Originally posted by Sardaukar:Amen..
I am a Singaporean.I have served my NS and finished it.My roots are here.
But the events of the past week show me that the Government,no,the PAP,has not changed,not a bit.Only gotten more intelligent at suppressing dissent and alternative voices.
They have made FOOLS out of our country on a world stage,they don't even allow [b]peaceful protests or expressions of dissatisfaction.Our countrys youth are apathetic and ignorant of the world beyond.
They have shown themselves as authoritarian,inflexible dinosaurs who refuse to adapt and will die,always looking to the past.The damn riots were 40 years ago.Is there a chance now?Yes.It is likely?No.
They suppress our civil rights, brainwash our youth and expect us to conform to a few standard ideals.
I am sick of the apathy of my generation.I am sick of the lack if idealism and motivation among our people.I am sick of people complaining unnecessarily.I am sick of people taking the easy choice instead of the right choice.I am sick that we cannot express ourselves,that we lack self-respect as a nation.
I am sick and disgusted and tired of it and disillusioned with it.I am tired of inaction,I am tired of the government having too much power.I am sick of Lee Kuan Yew and the Lee political dynasty wielding so much power.I am sick of politicians who serve their own interests instead of the people and the country.I am sick of the promises made by Lee Hsien Loong that have not been kept.I remember in his 2004 National Day address,when he promised Singaporeans more freedom,to include each and every Singaporean,regardless of race,language or religion,in the process.
I am sick and tired of how they marginalise Malays during NS.I am sick that they marginalise the other languages,always promoting Mandarin.I am sick of the lack of passion in our people.I am sick that so few of us stand up to the PAP.I am sick that we don't stand our ground.I still remember 2004,when our current PM visited Taiwan,and kow-towed to the mainland.
I am tired of how Lee Kuan Yew still holds the reins,refusing to let Singapore grow,always looking to the past,always pounding on about it.I am sick of the fact that we have a farce of an opposition,simply because Lau Lee,the Old Man,is too damn scared of a little criticism.He had done so much for the country,but he holds it back now,by his continued involvment in politics.His time is past.We can learn,but now is our time,not his.
My name is Yap Shi Wen.And I can't stand it any more.Any one can find me on Frienster.Any one can send me a message.That is my real name.I have had it,and I'm not tolerating it any longer.
Boil over liao so what.Originally posted by ShutterBug:That was one hell of a declaration...
I think people's feelings are at the point of boiling over....
expected...
Originally posted by Sardaukar:I have seen a good deal of people in this forum possessing great passion and idealism, which is nice. But Idealism will remain only as ideals if they are not developed into concrete solutions. These people are also advocating for changes, which is also nice. But I do think that we should take things a step further and its should not be just "things must change" " but more of into concrete policies proposals that can be realistically implemented with reasons like "we should change A into B because of C and we are prepared to do in X number of phrases because of D". V for Vendetta is a movie and therefore it does not need to consider the "what now?" factor. Civil disobeience can bring down a government, but before every such dramatic change, people who propose the change should consider the "what now?" factor. And I think that in order to prepare for this "what now?" factor, people possesing these passion really must committ considerable effort into the study of public administration and politics. More ideals must be exchange, interactions must occur with the society to really find out what they need and want. And it is only after the foundations and fundamentals of a complete set of political ideals is ready before we can ask for any dramatic changes. Hope cause by then certain political legend would not be around anymore and the chance for a change is also more likely.
I am a Singaporean.I have served my NS and finished it.My roots are here.
But the events of the past week show me that the Government,no,the PAP,has not changed,not a bit.Only gotten more intelligent at suppressing dissent and alternative voices.
They have made FOOLS out of our country on a world stage,they don't even allow [b]peaceful protests or expressions of dissatisfaction.Our countrys youth are apathetic and ignorant of the world beyond.
They have shown themselves as authoritarian,inflexible dinosaurs who refuse to adapt and will die,always looking to the past.The damn riots were 40 years ago.Is there a chance now?Yes.It is likely?No.
They suppress our civil rights, brainwash our youth and expect us to conform to a few standard ideals.
I am sick of the apathy of my generation.I am sick of the lack if idealism and motivation among our people.I am sick of people complaining unnecessarily.I am sick of people taking the easy choice instead of the right choice.I am sick that we cannot express ourselves,that we lack self-respect as a nation.
