there can be killings. Surely they dun shoot to kill it will cause an uproar.![]()
The Gukhas are here for Security and deterrence.Originally posted by ShutterBug:It is a stupid OVER REACTION.
Over hyped.
Overkilled.
and OVER DONE.
how many riots have we experienced so far in all of 40 friggin years???
And for all the security measures in place downtown in the paranoia of Terrorism, they still left the back door unlocked and open.
It's just my personal opinion that IF they are planning any attempts, it wouldn't be anywhere downtown or even any MRT stations anymore.Originally posted by Urroh:The Gukhas are here for Security and deterrence.
What back door are you talking abt?![]()
Anywhere in SG also wont la.. they are conducting check at border checkpoints, ferry and airports. How to smuggle explosives?Originally posted by ShutterBug:It's just my personal opinion that IF they are planning any attempts, it wouldn't be anywhere downtown or even any MRT stations anymore.
U r rights! all these Gods are still using outdated tactic 2 scare ppls like business will be affected and properties damaged etc if there is protest in Spore.Originally posted by sgdiehard:The chinese also says, fu4 yan2 mu3 ci2 , besides the strict father there is a kind mother. Sg PAP is like some father, as long as i give you money, a roof over your head, shut the F---k up!! where is the ci mu who listen??
Now the SgFather realises the big problem ahead, and he needs the children to not to rely on him, start their own business, take care of the own medicals, but still expect the children not to have minds and ideas of their own???
what do you suggest we see in Taiwan?? i just came back from there, from what i saw i asked myself, 1. the president they elected became corrupt so now they can go on the streets to tell the president he should come down? can singaporean do that if we were in a similar situation in the future?? 2. my business meetings there were not in anywhere affected during these few days in Taipei, in fact, two of my associates went there after dinner with me with da pao for their wives there, alll businesses were as usual, is singapore society that matured??
the only thing I feared then was when they allowed another 200,000 green t-shirts to protest against the close to 1 million red t-shirts in the same city. But fortunately, nothing happened. If this were to happen in singapore, we would probably had M113, with live ammo, separating the two parties, if the parties were allowed to be there at all.
In a way, the sgPAP probably believes singaporeans were like the PRC chinese, like somebody here talked about the riots, the strikes, so the way they handle the people here is also like the PRC government, is it not??![]()
Have you seen any Gurkha in any anti-riot training ?Originally posted by lionnoisy:2.how do u know Gurkha have not been trained for anti--riot?
one of their their main mission is anti riots.This will reduce the accusation that Sg's Malay police kill/injure Chinese during riot or vice versa.
They can help to carry out anti riot impartially.Color of skin
to them is meaningless.
A voice of refreshing reason, and can easily gain acceptance to those with reason too.Originally posted by wisefool83:8 pages down the road, I've read and seen the following words the most, "mindless sheeps, brainwashed sheeps" The intensive use of such words can produce two forseeable effects
1) Pissing pple off and they deliberately support PAP just to piss you back
2) Induce guilt in pple and they support CSJ instead because they don't want to be mindless sheeps
Neither of these effects are desirable for a democratic system. The idea of a democratic system is to allow the citizens of a country to elect their leaders after rationale reasoning and deciding who can possibly best lead them. There are people who called over present government a bully and yet they are using emotionally bullying words. Are these people the ideal spokeperson for democracy and freedom?
Its ok and healthy for Singaporeans to have different stand in politics, choosing not to be involve in politics is also a choice. The important thing is that we respect each other's view and although we can criticise each other's viewpoint using reasons, we should refrain from emotionally bullying them into our own camp.
gurkhas are trained to be riot police. just watch the last crime watch and u see them. one distinct difference in their attire is the double kukri emblem on their helmet.Originally posted by Atobe:Have you seen any Gurkha in any anti-riot training ?
Ask our NS boys in the Riot Squad if they have trained with the Gurkhas in riot or crowd controls ?
+1Originally posted by onceinabluemoon:Shameless dictators... now their shameful dishonorable deceit telling the whole world they are democratic shown by Reuters in pictures to be one big LIE.
Ah Beng!!! I dont know hokkien!!!Originally posted by Urroh:You siao Ding dong. You think i MM LEE or PM HSL or SM Goh ah?
Sue you over what you post in forums? Siao Kia.
Cant you see serious discussion? Uncheebyised people like you want democracy.. go to hell la. Cant be bother to speak with a siao kia. SIAO DING DONG! cant even argue. Cant you see history. Ah tut ah?

The questioning of anyone and everyone who speaks at length or in short conversations to any 'opposition' member is an obvious disregard to basic freedom of speech and blatant abuse of the police force. It's shameful that our own police do not reject such blatant attempts to use the blue uniform as a strongarm to discourage the general public from getting the views of people who do not agree with the Ruling Party.Originally posted by ShutterBug:You know, one thing bugs me;
If they say we are a democratic country, and that they are about Democracy, why then must Police take pictures or videos and take down IC numbers of people going there to support Dr Chee???
Please, don't tell me SECURITY.
Let me hear something else....