I am sick and disgusted and tired of it and disillusioned with it.I am tired of inaction,I am tired of the government having too much power.I am sick of Lee Kuan Yew and the Lee political dynasty wielding so much power.I am sick of politicians who serve their own interests instead of the people and the country.I am sick of the promises made by Lee Hsien Loong that have not been kept.I remember in his 2004 National Day address,when he promised Singaporeans more freedom,to include each and every Singaporean,regardless of race,language or religion,in the process.
I am sick and tired of how they marginalise Malays during NS.I am sick that they marginalise the other languages,always promoting Mandarin.I am sick of the lack of passion in our people.I am sick that so few of us stand up to the PAP.I am sick that we don't stand our ground.I still remember 2004,when our current PM visited Taiwan,and kow-towed to the mainland.
I am tired of how Lee Kuan Yew still holds the reins,refusing to let Singapore grow,always looking to the past,always pounding on about it.I am sick of the fact that we have a farce of an opposition,simply because Lau Lee,the Old Man,is too damn scared of a little criticism.He had done so much for the country,but he holds it back now,by his continued involvment in politics.His time is past.We can learn,but now is our time,not his.
My name is Yap Shi Wen.And I can't stand it any more.Any one can find me on Frienster.Any one can send me a message.That is my real name.I have had it,and I'm not tolerating it any longer.
but the goodies indirectly returns to them....so literally give for fun of it to make us happy....Originally posted by mistyblue:every time near election, there are always goodies
people are always happy to get the goodies
people see short term.Originally posted by duotiga83:but the goodies indirectly returns to them....so literally give for fun of it to make us happy....![]()
Yup..while we are at it, the gahmen will take notice and start making plans for "see u in court...' tactics for future insurance to keep their 'godly seats'. all the gahmen talking doesn;t really make much of a sense anymore.. if we are such a fav spot for migrations, y introduce a bill of cash incentives for every babies born? 3k? 7k? is that really such a big amount? Do they even know how much does a milk powder or pampers costs in shelves these days??Originally posted by wisefool83:I have seen a good deal of people in this forum possessing great passion and idealism, which is nice. But Idealism will remain only as ideals if they are not developed into concrete solutions. These people are also advocating for changes, which is also nice. But I do think that we should take things a step further and its should not be just "things must change" " but more of into concrete policies proposals that can be realistically implemented with reasons like "we should change A into B because of C and we are prepared to do in X number of phrases because of D". V for Vendetta is a movie and therefore it does not need to consider the "what now?" factor. Civil disobeience can bring down a government, but before every such dramatic change, people who propose the change should consider the "what now?" factor. And I think that in order to prepare for this "what now?" factor, people possesing these passion really must committ considerable effort into the study of public administration and politics. More ideals must be exchange, interactions must occur with the society to really find out what they need and want. And it is only after the foundations and fundamentals of a complete set of political ideals is ready before we can ask for any dramatic changes. Hope cause by then certain political legend would not be around anymore and the chance for a change is also more likely.
So I think boil over and flood into Woodbridge Hospital...Originally posted by mistyblue:Boil over liao so what.
Nothing ever happens in Singapore
Hougang chalet over crowded with happy people already leh ...Originally posted by ShutterBug:So I think boil over and flood into Woodbridge Hospital...![]()
R you a Malay? Malays got free education and special privileges from our government and they should already jolly well shut their mouths cos they are generally lazy and stupid, can only blame on themselves.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:R you a Malay? Malays got free education and special privileges from our government and they should already jolly well shut their mouths cos they are generally lazy and stupid, can only blame on themselves.![]()
Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:R you a Malay? Malays got free education and special privileges from our government and they should already jolly well shut their mouths cos they are generally lazy and stupid, can only blame on themselves.![]()
Wah racist...smell a BAN...Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:R you a Malay? Malays got free education and special privileges from our government and they should already jolly well shut their mouths cos they are generally lazy and stupid, can only blame on themselves.![]()
my own version of the dummy guide to winning election. after winning election, spend prudently, cost cutting, raise taxes. by the time the next election is round the corner, you would have accumulated enough $ to spend on some big projects. this should prop up the economy since the govt is such a big player in the economy. economy up, more jobs, more $ or freebies to give == govt performance good. so people more likely to vote for govt again.Originally posted by mistyblue:every time near election, there are always goodies
people are always happy to get the goodies
Apparently this NUS_superdude thinks he cannot be tracked down through the internet.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:R you a Malay? Malays got free education and special privileges from our government and they should already jolly well shut their mouths cos they are generally lazy and stupid, can only blame on themselves.![]()